We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steve & Sue Torrington North Devon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingswood Guest House
Ranked #116 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We booked for 3nights & stayed for 7!!! The room we stayed in was fabulous & the garden suite we stayed in for the extra 4 nights was wonderful.The room & suite were both clean, spacious & comfortable. Robbie, with all his local knowledge, was most helpful. The breakfasts were truly awesome & we were thoroughly spoilt. The whole atmosphere was friendly & welcoming. We will most definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingswoodweymouth, Owner at Kingswood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you Steve and Sue for a super review , look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

I had a terrible time at this hotel i booked for three nights the accommodation was run down to say the least i have attached pictures below so you can see just how awful this whole experience was i only stayed one night as the male owner i found to be far to aggressive being a women on my own i found this extremely uncomfortable i had arrived at 7pm after previously booking a week before with warning id be coming later at the time of booking i was told this was ok when i arrived the place was all locked up and i had to wait some time before the door was opened to which i was informed i was very late and they don't like late check ins (i arrived at 7 as agreed) after this my money was taken and i was silently shuffled in to my accommodation,in the morning i could see just how unhygienic the accommodation was and after 3 hours of having a word with myself i got the balls to say i would not be staying and can i have a refund i spent £360 on this accommodation and got £100 back and 1 night of hell i am still fighting for my refund and the fire department have been dealing with some more serious issues as you will see from the pictures,All i wanted was a full refund but as they would not give it to me this is the steps i have had to take and will continue to fight for what i believe to be right.
Described as . . Double & Twin
Self contained Chalet situated in own Private Garden with Hot Tub and BBQ.Double and Twin Bedrooms, Bathroom, Kitchen and Lounge/Diner.

The property is NOT PRIVATE you our over looked by the neighbors the hotel itself and a public walk way right next to your hot tub which you cant use as didnt work no bbq available for use and the accommodation is actually a very old worn down Caravan come mobile home.

Room Tip: What your hotel should NOT look like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank charlie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingswoodweymouth, Owner at Kingswood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

This young lady stayed with us 1 year ago and was indeed the guest from hell. After a tip off we made a note of the number plates of her numerous visitors. Because of the malicious damage she caused ( see photos) we did indeed pay her to leave.
The only person to use 300ml of our body lotion in 24hrs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We've been staying at the Kingswood regularly over the last 2 years whilst our son was studying drama at Weymouth College. The rooms have always been clean and comfortable with sea views (or mist views at times!) & the welcome from Robbie & Janice has been wonderful. Breakfast is a real treat especially the fresh fruit salad - Janice must have the patience of a saint to prepare this daily. The cooked breakfasts are great to eat if not great for the waistline! The downside of moving to Weymouth is not needing to stay at the Kingswood. If we weren't moving it would top our list of best places to stay.

Room Tip: Our 2 favourites - Room 6 with lovely sea view & Room 7 has a four poster & sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We always stay at the Kingswood when visiting Weymouth. The room we always choose is very comfortable, with a sea view. Robbie took great care of us again this visit for 2 nights, the breakfast is always lovely and nothing is too much trouble and you always feel very welcome. The guest house is a short walk to Brewers Quay, ideally placed for the harbour, shops and beach. We'll definitely be back again soon.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MandyandJoules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

my wife and I along with my son and partner stayed for a week on the 8th june2013.
I lived in weymouth in1976to 1982 and paid a nostalgic visit to our old home.
We could not have wished for better place to stay.
The breakfast is awesome and have followed up with fruit on our cereal habit now at home
Bed very comfortable.
Robbie and Janice first class service.
Thanks for everything we will be back.

Alistair and Liz mcneill

Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingswoodweymouth, Owner at Kingswood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We are not happy with your response to our complaint. The review titled never again that person is unknown to us and did not stay here. The review I was accused of being a lady of the night , did not stay here when she says the photographs are fake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed here just overnight over bank holiday weekend with my boyfriend as a last minute idea whilst in the area visiting friends. We had called loads of B&B's that had no availability and just by chance we drove past Kingswood and it was a great find! We had a lovely room with all the ammenties you require. Bed was comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was fantastic -especially after a late night out in Weymouth! Our host (who I have unfortunately forgotten the name of) was very welcoming and couldn't do more to help us. I will definitely recommend Kingswood to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoveLikeJellyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingswoodweymouth, Owner at Kingswood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you so much for the nice review. We are both delighted that you enjoyed yourselves and look forward perhaps to seeing you again. Robbie & Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

My Husband & I have just experienced our first stay in the Kingswood Guest House in Weymouth Dorset,,on arrival we were welcomed by Jan our Host & Guesthouse co owner who was very friendly & helpful & showed us all the rooms that were available for our choice ,all rooms are very beautiful,& very professionally decorated & furnished, & we must say very large & comfortable so it was a hard choice, but our choice was with a super king sized bed,& oh !! what a mattress it was one you didnt want to get out of,& the room had a view of the sea.
After a really good nights sleep we went to the dining room for our all inclusive breakfast, & again it was first class, we were greeted by Robbie ,Jans husband & co-owner, who again was very welcoming & very pleasant and who served us with a delicious hot breakfast,tea -coffee-cereal -orange juice & fresh fruit the full works with all the trimmings,all in all we could not compliment the Kingswood Guest House enough,& would fully reccommend anyone to stay here, we know for sure we will deffinitely return for another stay.Another bonus is that they have ample parking on the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
503 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eastney Guest Accommodation
Eastney Guest Accommodation
#77 of 166 in Weymouth
93 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#7 of 166 in Weymouth
371 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oaklands Guesthouse
Oaklands Guesthouse
#36 of 166 in Weymouth
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingswood Guest House

Address: 55 Rodwell Road, Weymouth DT4 8QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: £83 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingswood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kingswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingswood Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing