We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“evening at gurkha weymouth”
Review of The Gurkha

The Gurkha
Ranked #142 of 285 Restaurants in Weymouth
Price range: US$10 - US$16
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Malaysian, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Berkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“evening at gurkha weymouth”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Have been a few times befor but ws a bit disapointed

with the meal this time, think either left over from earller in the day or just over cooked.

very few people in there,but seem to be waiting to find any one to ask for drinks ect.

Shame because we took friends as we liked it so much., the setting is so nice

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    86
    66
    45
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Where are all the dishes”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

As you look outside, the restaurent menu board tantilises the taste buds,being shown to our table we weren't told how things worked never being to the restaurent before.we had to ask to order our drinks to a waiter who didn't say a word.After looking at the other tables we presumed you went up and helped yourself,we done this but only found a small selection compared to what is shown on the board,very disappointed.Food was Luke warm,and was most surprised to see that you would have to pay for a dessert,as it was eat as much as you want buffet.On return to our table we noticed that waiter wasn't talking to and customers which seemed rude,he cleared our table and even my 8 and 10 year old said Thank you,but still nothing came out of his mouth.When I went to the bar to pay I met a manager who was pleased to take my money.I then questioned as to why his staff said nothing and we didn't find this welcoming and not good manners.He said he was new and didn't speak good English,I would think please and thank you would be the first thing you teach your staff in the hospitality business while working in England,I hope his English has been improved by the time anyone else visits as it makes the atmosphere unpleasant.our eat as much as you like restaurent ineastbourne has a large menu and you order tasters for starters,duck,then main course,then pudding if you still have room,so they do give you choice of 200 dishes unlike the gurka 30/40if you are lucky.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hvanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not to bad! ”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This place is ok if you want a buffet meal, the selection of dishes was not great at all but i went for lunch, maybe dinner would be better. Im not tight at all but i feel £4 for 2 soda waters is a little expensive when most restaurants/pubs will not charge anything, max i have ever been charged before is 30p!! End of the day its only a bit of fizzy water, its the syrup thats used in soft drinks that costs them the money and i didn't have any!! Don't think i would go back but i would say give dinner here a try, might be nicer.

Helpful?
Thank Luke428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
631 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Very very good value”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I would suggest the value of their version of a carvery. I took some 40 odd party last year: very friendly and admirable choice. You will not be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great if you like a buffet meal”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Decided on this place as I like a buffet. We arrived about 6pm which is important if you don't want to pay to park there. The restaurant is actually in the car park but Weymouth have taken an enlightened view and made parking free in the evenings.
We were welcomed and seated nice and handy for the bufffet. There was a reasonable range of Chinese dishes, a few Indian dishes, a soup and salads counter plus a few chips which the kids may like but is not the selling or strong point for me. Food seemed quite hot but this was Saturday evening and the restaurant was fairly busy so fresh supplies were being added as they were cooked in the open kitchen by the bar.
They obviously cater for parties and an area of the restaurant was decked out with balloons and banners for someone's birthday. The bar has a good range of drinks although we opted for the green tea which was quite good value. Service was a bit average when busy as it took a few minutes to get the bill and the rest is pretty much DIY.
If you like a buffet and chinese food mainly, this place is fine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vinylman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gurkha also viewed

 

Been to The Gurkha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing