We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good.”
Review of Sou' West Lodge

Sou' West Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sou' West Lodge
Ranked #113 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
daventry
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“So good.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Went to Weymouth for a weekend and as usual stayed at this B & B. Spotlessly clean as usual with friendly and helpful proprietors. Nice breakfasts and easy parking. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: It had free wifi but I had to go to the lounge area to get a good signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
11
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have stayed at Sou' West Lodge several time before and returned in March.
We arrived quite early in the morning and were warmly welcomed by Richard. Our room was ready so we were able to unpack and stroll down to the quay side by 10:30 am !

The place was spotlessly clean as always and although we were not in our usual room we were very pleased with room 2 which had a nice size bathroom with a bath and shower.

The wholesome breakfasts are a great way to start the day. Fruit juice, cereals and the full English with toast, tea or coffee usually see us through the day until the evening when we generally eat at one of Weymouth's numerous restaurants or pubs.

Once again we just parked the car in the on site car park on arrival and forgot about it until we left for home at the end of our break because everything is within walking distance of Sou' West Lodge. The town, sea front, quay, railway station and bus stops are only a few minutes stroll away.

Many thanks to Steph, Richard and Anna for making our stay so enjoyable again. We feel part of the family!

Looking forward to seeing again you next time.

John & Izzy x

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnto58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daventry
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I have stayed at this small hotel on several occasions, each time for 3 or 4 nights. The hotel is very clean, as one would expect, and they serve a good breakfast. The owners Stephanie and Richard are very nice people with a good knowledge of the area if one asks them. A significant benefit at this hotel is the free off road parking. I have recommended this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mojomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We came across this particular lodge whilst looking for a three night stop-over in Weymouth. First impressions from the frontage displayed cleanliness, so we decided to ask if the proprietor had a room. The room we had was very clean and the bathroom was spotless too. It was perhaps not the largest room in the lodge (room 1), but it was perfectly adequate for our stay. Breakfast was hearty and delicious. The personal service was excellent and Richard carried our luggage to our room and Stefanie was equally as pleasant.

The decor is not on-trend up to date, but the whole premises shines with cleanliness. Also, we had the bonus of being able to park at the front, and this was important to us as we had just purchased a new vehicle! We would certainly recommend. It was good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyDays54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have been coming here twice a year for the last 7 years, are due again next month and Know we are in great hands. The Hotel is Spotless, Fantstic Service by Richard, & Steff, and Anna,
Nothing is too much trouble. The Rooms are so comfortable. We stay in Room 9 which is on the Ground Floor, as I`m Disabled, so theres no stairs to climb.
The Breakfast is to die for.( Keep up those Lovely "fried Eggs "Rich.) and Set you up for the day
I Would Always Recommend to friends and family. The off street parking is great too. Thank You.

Paul & Tom

Room Tip: Room 9 is on the Ground Floor. Some rooms have part sea view upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_B186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had a lovely stay with Richard, Stefanie and Anna. Clean & tidy very friendly, good cooked breakfast, & off road parking in a good location. Just a short walk to the harbour and restaurants. Will return & would definitely recommend. Thank You.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwynneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Turning up in Weymouth on a Bank Holiday weekend having not booked a room was possibly not he best idea, but by chance driving around we came across Sou'West and saw it had vacancies and car parking which was a bonus. What we loved about this place was that we were allowed to go and view the room before we decided to take it. I would highly recommend this place it was spotlessly clean, bed really comfy and breakfast was great with plenty of choice, the owners were lovely and very laid back nothing was too much trouble.Location is good near to the bridge and about 5mins into town although it is slightly uphill coming back. I will definetly be coming back to Sou'West next time I am in Weymouth...great liitle find

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
Kingswood Guest House
Kingswood Guest House
#76 of 165 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastney Hotel
Eastney Hotel
#70 of 165 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Castle Hotel
The Old Castle Hotel
#153 of 165 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greenwood Guest House
Greenwood Guest House
#29 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#28 of 165 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sou' West Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sou' West Lodge

Property: Sou' West Lodge
Address: Rodwell Road, Weymouth DT4 8QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sou' West Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Sou' West Lodge Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing