We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Weymouth”
Review of The Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage
Ranked #57 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We booked for two nights and stayed for three. Maureen was very helpful and guided our stay so we went to the best places. Lovely room and wonderful breakfast's. Short walk down puddle dock lane to the spring head tavern which served the best meals. Maureen had a deal where we got a free bottle of wine with our first meal. The food and service was so good we went back and purchased more wine with our meals. Parking for our car was available too. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also enjoyed your meals at our local pub. I hope all is well with you both and that you have a good summer this year in Australia and no more awful fires. I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back sometime in the near future,( have just had a lovely Australian couple back with us for their second stay with us!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great stay at the cottage, pretty room kitted out with little extras, dressing gown, slippers, torch for walking to the pub. En suite bathroom well presented. Maureen very welcoming and friendly, guiding us to the cliff walk although there are lots of brochures to help you fill your time. Delicious breakfast, freshly cooked to order as well as cereals, fruit salad and yoghurt, served in comservatory over looking lovely garden and views.Overall it made our weekend and we will be returning. Sandra and Edwina

Room Tip: all the rooms will be quiet as the cottage is at the end of the village
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Many Thanks for taking the time to write a review. So pleased that you both enjoyed your short stay with us, and that you will be back to see more of Dorset. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the cottage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I spent two nights with to of my adult children in this very nice and friendly cottage right next to Weymouth. We had a very nice time and appreciated the good food and breakfast in the garden and, of course, the very nice owners of the house who made us feel at home. There is a good pub in the village and nice restaurants in Weymouth, near the harbour. We enjoed also being close to the cost and enjoyed walking along the cliffs and a swim in the sea. Godd place to visit !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you so much for writing a review for us. I am delighted that your family had an enjoyable stay with us and had good enough weather to take a swim in the sea and have breakfast in the garden. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the cottage someone in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was a delightful place to stay for our honeymoon. The room was lovely, and the sunny conservatory at breakfast was the perfect place to start the day. We were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay. We would recommend The Cottage to anyone, and we hope to return again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you so much for bothering to write a review for us. I was honoured to be able to welcome you to The Cottage for your honeymoon, especially as I didn't know before you arrived. I am so pleased that you had a memorable time with us and look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps for you 1st Anniversary! Thank you for staying with us, it was lovely to meet you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We really enjoyed our three night stay at The Cottage, which is situated a short way from the centre of Weymouth. If you are not driving, its an easy bus ride No 4 from K5 near Kings statue on the sea front, which run very frequently. There are local pubs in which to eat in the evening very near by, but going into Weymouth makes a change.
The Cottage is very clean and comfortable, the breakfasts being very plentiful and of a very high standard. I particularly enjoyed the omelette I had one morning.
Both Maureen and Mark were very knowledgeable about the area and are keen to suggest and advise on where to go for the day according to your interests.
Maureen was so kind in organising some wine and cake for my husbands birthday, and also gave us a lift to the station on our day of departure.
Thank you very much Maureen and Mark for everything.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolNightingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write a review. Am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope that you had a good train journey home. I hope that we will be able to welcome you both back again soon, it was lovely to meet you..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Once again had a lovely time at this delightful B&B just outside Weymouth.
Maureen and Mark are wonderful hosts who make you feel welcome from the minute you arrive.
Beautiful, spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms with the added bonus of lovely views over the surrounding countryside .
Breakfast was gorgeous , lovely fruit salad to start and any combination of the 'normal' breakfast items to follow and all finished off with toast and Maureen's yummy home made jam. We even managed to have it outside on three of the four mornings we were there , a real bonus as the garden is beautiful.
Nothing is too much trouble and it shows .
Well deserving of the certificate of excellence , thanks for a great stay and see you in 2014.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Once again, it was a great pleasure to welcome you and your family back to The Cottage. The only response that I can give you is - you deserve a Certificate of Excellence for being such a lovely family and wonderful guests. Look forward to seeing some/all of you next year. Hope University life is good this year. MMM&M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here for two night with two other couples so basically took over the B&B. It is a lovely B&B, well decorated and has a real homely feel to it.

The rooms were very well decorated and comfortable. We were fortunate to have breakfast outside and that was lovely. Maureen and her husband mad us feel welcome.

Perfect location right outside a small picturesque village with a pub and pond.

We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baerchen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you so much for all your kind comments. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you and your friends and hope that you may decide to come back to Weymouth for a reunion another year and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to The Cottage B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
7.9 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
150 reviews
7.8 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
47 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Address: The Cottage Puddledock Lane | Sutton Poyntz, Weymouth DT3 6LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: £60 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 18th century stone cottage in peaceful setting. Quintessential English village with pubs and duck pond. Friendly/professional hotel trained owners hence luxury 4 Star/silver grading. Please phone or email to book. Breakfast served in Victorian conservatory overlooking cottage garden and open fields. Extensive menu/special diets using local free range produce. Hospitality is our watchword. Free off road parking. Near to beach, ferry port and Jurassic coast/Southwest coast path and local attractions such a Bovington Tank museum, Monkey world, Lyme Regis and Lulworth Cove. Quintessential English village with duck pond and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing