We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Cottage and Maureen is a fabulous host”
Review of The Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage
Ranked #49 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
coventry
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage and Maureen is a fabulous host”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The cottage is a beautiful B&B and Maureen is a fabulous host. I would not hesitate recommending staying here to anyone. We have a daughter who is 22 months old and Maureen was very accommodating to all our needs and requirements. The breakfast each morning in the conservatory was fantastic and Maureen is very welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. The cottage is very clean and lots of hard work has gone in to making this B&B a lovely place to stay. Thank you Maureen we had a fabulous time and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHORODEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your stay at The Cottage. Look forward to welcoming you all + 1 next year. Good luck. Best wishes Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
86
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Very pleasant stay. Quite and beautiful surroundings. Made more enjoyable by very professional attention to the needs of the guests. Felt thoroughly at home. Highly recommend it. We would definitely stay again another time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was lovely to meet you both and look forward to welcoming you back to The Cottage B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for two nights at the cottage ...its was wonderful ...Maureen was a really lovely lady and was so very chatty and helpful, breakfast was good and the garden was lovely ...the room was gorgeous and very clean ...we will certainly be going to stay again ...I would recommend to anyone .....wonderful !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hils H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review, so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us. Hope you don'tbleave it too long till you make a return visit, it was lovely to meet you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Couldn't have asked for better B&B. The rooms were delightful and the breakfast was delicious; especially the home-made blackberry & apple jam! Maureen and Mark were great hosts and nothing was too much to ask. Great place to stay when exploring Weymouth and beyond.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you so much for your nice comments. Glad the weather was kind enough for you to thave breakfast outside. Hope you enjoyed your day going ng so ng the coast.
We hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful place to stay. We stayed in the cottage for couple of nights and we have been very pleased with everything. The place is in very nice village, short walk from the dog friendly pub, where you get free wine with your meal if you stay in the cottage.
The cottage is well look after, Maureen is very friendly and always welcome us with a smile. And the breakfast is just amazing. We had a full english and it was very tasty, local free range products.
If you are going to Weymouth, I recommend you to stay here.
Room and bathroom were always very clean.
There is no problem with parking anywhere outside the cottage.
We cant wait to return.
Darren,Babs &Millie

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lilinka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for all your kind comments. I get great satisfaction when our guest have a nice time with us and enjoy discovering Dorset, there is still a lot more for you to see so look forward to welcoming you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My friend Beverly and I have just had our 4th stay at the Cottage.As usual Maureen was there to greet us on arrival. We had a superb weekend.First time I have sampled Marks omelette for breakfast,the best I have ever had,so enjoyed it at both breakfasts .Bev and I would recommend The Cottage as a must to stay if your in Dorset . The warm welcome superb breakfast and location
An experience we can hopefully experience again soon . Jenny Evans

Room Tip: The room with bathroom and natural stone wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks jenny for all your kind words. So pleased that you and Beverley had another nice weekend in weymouth. Forgot to thk you for the recipe you kindly sent me. Hope wedding goes well. Look forward to seeing you both again in the autumn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A delightful breakfast overlooking a garden and then fields finished off a comfortable and relaxing stay. The village a half-mile away is set surrounding a pond with waving willows and the back drop of downland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to meet both of you and hope that you will be able to return to The Cottage sometime in the near future. Enjoy the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
2.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.5 mi away
Black Dog Inn
Black Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Broadmayne
134 reviews
2.3 mi away
Birch House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Barnes's Rest Bed and Breakfast
4.2 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Spice Ship
The Spice Ship
#89 of 165 in Weymouth
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Property: The Cottage
Address: The Cottage Puddledock Lane | Sutton Poyntz, Weymouth DT3 6LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 18th century stone cottage in peaceful setting. Quintessential English village with pubs and duck pond. Friendly/professional hotel trained owners hence luxury 4 Star/silver grading. Please phone or email to book. Breakfast served in Victorian conservatory overlooking cottage garden and open fields. Extensive menu/special diets using local free range produce. Hospitality is our watchword. Free off road parking. Near to beach, ferry port and Jurassic coast/Southwest coast path and local attractions such a Bovington Tank museum, Monkey world, Lyme Regis and Lulworth Cove. Quintessential English village with duck pond and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing