We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of The Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anchorage
Ranked #70 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

michael and diane made us very welcome the room was so comfortable we had a front facing room and the views across weymouth beach were amazing. we had full english breakfast and it kept us going nearly all day. will defently be going back. once again thank you for your hospitality.

Room Tip: room 5 has a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ve_goodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    15
    1
    4
    7
See reviews for
28
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Very well located B and B close to many excellent Fish restaurants and good pubs. Harbour and beach literally across the road on both sides. Very friendly and helpful owners who made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were sumptuous and really set us up for the day. Absolutely perfect 3 night stay. Highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uldale7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

A bad start to what should have been a relaxing weekend. I was notified whilst on my way to the B&B that I had been double booked and would be unable to stay at The Anchorage. Upon arrival the owner although apologetic had not listened correctly to my request for a twin room and could only offer me a double room in an alternative B&B. I was eventually rescued by a lovely couple down the road and thanks to them they saved my weekend. I had done a lot of research on B&B;s in Weymouth and this one had such good reviews, I was very disappointed on finding out that I had been double booked. I will certainly not recommend this B&B to friends and family.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We were visiting the Weymouth area for the first time in many years. We decided to take pot luck with the Anchorage for a Monday to Friday break. What a good choice it was, the views from the room were fantastic, and as a fan of full English breakfast, I was glad to see a FULL breakfast cooked, presented and served so well. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The owners were friendly, chatty and full of useful tips for filling the day. This is one I will use again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonleith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights (originally 3 extended to 4), Thurs to Sunday and considered this B&B to be of the highest standard. The service was first class as was the full english breakfast we enjoyed each morning. The room we had overlooked the beach and was very comfortable and clean and tidy. We will certainly consider staying at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in Weymouth.

Room Tip: We chose a beach view although we were offered either a beach or harbour view, either of which we wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bellanosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I booked with a friend for a fishing trip we had to be squeezed in late in the day then had to cancel last minute due to weather conditions.
Very understanding response will definitely keep on my file for a trip with my wife.

Thank you

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyjstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Having stayed in many of the b&b's along the Esplanade in previous years, this was a first time 2 night stay at The Anchorage. Location wise The Anchorage is in a good position on the corner with a great outlook from the front rooms and breakfast room across the beach and Bay . Due to the location, you can be out the main door, across the road and on that beach in a minute.
We had 2 top floor rooms, yes quite a few stairs to climb, but that is all part of the character of these wonderful Georgian period buildings.The rooms were clean, comfortable, both with en-suite shower and w/c. There was an old style portable tv in the room with a digibox for freeview channels.
Breakfast was served 08.30 to 09.00, with a good choice of cereals, fruit juice, the standard full english nicely cooked, toast and choice of tea or a cafetiere of coffee.
Parking permits were made available, and there are many on-street bays in the vicinity so that the car was parked within a short walk. All in all, an enjoyable break.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mxcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#7 of 165 in Weymouth
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#37 of 165 in Weymouth
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#28 of 165 in Weymouth
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach View Guesthouse
Beach View Guesthouse
#31 of 165 in Weymouth
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wadham Guesthouse
Wadham Guesthouse
#69 of 165 in Weymouth
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Bungalow - Weymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Property: The Anchorage
Address: 7 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage is a family-run guesthouse offering a comfortable and relaxing stay. Situated just a 'stones throw' from both the golden sands of Weymouth beach and the picturesque 17th-century harbour. Perfectly located by the Condor ferry terminal and the Pavilion Theatre. Just a few minutes walk will see you in the town centre with its many pubs, restaurants, major shopping outlets and other attractions. Come and enjoy a relaxing stress-free stay with us in one of the best locations in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing