We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay in Weymouth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Cottage
Ranked #38 of 170 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vevey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice stay in Weymouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I spent two nights with to of my adult children in this very nice and friendly cottage right next to Weymouth. We had a very nice time and appreciated the good food and breakfast in the garden and, of course, the very nice owners of the house who made us feel at home. There is a good pub in the village and nice restaurants in Weymouth, near the harbour. We enjoed also being close to the cost and enjoyed walking along the cliffs and a swim in the sea. Godd place to visit !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review for us. I am delighted that your family had an enjoyable stay with us and had good enough weather to take a swim in the sea and have breakfast in the garden. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the cottage someone in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
85
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was a delightful place to stay for our honeymoon. The room was lovely, and the sunny conservatory at breakfast was the perfect place to start the day. We were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay. We would recommend The Cottage to anyone, and we hope to return again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you so much for bothering to write a review for us. I was honoured to be able to welcome you to The Cottage for your honeymoon, especially as I didn't know before you arrived. I am so pleased that you had a memorable time with us and look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps for you 1st Anniversary! Thank you for staying with us, it was lovely to meet you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We really enjoyed our three night stay at The Cottage, which is situated a short way from the centre of Weymouth. If you are not driving, its an easy bus ride No 4 from K5 near Kings statue on the sea front, which run very frequently. There are local pubs in which to eat in the evening very near by, but going into Weymouth makes a change.
The Cottage is very clean and comfortable, the breakfasts being very plentiful and of a very high standard. I particularly enjoyed the omelette I had one morning.
Both Maureen and Mark were very knowledgeable about the area and are keen to suggest and advise on where to go for the day according to your interests.
Maureen was so kind in organising some wine and cake for my husbands birthday, and also gave us a lift to the station on our day of departure.
Thank you very much Maureen and Mark for everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolNightingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write a review. Am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope that you had a good train journey home. I hope that we will be able to welcome you both back again soon, it was lovely to meet you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Once again had a lovely time at this delightful B&B just outside Weymouth.
Maureen and Mark are wonderful hosts who make you feel welcome from the minute you arrive.
Beautiful, spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms with the added bonus of lovely views over the surrounding countryside .
Breakfast was gorgeous , lovely fruit salad to start and any combination of the 'normal' breakfast items to follow and all finished off with toast and Maureen's yummy home made jam. We even managed to have it outside on three of the four mornings we were there , a real bonus as the garden is beautiful.
Nothing is too much trouble and it shows .
Well deserving of the certificate of excellence , thanks for a great stay and see you in 2014.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Once again, it was a great pleasure to welcome you and your family back to The Cottage. The only response that I can give you is - you deserve a Certificate of Excellence for being such a lovely family and wonderful guests. Look forward to seeing some/all of you next year. Hope University life is good this year. MMM&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here for two night with two other couples so basically took over the B&B. It is a lovely B&B, well decorated and has a real homely feel to it.

The rooms were very well decorated and comfortable. We were fortunate to have breakfast outside and that was lovely. Maureen and her husband mad us feel welcome.

Perfect location right outside a small picturesque village with a pub and pond.

We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baerchen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you so much for all your kind comments. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you and your friends and hope that you may decide to come back to Weymouth for a reunion another year and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to The Cottage B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crocketford, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

My husband Dog Charlie and I were fortunate enough to find a gem in this B&B. We stayed en-route to Guernsey and again on the way home. We were greeted with a warm welcome, made to feel welcome from the start. Nothing was too much trouble, even a late arrival 11.30pm and early start 7.00am breakfast next morning. A lovely touch was a chance to enjoy breakfast in the garden and to enjoy a chat with a lovely pair of German tourists. We cannot praise Maureen and her husband enough, we will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you so much for all your kind comments, so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us, and that your stay here contributed in a little way to making your visit to The Channel Isle to visit your family perfect. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We spent two nights in The Cottage in August. Nice room, wonderful breakfast in the garden. Very helpful and nice hostess. The house was just outside a cosy village without shops, but with a pond and a pub.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nesvika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a nice review. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the UK. So pleased that the weather was kind during your stay with us and that you had a pleasurable stay in Dorset. I trust that we will be able to welcome you back to The Cottage if you visit the south of England again. Thanks. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
2.7 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barnes's Rest Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Crofton Guest House
Crofton Guest House
#30 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#34 of 170 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pump Cottage
Pump Cottage
#1 of 3 in Upwey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#4 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Property: The Cottage
Address: The Cottage Puddledock Lane | Sutton Poyntz, Weymouth DT3 6LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 18th century stone cottage in peaceful setting. Quintessential English village with pubs and duck pond. Friendly/professional hotel trained owners hence luxury 4 Star/silver grading. Please phone or email to book. Breakfast served in Victorian conservatory overlooking cottage garden and open fields. Extensive menu/special diets using local free range produce. Hospitality is our watchword. Free off road parking. Near to beach, ferry port and Jurassic coast/Southwest coast path and local attractions such a Bovington Tank museum, Monkey world, Lyme Regis and Lulworth Cove. Quintessential English village with duck pond and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing