We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend”
Review of Wenlock House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wenlock House
Ranked #153 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Would recommend”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We are back from staying at the wenlock. We had a family room ( room14) very top. The views were beautiful. The room was very clean and bed was comfortable. We had breakfast in the morning served by 2 very pleasant ladies. I would recommend this for couples or families ideal location straight across the road from beach.

Room Tip: Room 14 worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scannyannie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    10
    3
    7
    7
See reviews for
8
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Booked this hotel last minute for the May 2013 Bank holiday, reviews were not great but nearly every other place was fully booked. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised, we had 2 rooms ours was a front room with a sea view. The room was a good size, very clean with a nice ensuite bathroom. The other room was also a good size with a lovely ensuite. The owner was polite and very helpful and the breakfast was good: choices of full English, boiled eggs, eggs on toast etc with as much tea, coffee, orange juice and toast as required. The hotel was ideally located for all that Weymouth has to offer:- SeaWorld, beach, harbour and town centre all within walking distance (use the land train for SeaWorld cost £1 each). And the added bonus of free parking in the hotels garage just around the corner was great. Would definitely recommend this pleasant B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which was on the front of the hotel with a wonderful view over Weymouth Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terryjones2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I quite enjoyed my stay here. There is a garage for parking but this is two or three blocks away so parking to unload your vehicle before checking in can be problematic. We had the room on the very top floor so beware there were three flights of stairs to master. The view was beautiful, however, it had skylight windows so you did have to stick your head out to be able to see the view! The rooms are quite dated but clean and comfortable.
There was a mini fridge in the room with a pint of milk for your adequate tea and coffee making facilities, which was a nice touch.
The breakfast was ok. I have tasted better but the ladies who were serving were continually asking if you wanted more tea and toast so food was plentiful.

The location of the hotel is brilliant. Right on the sea front and near all the attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEgge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over weekend. A stone throw from railway station. Had room overlooking sea front with brilliant views, would recommend.

Breakfast very good and service of a good standard and if I am visiting weymouth again will return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mowen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

A dated cramped guest house where you are quoted one price and pay another higher price.

We were quoted £55 for a famiiy room (3 people) yet were told upon arrival £90. Also , as many other people seem to have experienced we were told that evening we would have to pay in cash which necessitated us having to wander around the town looking for a cash machine.

The breakfast was poor quality eg. Happy Shopper Yoghurts. The Landlady was actually extremely rude. We will NOT be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank leonard186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012

as said comfy clean welcoming on the money would definately stay again well done to staff i e patrick marcller and by not least our paula what a star ps plump up the pillows our room 6 very tastefully decored at least this place has secured parking ooo breakfast very adequate

Room Tip: better than most that we have stayed in try room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Have stayed at the Wenlock every year for the past 11 years. As always great rooms, breakfast ample and tasty, parking adequate even though not on same site the exercise does you good!, Margaret, Norma and Sonny as accommodating as ever, as are the rest of the staff. Will see you all again next year.
Bob and Linda

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#47 of 165 in Weymouth
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
A Maiden Rest
A Maiden Rest
#56 of 165 in Weymouth
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greenlands Guest House
Greenlands Guest House
#35 of 165 in Weymouth
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#85 of 165 in Weymouth
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#8 of 165 in Weymouth
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wenlock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wenlock House

Property: Wenlock House
Address: 107 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wenlock House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wenlock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wenlock House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing