We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Anchorage
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Alexandra Hotel(Weymouth)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rex(Weymouth)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crown Hotel(Weymouth)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$108
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
82
17
1
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
17
1
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull englishguest housebed and pillowsoverlooking the harbourthank you for a lovelyexcellent stayset us up for the dayclean roomshome from homebeach viewsuperb locationchoice of cerealsgreat hostsstayed for nightsdefinitely stay here againnew ownerstwin room
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Me and my husband stayed only for one night, but we had a lovely time. We had a comfortable room with a great view of the seafront. We enjoyed a nicely cooked breakfast in the morning. The host's were really friendly and made us feel very welcome. We will definitely stay again next time we visit weymouth.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicknsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

"Recommend this place to all "
14th May 2014
We stopped at the Anchorage following a recommendation from friends who thought this place was excellent both in terms of standards & service. Diane is an outstanding landlady along with her family who puts the customers needs at the forefront of her business. She has great local knowledge & a real passion for peoples needs and nothing is too much trouble.

The hotel is clean, our room was a good size with a really nice en suite. Great view of the seafront & a good location central to everything you might need. The breakfast was cooked to order , very filling and very well presented .
I have paid more money without a full breakfast included to stay in a premier in with the view of trucks from my bedroom window in a car park on the M6 . Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will be booking there again .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoggie207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I looked at places to stay with our dogs. I booked the anchorage and gave my debit card details,some weeks later the money still hadn't been taken and we didn't have a confirmation email. After that I made various communications with both the owners. Our rooms were on the top floor,which was a bit hard work with 2 dogs, but we did know that when we booked. On arrival we were told that we were not allowed to leave the dogs alone in the room,and my friend pointed out how would we eat breakfast then. Rooms were nice with stunning views, but tea making facilities were poor. There was mould in the milk sachet. Breakfast was good though. We met some people staying in the hotel and they were given the family room, but were told that if they used the single bed they would be charged! I think the customer service needs to improve, because if you stay in a guest house you must be made to feel welcome. I have stayed in many places in Weymouth and this was the worst.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christerryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeymouthAnchorMan, Owner at The Anchorage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

This review is one that we were expecting from the moment the booking was made. Confirmation of the booking was given verbally immediately; the guests were told that they would receive further confirmation once the deposit had been paid. This guest is correct in that we did not take the money for several weeks but she fails to mention the reason for that was because originally we were given the wrong card details and on subsequent occasions the guest, despite booking two rooms and agreeing the total price then tried to renegotiate the amount to be paid. We thought this had been amicably sorted by the guests paying their bills separately despite this being one booking. With regards to leaving dogs unattended in rooms we are, unfortunately, not a free boarding kennels and all the responsible dog owners have not tried to leave their dogs unattended. Guests are advised at the time of booking of our dog rules and informed their can leave their dog in their room for breakfast; this information is on our website and I have recently amended it for clarity. I am at a loss to understand how the tea facilities are poor, we provide adequate tea/coffee, milk, sugar and biscuits - to Visit Britain standards, we also provide a further 7 varieties of tea in the dining room for guest's use. We have in the past provided additional tea/coffee to suit dietary requirements. I think the mold in the milk sachet is poetic license but will concede this is possible, all the tea/coffee making facilities are replenished after guests leave and it is feasible that inadvertently the milk seal was broken - however it would not have been in there long enough to go moldy. Again, this guest has been economical with here views; the guests who had the family room were originally in a double but requested to move to a lower floor room, they were told the only room available was a family room and we would let them use that provided they did not use the room as a twin as this would incur additional charges, realistically you do not book a room for double use and then sleep in all the available beds! If these guests were made to feel unwelcome I would question why prior to leaving they spent an additional half hour in our lounge relaxing and chatting saying how they had enjoyed their stay. As always it is rather unfortunate that their concerns were not made at the time of their stay when they could have been rectified or addressed. Whether or not we are the worst place in Weymouth is their opinion, however, if you look at our other reviews, 98% of our guests would disagree. Conclusively the only way to be 100% sure is to come and stay with us and you will be surprised at how wrong this review is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Just spent the weekend in Weymouth house hunting , a very pleasant stay at the Anchorage along with lots of help and local info from mine hosts made our trip very enjoyable. Looked after very well and set up each day with a very tasty english breakfast. Lovely views front and back a joy to wake up to each morning.Being dog friendly really helped and only needed to cross the road to let the dogs run on the beach each day. We were taken with Weymouth itself and it is high on our lists to retire too later this year.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first landing with large windows onto the harbour area, always something to see moving up and down on the water but still quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbrylands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We have stayed here a few times now and love this guest house and we always stay here when we are in the area. The owners are lovely and always happy to help :) We would recommend this place to anyone. We will soon be back there to stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews