We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful rooms and a very tasty breakfast.”
Review of The Chatsworth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chatsworth
Ranked #51 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
257 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Delightful rooms and a very tasty breakfast.”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We had a room overlooking the harbor with a little balcony, it was absolutely delightful. Dave the host was very kind and even provided us with free parking passes, and it is not easy to find parking in Weymouth. The breakfast times were very flexible and the breakfast itself was very good, especially the fish choice. There was also quite a well stocked bar if you fancied a drink before or after dinner.
The Wi-Fi was free and easy to access. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizbetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    25
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
14
73
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room (at the top of the house). It had a new bathroom which although small was very agreeable. Dave, the owner was very helpful and served an excellent breakfast. Easy to park outside and we were lent a parking permit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smb1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This hotel is lovley and our room no 2 was clean and comfortable.The breakfast was of very good quality and nothing was to much trouble. We were so impressed that the owners Dave and Lyn trusted us to help ourselves in the bar and write in the bar book what we had. This hotel does not deserve a negative review and I would ignore it. Dave and Lynn and all staff make it home from home i even walked round with no shoes on i felt so relaxed. Thankyou and see you again Elaine andJim Smith Southampton.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elainesmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My husband and I have just spent a four night break at this hotel. We stayed in room No.4 with balcony overlooking the harbour.
The view was beautiful. The room was very clean and nicely decorated, the bed was so comfortable. Tea making facilities in the room, that were stocked up daily. plenty of storage space. Hair dryer was provided in one of the draws.
We had the full english breakfast every morning which was delicious. Other choices of breakfast available. Plenty choices of cereal, fresh fruit and yogurts.
Staff very friendly.
Position of the hotel is great. As I suffer with arthritis in my legs it was great not walking too far to enjoy all the shops in the town. 2 min walk. Macdonalds, chip shops restuarants all on the door step. Beach over the road. Theatre over road. Harbour round the back of hotel. Parking is available but may have to go round the block a few times to get a space in front of hotel. It can be done with patience.
Have just read the previous review from HARPLB. He is picky. Boats do not go out at night. We had no problem with any noise at night. Quite the opposite very quiet. Yes during the day you can hear boat engines ect. Thats what you get with a room by a harbour! No there is no lift. Which I was aware of before I booked, as I checked! Stairs are a pain when you have bad legs but I was prepared for that as it was well worth the effort for the fantastic room we wanted. Perhaps he should have gone to the Rex to start with.
We would go to the Chatsworth again and again.
I have just read the previous review from

Room Tip: If you smoke have room 4. As you can sit on balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenlearainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I am not a picky person. Forget that there was no lift, that the furnishings and carpet are tired. How about no hot water or - NO water? Very noisy balcony room overlooking harbour. Great view, but had to leave doors open, so heard street/harbour noise all night. Breakfast was good, Dave helped us make dinner reservations and was most helpful. However, the guests are not welcomed in the public areas at night - definitely owners only , though they said it was open 24 hours. Overpriced for what you get. I just checked the Rex on the Esplanade - cheaper and with lift .

I expected a little quirkness, but this was eewww, yuck quircky .

Room Tip: Esplanade view is larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harplb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chatsworthpolly, Owner at The Chatsworth, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
We were very upset and surprised at this awful review but there are a few points we would like to reply to.
The reason for the lack of water was due to your travell companions- leaving the shower running and draining the whole water system upsetting all our clients and not just yourselves.

I am astounded about the comments about the noise, the room you were in is our most popular room (see traveller tips) no one has ever complained about the noise we have only ever had comments about how peaceful it is.

The bar is never open 24 hour, our guests are always very welcome , you yourself came in for a drink after your evening out, I personally found your comment about" Owners Only" very offensive and untrue.

As for having a lift, we only have 8 rooms and you were only on the second floor!!!

It`s a shame you did`nt check with your friends who booked your room as your requirements of a 24 hour bar and lift were not met

All the staff try very hard to make sure our guests have an enjoyable stay, and going by the majority of reviews we do succeed- but not in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I'm a big user of Trip Advisor and booked this hotel due the reviews on the site. We were not disappointed. It is small and personal, immaculately clean and the rooms are so thoughtfully laid out you could easily spend a fortnight there and find room for all your belongings. We went for a short break. It had one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. As soon as you arrive the owners are happy to answer any queries, give you your keys and away you go!. We stayed in Room 4 with the small balcony that you see on the photo. It is at the back of the hotel overlooking the old harbour and probably slightly quieter than those at the front but then you would not book a hotel right on a busy seafront and expect it to be deathly quiet would you?
Breakfast is generous and tasty, we were disappointed we had to miss the chance of one of their seafood platters which I heard were yummy.
No complaints at all. 2 pointers for travellers, parking in Weymouth is a nightmare 24 hours a day. There is a 24 hour car park less than 5 minutes away and if you are planning on staying in Weymouth itself it's worth arranging with the hotel to help in advance at a more favourable rate. Also the hot water comes on at 6.45am ( being an early riser I shower by 6am but the water luckily wasn't freezing! Husbands shower was toasty.

Room Tip: Room 4 for a romantic break, the balcony watching the boats in the sunset / sunrise is priceless
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Nice owners make a nice hotel. We went for a short break and were not dissappointed! Would I go back again - absolutely yes. Great breakfast, nice accomodation, nice owners, and clean. It is well located for the town and harbour and there are many good restaurants around. When you arrive talk to them about the local parking arrangements as they are actually very good although first impressions are that it is difficult to park when busy.

Room Tip: Room 4. View of the old harbour and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#28 of 165 in Weymouth
404 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#36 of 165 in Weymouth
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Acqua Beach Weymouth
Acqua Beach Weymouth
#44 of 165 in Weymouth
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aaran Guesthouse
Aaran Guesthouse
#60 of 165 in Weymouth
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Leam Hotel
The Leam Hotel
#50 of 165 in Weymouth
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greenlands Guest House
Greenlands Guest House
#35 of 165 in Weymouth
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatsworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatsworth

Property: The Chatsworth
Address: 14 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Chatsworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatsworth Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing