We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turkey & Tinsel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Norfolk

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Norfolk
Ranked #77 of 170 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Shrewton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Turkey & Tinsel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at The Norfolk Hotel. For value for money I doubt you could beat this Hotel. Rooms small but spotless with plenty of drawer space and oodles of hot water for showers. The food was of a good standard and served by cheerful, wilco staff. Evening entertainment was excellent.

Room Tip: Limited number of sea view rooms (just 3 or 4 I think). Other rooms lovely and quiet though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    29
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
31
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

As a group organiser I felt I had to write to say well done to The Norfolk Hotel. From our arrival, when all cases were taken to rooms quickly, to the excellent food, staff & entertainment I could fault nothing. We took over the whole of the hotel & Sue was fantastic in letting me choose who went in what rooms. There were only 3 rooms spare. Bar prices are reasonable & the entertainment suited my group ( all over 60s) I will definitely use this hotel again & will be recommending it to my other contacts. Well done to all at the hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are bigger & have a sea view. Some of the rooms involve a few stairs so let t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

For a Hotel of just 28 rooms this is one of the best. Spent weekend in room 15 so you haven't a view of the sea front, just a clean white brick wall, the bedroom although a little small is clean as a whistle and the bathroom was the same. The food was excellent with reasonable portions and I am sure if you wanted more you only have to ask, the dinning room has a good view over the bay, being smack in the middle of the Esplanade you are close to the town centre and Docks. The only thing that my wife wanted was a soft pillow and being at the Hotel for such a short time she didn't bother to ask for one. I try to be fair with my reports because you are talking about some else's livelihood and it is not fair to slag someone off without recourse. I know some firms plant a rogue into places like these but with me you get what I think not someone else's Lie's

Room Tip: Ask for one of the seafront rooms, the Hotel has a small lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Just returned from a long weekend away in Weymouth, got back 8th Oct, we went on an organised trip with lots of friends to the Norfolk hotel on the esplanade in the centre of town.
We've all stayed in the hotel before two year back which was just ok, but what an improvement !, most of the rooms have been refurbished, new bathrooms, décor, carpets ect, flat screen TV's with a selection of channels. Room serviced daily, towels every other day.
Resturaunt nice and clean, food served hot and quickly by two excellent young girl waitresses, meals are ordered one meal in advance, the room could get a little crowded if the hotel was busy, but that reflects on the popularity of the hotel.
Staff were very helpful with porterage to your room if required, entertainment in the bar in the bar every night , refreshments at a reasonable price.
Weymouth resort is as always good, plenty of things to do places to see, the old town and harbour are forever interesting, now the Brewers Quay has opened up again with a variety of shops, in all a very good weekend.

Room Tip: Lift only goes to the second floor, stairs only upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graham_ward1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We went back to the Hotel Norfolk on the 11th of October 2013 for a 3 night stay, last time was May. I cant recommend this hotel enough, it's close to the town centre and the breakfast is lovely and evening meal great with the waiting staff fab. The owners are friendly and welcoming and the rooms are clean and nice.
I am already planning my 3rd stay there. I'm not keen on the evening entertainment as I like to go to the pub, but the barman is a lovely guy and is willing to serve drinks as long as you want them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenlsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

this is the second time at the norfolk hotel , i did detect a slight slip in the food quality and service but not enough to be bothered about. our room was at the very top of the hotel with a sea view, it was a lot quieter up there from footfall to traffic noise etc , if you can manage the 57 steps it was a nice room . the serving staff was overwhelmed at mealtimes and did their best but half a hour from juice to bacon and eggs was a bit of a wait . the food was as nice and large portions, coffee still good , a walk out at night for the food to go down is a must, there was so much to see and do in weymouth

Room Tip: sea view a must no matter what floor it is on .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jenniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed at the Norfolk for 7nts last month on a Alfa travel coach holiday. We had a very nice week. A great location on the front. Our room was spotless clean and very comfortable although the noisy floorboards from the upstairs room could do with a little attention. The food was good with a varied choice for dinner and portions enough for the biggest appetite. Entertainment was pretty good, mostly solo guitarist/singers doing popular cover versions from the 60's and 70's, it seemed perfect for the coach holiday clientele. A couple of nights the friendly barman put on bingo or a quiz. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful although it did seem that the owners were running the place on 'skeleton staff' sometimes. An extra pair of hands wouldn't go amiss. All in all a very pleasant stay.

*One more point, and this has NOTHING to do with Hotel Norfolk, many of our party were disappointed with Alfa Travels return travel to the Midlands. Having to change coaches twice and a two hour wait on services on the M5. Worth looking into before you book.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RepublikaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
0.4 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Alendale Guest House
The Alendale Guest House
#6 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#49 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gresham Hotel
Gresham Hotel
#64 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Norfolk

Property: Hotel Norfolk
Address: 125-126 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Hotel Norfolk Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing