We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous b and b!”
Review of The Clarence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clarence
Ranked #58 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous b and b!”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Our 2nd stay and another fantastic experience. The rooms are immaculate and the b ad b is in a great location right in the centre of Weymouth, near the prom. We wouldn't stay anywhere else now. The breakfasts are super and the welcome and service exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubylolahols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
60
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I have enjoyed staying at Karen and Richard's superb B&B on several occasions over the years. Whether its been on my own, with my Wife or with the whole family I have been incredibly impressed with the central beach location, quality of interior and the personal touch provided by these superb hosts. The rooms are impressive in size, comfort and cleanliness, the service is extremely efficient and helpful, the variety of food available at breakfast is second to none, especially the full english. Having stayed in many places worldwide and around the UK I can whole heartedly reccommend this superb Weymouth B&B that is definitely a cut above the rest in all respects.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have used over several years as an individual or with the family are of the highest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

As a regular visitor to Weymouth over many years, I have stayed in many B&B's and whilst all have been quite pleasant, I have to say that the Clarence is the best yet! Lovely people, first class English breakfast with a great supply of fresh fruit too. The single room was clean and tidy and well equipped for the very reasonable rate.
I will stay at the Clarence again on all future visits to Weymouth and I would certainly recommend it to anyone else. Great location too, right by the beach and the delightful harbour..a lovely weekend with great breakfast and very friendly hospitality. Thank you, Ray R H

Room Tip: Room 6 was nice and a well equipped single, BUT a little warm. That said a room fan cooler is provid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Excellent location for access to the beach & old harbour. Parking may be difficult but the train station is just a short walk away. Rooms are very modern, clean and well equiped. Karen is a excellent host & the breakfasts give you a great choice. I can vouch for the full english being excellent nice work by Richard. If I need to go to Weymouth again or the surrouding area I know I'll be staying in the Clarence again.

Room Tip: The lower numbered room will get a better free wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed here for New Years in Weymouth. We had the top room in the attic, which despite being a bit wind blown and drafty, was perfectly clean. (You may wish to be relatively fit to stay in this room!!)
Lovely breakfasts, great location by the old harbour, a living room to retire in (or indeed, take dvd's up to your own room), helpful owners and yes you do get a parking pass for the square as a guest. On top of that it's good value for a hotel that by rights should be in a noisy area yet tucked away in the square seems to miss all the hubbub of the main sea front esplanade. Would go back there again.

Room Tip: The attic room is not for those of an unfit disposition or a BMI to embarrassed by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brother_Cadfael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This B&B is situated right on Weymouth Sea Front, close to the harbour and ideal for a walk to the shops which are only 30 secs away. Its clean, fresh and the owners are extremely friendly and welcoming. Our room was airey, clean and perfect for a night away. Breakfast was hearty, freshly looked (even had Nuttella!! to spread on my toast), and they accomodated to anything that we needed. Definately would recommend.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which was at the rear of the property - no view but didnt expect to anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Drucey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This hotel is superb! Host's Karen and Richard are so warm and welcoming! The rooms are clean beyond expectations. The rooms are well equipped with TV, DVD, tea making facilities, biscuits, alarm clock with iPod/iPhone facility and Even Moulten Brown hand wash and shower soap! The location is superb for the seafront, town and restaurants like Floods. The breakfast is excellent. The whole package is worth every penny!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Antiguadayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#36 of 165 in Weymouth
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cavendale
The Cavendale
#119 of 165 in Weymouth
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#10 of 165 in Weymouth
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#28 of 165 in Weymouth
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach View Guesthouse
Beach View Guesthouse
#30 of 165 in Weymouth
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence

Property: The Clarence
Address: 20 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing