We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of The Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage
Ranked #57 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had 3 rooms for 3 nights last weekend. We were delighted with our rooms all very clean and bright with lovely views of the surrounding countryside. The choice of breakfasts was excellent and we had the bonus of having breakfast in the attractive garden.There are excellent walks nearby and charming Sutton Poyntz village is very close. Nothing was too much trouble and Maureen and Mark were charming hosts. We would thoroughly recommend this beautiful cottage to anyone and we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The en-suite bedroom is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review. I am so pleased that you had such a good weekend and that the wedding went smoothly and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a real pleasure to meet you and your family and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Cottage. If you stay with Ian please just pop in for a drink!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at The Cottage for one night before catching the Weymouth-Guernsey ferry. The hotel is located in a very quiet rural location, offering peace and quiet for an excellent night's sleep. The proprietors are very friendly and look after their guests. The bedrooms and bathrooms are clean and comfortable. I will be staying again with pleasure.

I did not use a swimming pool (I don't even know if there is one) nor the room service, so I have left those two unrated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El_Dottor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The cottage is a beautiful B&B and Maureen is a fabulous host. I would not hesitate recommending staying here to anyone. We have a daughter who is 22 months old and Maureen was very accommodating to all our needs and requirements. The breakfast each morning in the conservatory was fantastic and Maureen is very welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. The cottage is very clean and lots of hard work has gone in to making this B&B a lovely place to stay. Thank you Maureen we had a fabulous time and we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHORODEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your stay at The Cottage. Look forward to welcoming you all + 1 next year. Good luck. Best wishes Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Very pleasant stay. Quite and beautiful surroundings. Made more enjoyable by very professional attention to the needs of the guests. Felt thoroughly at home. Highly recommend it. We would definitely stay again another time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was lovely to meet you both and look forward to welcoming you back to The Cottage B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for two nights at the cottage ...its was wonderful ...Maureen was a really lovely lady and was so very chatty and helpful, breakfast was good and the garden was lovely ...the room was gorgeous and very clean ...we will certainly be going to stay again ...I would recommend to anyone .....wonderful !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hils H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review, so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us. Hope you don'tbleave it too long till you make a return visit, it was lovely to meet you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Couldn't have asked for better B&B. The rooms were delightful and the breakfast was delicious; especially the home-made blackberry & apple jam! Maureen and Mark were great hosts and nothing was too much to ask. Great place to stay when exploring Weymouth and beyond.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you so much for your nice comments. Glad the weather was kind enough for you to thave breakfast outside. Hope you enjoyed your day going ng so ng the coast.
We hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

What a beautiful place to stay. We stayed in the cottage for couple of nights and we have been very pleased with everything. The place is in very nice village, short walk from the dog friendly pub, where you get free wine with your meal if you stay in the cottage.
The cottage is well look after, Maureen is very friendly and always welcome us with a smile. And the breakfast is just amazing. We had a full english and it was very tasty, local free range products.
If you are going to Weymouth, I recommend you to stay here.
Room and bathroom were always very clean.
There is no problem with parking anywhere outside the cottage.
We cant wait to return.
Darren,Babs &Millie

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lilinka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for all your kind comments. I get great satisfaction when our guest have a nice time with us and enjoy discovering Dorset, there is still a lot more for you to see so look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
4.2 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
149 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#83 of 166 in Weymouth
68 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pump Cottage
Pump Cottage
#1 of 3 in Upwey
42 reviews
3.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Address: The Cottage Puddledock Lane | Sutton Poyntz, Weymouth DT3 6LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: £60 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 18th century stone cottage in peaceful setting. Quintessential English village with pubs and duck pond. Friendly/professional hotel trained owners hence luxury 4 Star/silver grading. Please phone or email to book. Breakfast served in Victorian conservatory overlooking cottage garden and open fields. Extensive menu/special diets using local free range produce. Hospitality is our watchword. Free off road parking. Near to beach, ferry port and Jurassic coast/Southwest coast path and local attractions such a Bovington Tank museum, Monkey world, Lyme Regis and Lulworth Cove. Quintessential English village with duck pond and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing