We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of The Clarence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clarence
Ranked #61 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Outstanding hotel. Karen is brilliant. Excellent breakfast much better than the usual chains. Very clean room and shower facilities are also outstanding. It is located literally a minutes drive to the ferry port.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Samir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Clarence Hotel. We had room 8 , a double executive room . It was a delight, crisp white linen and towels. A huge bay window, it was light and airy. Complete with leather sofa and chair, very comfortable. Beautifully furnished and decorated. Great power shower in the en suite. A large t.v. With tea and coffee available. Karen and Richard were so attentive without encroaching on your privacy. , . I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel ..
A brilliant stay in Weymouth made that much more special by Karen and Richard.
Great hotel...

Room Tip: We had room 8 which overlooked the sea. Brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anitatatata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent a long weekend at The Clarence with our 8 month old baby and had a wonderful time. This is a family run hotel and the owners pay amazing attention to detail. Our room and communal areas were spotlessly clean and a cot and highchair were made available to us.

Breakfast was delicious and Karen was attentive and helpful when we had queries. The location is ideal for exploring Weymouth and the local area and having a parking permit was brilliant as it was busy during half term.

Room Tip: Room 4 is on the first floor and faces the beach. The room is large and has a sofa and chair for rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were at the Clarence last week for our 2014 Visit & not disappointed!

Karen & Richard all friendly smiles and their hard work pays off in so many ways.

This visit we stayed in Room 8 & loved it. Yes the en-suite is a little tight for the "larger" man such as me but no hinderance at all to enjoying this essentially British seaside town with a lovely ambience.

This "larger" man also laps up the great freshly cooked breakfast!

We hope to return later in the year or in 2015!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalneTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Clarence is run by a charming and very hardworking couple. It is delightfully clean, fresh, and welcoming. The breakfast is a wondrous affair. The hotel is excellently situated for anyone travelling to/from the Channel Islands.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gregory115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have to stay in many hotels throughout the whole of the uk with my job and I can say without reservation this is by far the best. Main points friendliness, cleanliness, rooms and location. Karen and Richard you are a shinning example of how to run a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony1oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A great welcome which to our relief included a permit to park free during what was a busy bank holiday weekend!! The room we were in was a premier double and spotlessly clean and well equipped. The owners were available when needed and with their local knowledge steered us to a few good local restaurants. The breakfast was superb including plump fresh raspberries and strawberries as well as well as a full English which was made with good quality ingredients and the best I have ever had in a while. If your looking to base yourself in Weymouth for the harbour, beach and the amazing Jurrassic Coastline, look no further than this gem of a guest house. It exceeded mine and my wife's expectation not only because of its location which was close to the beach and delightful harbour but more so because of the friendly and superb customer appreciation and service offered by the dedicated owners. Many thanks and look forward to visiting again soon !! - Mark & Gina

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markciuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#38 of 166 in Weymouth
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#28 of 166 in Weymouth
590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#7 of 166 in Weymouth
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Weymouth Beach B&B
Weymouth Beach B&B
#32 of 166 in Weymouth
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish House
Cavendish House
#78 of 166 in Weymouth
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Maiden Rest
A Maiden Rest
#55 of 166 in Weymouth
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence

Address: 20 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: £96 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarence Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing