We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sam and jacky - highly recommend”

Southville Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southville Guest House
Ranked #41 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sam and jacky - highly recommend”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Lovely weekend break in this beautiful, comfortable home. Lovely sunny room at the top of the house and excellent breakfast. Tim and Rebecca were very welcoming. Thankyou both!
We would greatly recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
39
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
WILTSHIRE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It was the summer of 1959 that we last visited Weymouth for a holiday; we were both in our teens and spent most of the time babysitting a nephew and niece. So 55 years on was it time to visit again. Well we was not sure when making the arrangements but what were we looking for a promenade that was level for ease of walking a harbour for me to watch the small and not so small boats, and the one thing that’s important for the wife the sea and a beach.
So we booked a week at the Southville Guest House, in Weymouth. Southville is just of the esplanade by St John’s Church. It’s on a main road with a bit of traffic noise but our room at the back was very quiet. The house also has a car parking area at the back. Our room was clean and bright the bed comfortable with good linen. The breakfast was good and made with good quality provisions. Our hosts were always willing to adapt. The main question is would we go again and the answer to that is yes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WESSEXMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We spend 3 nights with our 4-months old baby. The room was nicely decorated and very clean; the breakfast was very good and the owners are very very friendly. They helped us with our luggages, pushchair, bottles, etc. It is a family run business with an excellent service!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Room was fab, we had a family room with a big double, a single and a travel cot for our 5 month old. Everything was clean and well presented, the en-suite shower room was more than adequate. Had a good nights sleep followed by an excellent breakfast - there was pretty much just about anything you could wish for :) Tim and Rebecca and family were really hospitable people and we felt really comfortable staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinFirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Lovely family run business, room was comfortable, good selection of drinks and nibbles in room. Tim was very hospitable and went above and beyond expected. Great breakfast, wide selection of fruit, yogurts, cereal etc and yummy cooked breakfast. Vegetarians were easily catered for. Reasonably priced, would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bouncingem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Guesthouse was clean with very friendly and helpful owners for which nothing was too much trouble, our room was en-suite with extras like a DVD player, very full range of toiletries, very wide selection on our hospitality tray including Hot Chocolate, Horlicks excellent Dorset biscuits plus fudge, which was replaced each day. Had full English breakfast plus Dorset brands of cereals, Activa yogurts a good supply of fruit and other lovely goodies. They do have some car parking which was free and organised well, and they were very convenient for the beach.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for the room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My friend and myself each stayed in a single room for 6 nights in August. Though neither had en suite shower facilities the shower for mine was only a metre away though my friend had to climb two flights of stairs to use the same one. Having said that each room had its own wash basin with plenty of toiletries in each. There were lots of little touches which made this B&B special. Each room had 4 towels plus a face cloth which could be changed every day if you wanted; loads of tea/coffee/sugar/milk/hot chocolate plus tissues and a little bowl of sweets which was topped up every day. I counted 20 different cereals on the breakfast dresser, branded yoghourts (none of your cheap stuff), 6 different types of fresh fruit, umpteen jams/marmalades/honey and nutella (my personal favourite) and each cooked breakfast was individually ordered and freshly cooked. The hostess with the mostest was Rebecca and she is so well-organised I was in envy. (Apparently in the quiet season she also does the decorating) . The hosts are a very friendly couple and you feel very much at home. You do not get a sea view at this B&B but it is so close to the end of the Dorchester Road you only have to walk for two minutes round the corner to be walking along the Esplanade. If you do decide to stay here ask the hosts to direct you to Greenhill Gardens; a very quiet end of the beach with (as the name suggests) with beautiful gardens above it and a small café - plus a shelter if it happens to rain. Absolutely lovely and hardly anyone goes there - perfect for kids.

Room Tip: If you have slight mobility problems ask for the room on the ground floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didlydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandy Dreams
Sandy Dreams
#11 of 165 in Weymouth
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashmira Guest House
Ashmira Guest House
#14 of 165 in Weymouth
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barnes's Rest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#4 of 165 in Weymouth
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
#46 of 165 in Weymouth
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grange Bed & Breakfast
The Grange Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 165 in Weymouth
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southville Guest House

Property: Southville Guest House
Address: 5 Dorchester Road, Weymouth DT4 7JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Southville Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Southville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southville Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing