We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Stanley Guest House
Ranked #23 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Decided on a trip to the sea-side due to the glorious weather! We booked online the night before and stayed for 3 nights in a double room. Arrived to a friendly welcome from Keith in a lovely old house with lots of character. Our room was a perfect size with plenty of storage. It was very clean, and stylish with attention to detail. Extremely comfortable bed and spacious en suite. Even provided us with a fan which was a god send! Delicious full english breakfast with great service in a bright and airy spacious dining room. The guest house is a short walk from the beach and town centre. Weymouth was a delight and the Stanley guest house is a real find. Will be booking again next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
73
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My partner & I stayed on 28th & 29th June & we were pleasantly surprised at the standard of the guest house.

We had a warm welcome then shown to up to date modern room, I have to say the bed was very comfortable & the bedding was something I would happily use at home.

The breakfast was spot on with nice crockery & that little extra care that you normally do not get.

Location was very good, I say this because I love my car & there was good parking area in fact I parked in spaces directly in front of the guest house. Along with this I like to lively city however I also like to leave this behind when going back to base, this guest house is situated right on the edge of the main strip which but far enough away to be peaceful but close enough to walk to beach & town.

I would use again & recommend to my friends & family.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjwood55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2011

booked for one night before our ferry to Guernsey the next day.
Room very comfortable and the best "hospitality" tray that we have experienced.
We booked room only because of our early start but Maurice was up before us to ensure that we had something to eat before we left.
Will stay again

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We were put up here at very short notice having been let down by a nearby B&B. We had a double en-suite (grund floor) which was excellent. The owner (Maurice) was charming and available most of the time and the other staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Although some people grumbled because breakfast was vegetarian based it suited us just fine.
All in all, for an unplanned stay, this could not be falted

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vintage_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

The place was like an large old house, but the rooms were lovely and the unsuit was lovely and spacious! We traveled here as a team and the owner way amazing! He even let is park up at another of his hotels across the road so we could park there as we had a game at 7pm

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hecticlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Nice place to stay. Proprieter was a bit over bearing but friendly enough. Room was spotless and really comfortable bed. Dissapointing thing about the stay was the breakfast which only offerred a vegetarian option.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucymarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We needed a hotel for one night as we had arrived from the Channel Islands and were heading on to Cornwall the next day. We booked the family room which had a double bed and bunk beds with an en suite shower/toilet. The shower was horrible and only had a drizzle. Maurice the owner was very accommodating and told us about his 22 rare species of chickens that he breeds. The scrambled eggs in the morning were excellent. Beds were OK, seagulls a bit noisy. Best recommentadion was ENZO's italian restaurant on the Esplanade.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crofton Guest House
Crofton Guest House
#26 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#3 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
Lacey's Bed & Breakfast
#44 of 165 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fosters Guest House
Fosters Guest House
#4 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanley Guest House

Property: The Stanley Guest House
Address: 14 Kirtleton Avenue, Weymouth DT4 7PT, England (Formerly Phoenix Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Stanley Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Stanley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stanley Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing