We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harlequin Guest House
Ranked #74 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely guest house”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Spacious rooms, lovely location, superb breakfast, very helpful owners and staff. Can't wait to go back again next year, very good value for money. Nice quiet road only 5 - 10 minute walk to beach, parking a little awkward with only space for 5 cars but plenty of side roads to park in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
occakouy, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Kind words .Thank you. Hope you make it down here again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    39
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
42
62
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Leonards-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My young grandaughter and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Harlequin Guest Ho use. Mike, the owner, made us feel most welcome. Our room on the first floor was very pleasant , with very comfortable beds and an ensuite shower room.Rooms kept extremely clean with bins being emptied every day and tea and coffee replenished. The full English breakfast was very generous and could not be faulted. Mike is happy to accomodate variations on the breakfast and makes a mean Bacon Sandwich. A knowledgeable man when it comes to where to go and what attractions to see. Would definetly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parlezvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
occakouy, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you.Really pleased you enjoyed it here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 tonights in July, over a busy weekend. The guest house was full but you couldn't tell!
Very impressed with Mike, the owner. Very friendly, full of advice on places to eat and see. Hot drinks and biscuits on arrival at the house were most welcome.
Room was a good size for 3 adults, with plenty of room to avoid if necessary! En suite was well equipped and the room in general was very clean and welcoming.
Breakfast was fantastic, with cereals & juice to hand and hot breakfast done to order.

All in all a wonderful few nights in a really welcoming and homely environment.
Would not hesitate to stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bananasplit86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
occakouy, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
It was good to have you here.Hope you can get back agin sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Me and my partner and my young son stayed here an we were very impressed with the service and size of the room. We phoned direct to the b&b and paid a much better price than travel conpanies were offering. We were offered drinks on arrival which was very nice. Our room was a very good size and we had our own bathroom a few steps from our door. Mike the owner was very helpful and interacted with my son which was nice. We would definitely stay here again. Thankyou! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
occakouy, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
and thank you too !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Harlequin for 7 days end of June - Beg July. The room are very big in size and are very high ceilings. Ground floor room has a lovely decked area which is a sun trap. There is a sun lounger, table & chairs to use out in decked area.
Breakfasts are generous and lots on offer to have.
It is in a good location for the town, beach and also the train station.
Mike the owner is very laid back and is a wealth of knowledge of local area and places of attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemzap84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
occakouy, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thanks .Glad you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Fabulous place, clean and tidy with very hospitable owner and lovely lady who helped out. Both gave us lots of tips on where to visit and where to eat. Thoroughly recommend Pie and Ale place about 5 mins walk away and a visit to the fort was surprisingly fascinating ! Smashing spacious room with double bed and two singles, bathroom was next door and was for sole use which was absolutely fine, good stronge shower with lots of hot water and towels provided.

Great breakfast, cereals, juice, yogurt then full fry and toast up if you want it - I had sausage buttie, great bangers!

Would certainly recommend this comfortable well priced bed and breakie to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joolybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
occakouy, Owner at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thanks .Glad you enjoyed the bangers. I hate cheap sausages !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Enjoyed staying here very much. Room clean and tidy with a good hospitality tray. Breakfast was good with Mike and Amy being attentive. Mike was a good host, friendly and welcoming with a cup of tea. A good place to stay as a base to explore lots of different areas. Free WiFi was a great touch. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in this area.

Room Tip: Room 6 has access to patio area. Also good for people with mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpandgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
occakouy, Manager at Harlequin Guest House, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you. I am proud of room 6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
#46 of 165 in Weymouth
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenlands Guest House
Greenlands Guest House
#35 of 165 in Weymouth
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#82 of 165 in Weymouth
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#45 of 165 in Weymouth
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 165 in Weymouth
438 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#28 of 165 in Weymouth
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harlequin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlequin Guest House

Property: Harlequin Guest House
Address: 9 Carlton Road South, Weymouth DT4 7PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harlequin Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great value Four Star Guest House in a pleasant Victorian house with spacious well appointed rooms. Free off road parking for up to five cars. Free WiFi. Particularly suited to families but also catering for couples and single guests in en suite rooms.The largest Family Room can accommodate up to five guests and has a private bathroom next door to it and for exclusive use of its occupants. We do not cater for groups of single sex party animals or for stag or hen nights. Just five minutes walk from the superb beach and ten minutes from town. Situated at the heart of the Jurassic coast Weymouth is an ideal base for family seaside holidays and is surrounded by beautiful countryside and villages.Weymouth is ideal for walkers,climbers,water sports enthusiasts and bird enthusiasts. Within easy travelling distance local trading estates. Business travellers welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harlequin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harlequin Guest House Hotel Weymouth
Harlequin Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing