We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not particularly spicy”

Shalims Balti House Indian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Shalims Balti House Indian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 285 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Shalims Balti House is a national and regional award winning Indian restaurant. Come in and enjoy the best in Indian dining Weymouth has to offer. The mouth watering food and warm comfortable surroundings all add to the experience that you'll find hard to beat when it comes to Indian food in the area. For the best food,service and comfort dine at Shalims Balti House.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not particularly spicy”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Group of 6 - no one thought there curry amazing, no one thought it awful either. Just a general lack of spice.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Iain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    57
    28
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

While visiting Weymouth we thought we would give one of the curry houses a try. Being from London we are spoilt for choice at home. we asked at a local pub for reccomendation and was told about the Balti House. we werent expecting anything special just a run if the mill Indian we thought we would get. We were very wrong. this restaurant would knock the socks off any restaurant we frequent back home. The restaurant was very busy for a thursday night but the service was proffesional and efficient. The food was better than anything we have had before. We never felt like we were being rushed at any time.
Which led to a very relaxing
atmosphere. We went back on the Saturday night just to see if it was a one off good night, when we arrived the restaurant was jam packed, we realised we should have booked. The very smartly dressed manager or owner said if we were willing to wait he would get us a table, we sat at reception and had some drinks and within half an hour a table was available. The surprising verdict is that we recieved the very same high quality service and food as before even though they were full. The restaurant is quiet big with a seperate dinning area for large parties which we did not notice before. Overall we were pleasantly surprised by the standard that this restaurant has set itself one of the best Indian we have been to. We will be back next year to see if they have maintained it.



















    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alex3482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab!”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I love it.... what more can I say? The food is great.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeSouthCoastUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seabass curry to die for”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I'm a local weymouthian and a curry lover. We have got e few Indians in Weymouth most pretty average but the Balti house stands head and shoulders above the others. The decor is good and clean. The service allways top notch. Very spacious with some private booth seating. The restaurant always seems to be busy, which always a good sign, we have been dinning at the Balti house now for many years and do make the occasional visit to some of the other Indians but always come back to the Balti becuase the consistency is always there. On arrival we are usually greeted by the young owner who is always smartly presented as well as his staff and is friendly and chatty and a bonus is his English is impeccable, for some reason still quiet rare in Indian restaurants. Most of all the menu and food is the main reason of coming back. The menu has a good mix of traditional favourites aswell as some different ones. At the moment my absolute favourite is the seabass and coconut curry, simply divine. I recomend it highly. This restaurant is definately worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady-may75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulsted, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected, but worth a visit”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I dont whether The Balti House has just been hyped up when friends have described it but it wasnt quite what I was expecting. The main waiter we had wasn't exactly overflowing with friendliness and was quite gruff to another waited when he was clearing our table.

However, the food was excellent and there is an extensive menu, the decor is nice and I've always heard good things about The Balti House, worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dorsetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shalims Balti House Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Shalims Balti House Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing