We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best fish and chips! ”

Marlboro Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 285 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$22
Cuisines: British, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Weymouth Award Winning Fish & Chip Restaurant & Take Away situated conveniently on the Town Bridge in Weymouth, a stones throw away from the picturesque harbour and a short distance from the award winning beach. Serves traditional Fish & Chips Fayre as well as a varied complimentary menu.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The best fish and chips! ”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We were heading to the Old Harbour restaurant but it was shut so we went across the road to the Marlboro instead...the best decision we could've made!

The staff were lovely, the food was fabulous, and the portions were huge.

We took our two year old son who shared our food and the waitress brought him a little plate and fork which was a nice touch.

As well as the restaurant they also do takeaways. We'd definitely recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank LibbyKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun H, Public Relations Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. hope you visit again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    228
    62
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best chip shop in the south”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Best chip shop in the south. Always superb food and the service is very good. Our son loves this place as they always make a fuss of him.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun H, Public Relations Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Were so glad your family enjoy our Restaurant and thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review. We always try to make a fuss of our customers when time allows :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish & Chips”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Called in here this evening (25/11/13), we were the only ones in the restaurant as it was around 8pm. Great service, huge portions, and the best light and crunchy batter on both the perfectly cooked haddock and mackerel; fantastic chips. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KITTEN86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun H, Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review !!
We look forward to your next visit :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Truely worthy of five stars”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had wanted fish and chips for a few days whilst on holiday in Dorset, so we went to weymouth to see if we could find a restaurant.

Despite only just having opened, The Marlboro was already getting full, so we took a free table and ordered simple cod and chips. We had to wait about ten minutes for the order to arrive.

The fish was perfectly cooked, and a fresh as could be witout still flapping. It was wonderfully white under the crisp batter. The chips were fine, crinkle cut and plentiful. The staff were attentive, and it was an all round pleasure to eat here.

It is certainly one of the top three fryers i have eaten in. Top marks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jelltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun H, Public Relations Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thanks for your really complimentary review and taking the time to write it. Makes all our efforts worthwhile. Hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Weymouth”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Always a favourite, this was the best when I was a child and still enjoy taking my family there, get some fish and chips then go down the tunnel and eat them on the harbour side, you can even pop into the pub and get a beer to drink with them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mika-Wilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun H, Public Relations Manager at Marlboro Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Pleased to see you feel our standards haven't changed. it may be because your fish and chips today were probably cooked by the same fryer or a descendant of the the fryer that cooked them back when you were a child. Glad we still command your recommendation after all these years and hope you visit us again very soon. Thanks for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marlboro Restaurant also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Marlboro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing