We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The charm of Dorset in a B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage
Ranked #42 of 163 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wavre
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The charm of Dorset in a B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

The cottage is absolutely lovely, the rooms are very comfortable and there is a colourful garden where guests can have breakfast weather permitting. It is set in a picturesque village . The landlady is very helpful and efficient . She guides guests to the marvelous surroundings. She leaves you free and never interferes with your privacy but makes you feel at home at all times . It is really a great holiday for all lovers of outdoor life.
It is really the best B&B we've ever had .

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank lemoineWavre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
85
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Maureen and Mark, our hosts, were outstanding from the outset, caring for our every need. Such a wonderful relaxed atmosphere, large, clean, comfortable rooms with all the amenities one could wish for and not to mention Maureens incredible breakfasts made this the best B&B stay ever. We were made to feel at home from the start and will be back for sure whenever we're in the area. Our hosts had all the local knowledge as well and ensured we had the best possible time in the area with 'local knowledge'. Highly recommended.....why look elsewhere!? A beautiful location and a beautiful house.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TomHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

We went to the cottage as a little break after we got married and really we couldn't have asked for anything better. Wonderful house, wonderful rooms and wonderful breakfast. We will definitely be back soon. Thanks Maureen and mark xx

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bambercourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Have lost count of the number of times we have stayed here, Mark and Maureen are superb hosts, extremely friendly and helpful, we stay at The Cottage for its convenient location to the ferry port at Weymouth and cannot fault the hospitality and welcome you receive. We were weather bound one visit and Mark and Maureen went out of their way to help, checking on ferry sailings and weather forecasts, even having to put up with us for an unexpected second night. Nothing is too much trouble, the place is clean, comfortable with that home touch, breakfasts are lovely in the Conservatory. Definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elliott031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Not only is this a lovely place, but run by a lovely landlady. This was the first nigth of my honeymoon, and Maureen couldnt do enough for us. Everyone should come her.
Suzy

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suzysnels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

I loved The Cottage, a beautiful setting in a great location. The owners were very friendly and helpful with my stay and places to visit in Dorset. Also a wide range of choice for breakfast, all very fresh and brilliantly done, highly recommendable to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Durrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

Booked 2 rooms, had to place an international call to book as they only take bookings on the phone. They promised to email me a confirmation - it never arrived. Placed another international call to confirm the booking and was told "its in the book" and confirmed. Requested email confirmation - it never arrived.
When we arrived at the Cottage we were told they only had 1 room available and NOT 2 as booked. The owners were very indigent and uncaring.
We had to find other accommodation which as it happened turned out to be much better than the Cottage looked.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ExplorerZA2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
So sorry to read your review especially as the facts are not as we believe them to be. Firstly we have always taken booking by emails and always send out confirmations. Secondly you only booked one double room which we held for you even though we had not received an acceptance from our confirmation email. When you arrived and said that you needed another single room I invited you in and offered to try to sort out alternative accommodation but you refused and left without giving me the chance to help in any way and were left with an empty double room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
3.3 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#27 of 163 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
2.6 mi away
Barnes's Rest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Spice Ship
The Spice Ship
#98 of 163 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pink House Bed and Breakfast
Pink House Bed and Breakfast
#44 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.6 mi away
Birch House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Property: The Cottage
Address: The Cottage Puddledock Lane | Sutton Poyntz, Weymouth DT3 6LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 18th century stone cottage in peaceful setting. Quintessential English village with pubs and duck pond. Friendly/professional hotel trained owners hence luxury 4 Star/silver grading. Please phone or email to book. Breakfast served in Victorian conservatory overlooking cottage garden and open fields. Extensive menu/special diets using local free range produce. Hospitality is our watchword. Free off road parking. Near to beach, ferry port and Jurassic coast/Southwest coast path and local attractions such a Bovington Tank museum, Monkey world, Lyme Regis and Lulworth Cove. Quintessential English village with duck pond and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing