We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in weymouth!”
Review of The Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anchorage
Ranked #70 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect place to stay in weymouth!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Me and my husband stayed only for one night, but we had a lovely time. We had a comfortable room with a great view of the seafront. We enjoyed a nicely cooked breakfast in the morning. The host's were really friendly and made us feel very welcome. We will definitely stay again next time we visit weymouth.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicknsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    15
    1
    4
    7
See reviews for
28
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013

"Recommend this place to all "
14th May 2014
We stopped at the Anchorage following a recommendation from friends who thought this place was excellent both in terms of standards & service. Diane is an outstanding landlady along with her family who puts the customers needs at the forefront of her business. She has great local knowledge & a real passion for peoples needs and nothing is too much trouble.

The hotel is clean, our room was a good size with a really nice en suite. Great view of the seafront & a good location central to everything you might need. The breakfast was cooked to order , very filling and very well presented .
I have paid more money without a full breakfast included to stay in a premier in with the view of trucks from my bedroom window in a car park on the M6 . Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will be booking there again .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoggie207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I looked at places to stay with our dogs. I booked the anchorage and gave my debit card details,some weeks later the money still hadn't been taken and we didn't have a confirmation email. After that I made various communications with both the owners. Our rooms were on the top floor,which was a bit hard work with 2 dogs, but we did know that when we booked. On arrival we were told that we were not allowed to leave the dogs alone in the room,and my friend pointed out how would we eat breakfast then. Rooms were nice with stunning views, but tea making facilities were poor. There was mould in the milk sachet. Breakfast was good though. We met some people staying in the hotel and they were given the family room, but were told that if they used the single bed they would be charged! I think the customer service needs to improve, because if you stay in a guest house you must be made to feel welcome. I have stayed in many places in Weymouth and this was the worst.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christerryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeymouthAnchorMan, Owner at The Anchorage, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
This review is one that we were expecting from the moment the booking was made. Confirmation of the booking was given verbally immediately; the guests were told that they would receive further confirmation once the deposit had been paid. This guest is correct in that we did not take the money for several weeks but she fails to mention the reason for that was because originally we were given the wrong card details and on subsequent occasions the guest, despite booking two rooms and agreeing the total price then tried to renegotiate the amount to be paid. We thought this had been amicably sorted by the guests paying their bills separately despite this being one booking. With regards to leaving dogs unattended in rooms we are, unfortunately, not a free boarding kennels and all the responsible dog owners have not tried to leave their dogs unattended. Guests are advised at the time of booking of our dog rules and informed their can leave their dog in their room for breakfast; this information is on our website and I have recently amended it for clarity. I am at a loss to understand how the tea facilities are poor, we provide adequate tea/coffee, milk, sugar and biscuits - to Visit Britain standards, we also provide a further 7 varieties of tea in the dining room for guest's use. We have in the past provided additional tea/coffee to suit dietary requirements. I think the mold in the milk sachet is poetic license but will concede this is possible, all the tea/coffee making facilities are replenished after guests leave and it is feasible that inadvertently the milk seal was broken - however it would not have been in there long enough to go moldy. Again, this guest has been economical with here views; the guests who had the family room were originally in a double but requested to move to a lower floor room, they were told the only room available was a family room and we would let them use that provided they did not use the room as a twin as this would incur additional charges, realistically you do not book a room for double use and then sleep in all the available beds! If these guests were made to feel unwelcome I would question why prior to leaving they spent an additional half hour in our lounge relaxing and chatting saying how they had enjoyed their stay. As always it is rather unfortunate that their concerns were not made at the time of their stay when they could have been rectified or addressed. Whether or not we are the worst place in Weymouth is their opinion, however, if you look at our other reviews, 98% of our guests would disagree. Conclusively the only way to be 100% sure is to come and stay with us and you will be surprised at how wrong this review is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Just spent the weekend in Weymouth house hunting , a very pleasant stay at the Anchorage along with lots of help and local info from mine hosts made our trip very enjoyable. Looked after very well and set up each day with a very tasty english breakfast. Lovely views front and back a joy to wake up to each morning.Being dog friendly really helped and only needed to cross the road to let the dogs run on the beach each day. We were taken with Weymouth itself and it is high on our lists to retire too later this year.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first landing with large windows onto the harbour area, always something to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbrylands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We have stayed here a few times now and love this guest house and we always stay here when we are in the area. The owners are lovely and always happy to help :) We would recommend this place to anyone. We will soon be back there to stay

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We booked THe Anchorage as our family holiday as a treat instead of going camping and was not sure what to expect. The family room we had was very clean and tidy and we had perfect views of the harbour. It was a Bonus to us to be able to use the guest lounge where we could relax with a glass of wine while our son watched the tv. Breakfast was spot on and there was plenty of it. All the public areas were clean and Diane and Michael were very friendly and helpful. With the use of the free wifi we were made to feel very welcome. The hotel is perfectly located for the beach and town and all The local amenities. When all is said And done it was a perfect holiday. I would recommend The Anchorage to anyone who wants a relaxing and friendly place to stay. We will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Having booked 2 nights and double checked before traveling at the Anchorage for the jubilee weekend we were looking forward to a relaxing break arranged to arrive at 12.30 to sort out parking. After traveling 3.5 hrs from Cornwall when we arrived no one was in. There was a note giving contact numbers on wall which we tried for 1.5 hours but got no answer when the owners did turn up, they looked shocked to see someone waiting and when they checked their diary our name was there but room rented out. We did find some accommodation but the room was at the back of hotel with no sea view. This dampened our holiday spirits and we would never use this b & b again or recommend it to anyone else.

On a good note they gave us a parking ticket for 1 day and offered us a night's free stay if we went there again.

Room Tip: Please double check before traveling they have a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Yeamon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#7 of 165 in Weymouth
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#28 of 165 in Weymouth
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#36 of 165 in Weymouth
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach View Guesthouse
Beach View Guesthouse
#34 of 165 in Weymouth
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Letchworth Guest House
Letchworth Guest House
#10 of 165 in Weymouth
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cavendale
The Cavendale
#108 of 165 in Weymouth
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Property: The Anchorage
Address: 7 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage is a family-run guesthouse offering a comfortable and relaxing stay. Situated just a 'stones throw' from both the golden sands of Weymouth beach and the picturesque 17th-century harbour. Perfectly located by the Condor ferry terminal and the Pavilion Theatre. Just a few minutes walk will see you in the town centre with its many pubs, restaurants, major shopping outlets and other attractions. Come and enjoy a relaxing stress-free stay with us in one of the best locations in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing