We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clarence
Nearby Hotels
Alexandra Hotel(Weymouth)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B+B Weymouth(Weymouth)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lugger Inn(Chickerell)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$108
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
105
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking permitcooked to ordernew carpetwarm welcomecooked breakfasttea and coffeegreat roomstayed here for nightsbiscuitslovely hotelfriendly ownersnothing is too much troublehome from homesea fronton arrivalkarenharbour
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed at The Clarence at the end of August for a short-break in Weymouth.

I have to agree completely with the majority of reviews for this place - the hotel is probably the best place to stay in Weymouth - fantastically managed hotel with nice rooms all furnished to a decent standard. The amenities are excellent, a dvd player included into the television set, the bathroom toiletries were also of a high quality standard. The complimentary bottles of water daily are a nice touch.
The breakfast served is definitely a highlight - lots of choice and variety - all freshly cooked while you wait. Includes hot and cold breakfast choices – with very friendly staff always receptive to any specific requests.
The location is excellent - a short walking distance to the local restaurants and Weymouth beach.
I would definitely return again on any future visit to Weymouth

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Veks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

There is so much choice on the internet in Weymouth, but this was a great selection. We had the very top room, with views over the Bay. The museum was closed, so we will definitely be back to Weymouth and will stay here again. If your BMI is over 40 you wont be able to get up to the attic room - it would be worth a strict diet for! Although it is convenient we were not disturbed by road noise.

Room Tip: We loved being in the attic
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MopsyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Rooms are very clean and tidy and we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Weymouth. Breakfast is awesome with a variety of fresh fruit, cereal, cooked breakfast, yoghurts, toast, tea, coffee, orange juice - the list is endless and the staff are all very welcoming and friendly. We have stayed at The Clarence for 6 years and always look forward to our next visit - we have already booked for next year!. It is like home from home - nothing is too much trouble. Everything in the rooms is well looked after and is very good quality. The bed linen & towels are very clean and fresh and there are clear instructions in the welcome pack about when the rooms are cleaned and changing of towels and bed linen etc. The Clarence is on the Esplanade and very handy if you have young children and have to pop back to your room throughout the day if you are on the beach, around the harbour or in the town. The lounge has a Wii and large flat screen tv, there are toys for the children to play with and a large selection of books and DVD's for guests to make use of. This guest house is the nicest looking hotel on Weymouth seafront and the owners Karen & Richard are an absolute joy to deal with. Both myself and my husband and indeed our three children would find it difficult to mark The Clarence down in any catagory. Would recommend this guest house to anyone considering a stay in Weymouth.

Room Tip: We have stayed in a variety of rooms in the guest house and have found them all to be of a superb standard.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at the Clarence recently for the first time, for two 2-night stays wrapped around a visit to Guernsey. We chose the Clarence due to the good reviews and its proximity to both the Condor Ferry and a relative who lives nearby in Weymouth. We made an excellent choice. Both the rooms and the breakfasts were excellent - the room was bright, airy, spotlessly clean and with lovely white sheets and duvet. The breakfast was superb - high quality and cooked to your order with lots of choice of cereals, fruits, etc. The times for our ferries were "unsocialable", but Karen and Richard could not have been more accmmodating and helpful. As we are likely to be visitors to Weymouth at different times of the year we will definitely be staying at the Clarence again. Derfinitely recommneded.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FozzzyMadeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We came away for a long weekend and was very pleased with everything
Friendly welcome Room spotless, Breakfast excellent, Fresh fruit cereal toast and Full English.
Could not fault this what so ever will be going back

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weymouth2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews