We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillant!”
Review of The Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage
Ranked #60 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We had a great time at the Anchorage, clean rooms, nice breakfast and a friendly chat with the owners. They are very dog friendly and we were able to have a lovely beach view room even though we had a big dog.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lilyEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

My mom and I first stayed at the Anchorage with our pet dog Tom. We had such an excellent stay we have visited a few times since then and the service is still excellent. Our dog was welcome but to be honest you wouldnt know it is a dog friendly b&b as the place is spotless. Breakfast excellent, and the proprietors very helpful and friendly. Excellent location, park the car on arrival and not have to use it again until departure. We were even given a parking permit. Moms room was on the front with a lovely seaview and mine on the back with an equally lovely view of the harbour. I wouldnt stay anywhere else in Weymouth now !

Room Tip: Front rooms sea facing, rear rooms harbour facing. Both are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thumbelinasmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We booked a weekend here based on previous reviews and were not dissapointed. From the moment we booked in to the moment we left we were made to feel very welcome. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the harbour. The room was very clean and tidy, the bedding was fresh and the room pleasantly decorated. We were invited to use the comfortable guest lounge, something that we were not allowed to do in other guest houses we have stayed in along the same row. The communal areas were also clean and tidy and the whole experience was 'home from home'. We both had a full English breakfast and this was simply delightful, it was plentiful and perfe ctly presented, there was so much that we never needed to eat lunch. We only stayed for a weekend but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Diane was very helpful with where to eat and go and took the time just to chat to make sure we were OK and enjoying ourselves. We have already booked a weeks stay during the summer and have recommended The Anchorage to all our friends. If you are looking for a great place to stay with friendly welcomming staff and comfortable and clean accommodation you will not go wrong at the anchorage. Do yourself a favour and book now.

Room Tip: Phone with preferences and they will do their best to help. We prefered the harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Very friendly hosts right from the first phone call to arriving and throughout our stay. We were in a room overlooking the beach with fabulous views. The room was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was perfect, great choice and filling,kept us going well past lunch. Diane was very helpful in where to go and things to do and was happy chatting with us like firends rather than treating us as paying guests. We persuaded Diane to show us a few rooms for a planned family get together later in the year and all the rooms looked great, every one had a perfect view of either the beach or harbour. We booked before we left and cant wait to be back in September. We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Seaview or harbour view rooms are both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank harpery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

michael and diane made us very welcome the room was so comfortable we had a front facing room and the views across weymouth beach were amazing. we had full english breakfast and it kept us going nearly all day. will defently be going back. once again thank you for your hospitality.

Room Tip: room 5 has a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ve_goodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Very well located B and B close to many excellent Fish restaurants and good pubs. Harbour and beach literally across the road on both sides. Very friendly and helpful owners who made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were sumptuous and really set us up for the day. Absolutely perfect 3 night stay. Highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uldale7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

A bad start to what should have been a relaxing weekend. I was notified whilst on my way to the B&B that I had been double booked and would be unable to stay at The Anchorage. Upon arrival the owner although apologetic had not listened correctly to my request for a twin room and could only offer me a double room in an alternative B&B. I was eventually rescued by a lovely couple down the road and thanks to them they saved my weekend. I had done a lot of research on B&B;s in Weymouth and this one had such good reviews, I was very disappointed on finding out that I had been double booked. I will certainly not recommend this B&B to friends and family.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
6  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
The Chatsworth
The Chatsworth
#56 of 166 in Weymouth
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ocean Guest House
The Ocean Guest House
#63 of 166 in Weymouth
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cavendish House
Cavendish House
#79 of 166 in Weymouth
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acqua Beach Weymouth
Acqua Beach Weymouth
#51 of 166 in Weymouth
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#27 of 166 in Weymouth
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Address: 7 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: £70 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage is a family-run guesthouse offering a comfortable and relaxing stay. Situated just a 'stones throw' from both the golden sands of Weymouth beach and the picturesque 17th-century harbour. Perfectly located by the Condor ferry terminal and the Pavilion Theatre. Just a few minutes walk will see you in the town centre with its many pubs, restaurants, major shopping outlets and other attractions. Come and enjoy a relaxing stress-free stay with us in one of the best locations in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing