We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay,both times”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay,both times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

As my husband and I are walking in this area of the country and needed a hotel with creche facilities, we have stayed here twice within the last 2 months, for 2 nights each time.
Like some other reviewers, we booked the first time and then read some reviews and so were fairly worried! We need not have been however. It is hard to reconcile this hotel with some aspects of some reviews and in cases where people are mentioning tired decor and faded glory, they are absolutely focusing on the negative side rather than seeing the old glory and splendour of the place. If you are coming looking for unadulterated luxury, then you have set yourself up to be critical of the hotel, and probably of most places you could stay. If you just want a lovely break away, then you can get that here.
The staff were genuinely very pleasant and anticipatory of needs. There were wonderful fires kept alight and the decor is interesting and in keeping of a house of this period.
The food was excellent.
Snoopy the hotel dog is a real winner with the children.
The pool area isn't yet perfect but went down exceptionally well with our unfussy children.
The creche facilities and Verandah play area are superb, with a huge range of toys for children of all ages up to the stated age of 8. Flick and her team in the creche were wonderful and highly competent. We had a specific requirement regarding our childcare and the hotel bent over backwards to accommodate our needs, and left us feeling that our children were in safe hands.
The only reason that we haven't given the hotel 5 stars all round is that it is perhaps a little pricey and they could be a little quicker in the restaurant.
The hotel will surely continue to upgrade in the well-known-about areas and we want to stay again next year.
Thank you for looking after us.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear CATHERINE H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review Tripadvisor. The whole team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we thoroughly enjoyed seeing you - both times!

We continue with our refurbishment programme in January when we will be revamping our swimming pool changing rooms - keep an eye on our facebook page for updates and pictures!

We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    199
    65
    40
    16
See reviews for
366
135
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Beware!! This hotel has not the services nor the standards of a luxury hotel. The rooms and facilities are shabby and tatty. We did not leave on the very moment we saw the state of the place because of they were not prepared to refund the money we paid (350£/night!!). Our room was big but with very low ceilings so my 6ft husband had to walk bent in many areas. There were worn out dark green carpets and bright blue lino floor on the bathroom, old furniture and broken blinds. Of course no minibar, which is so useful when having little kids!No luxury there. The pools seemed from a pensioners' rehabilitation centre, but you were somehow warned of this by the translucent corrugated plastic cover that you had to walk through to arrive there: once inside the 1960 square block you find the pools lined with wrinkled lino and surrounded with cement and discoloured plastic chairs. No tiling, no decking, no luxury there. The changing rooms were freezing, the lockers did not lock.... The children playing areas feel old and many of the toys were tired and some broken BUT the childcare was great, the staff was welcoming and prepared really lovely activities for the kids that our daughters loved. The restaurant has no character and was perfect for breakfast but had no atmosphere for dinner. No luxury there either. Service wise, the majority of staff was as friendly as unprofessional, probably students trying to learn English but with no training on service. The two graces of this hotel are the quality of the food on the dinners (expensive but this time worth it) and how friendly and trying was the personnel. Otherwise invest in a real luxury place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MCSG_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear MCSG_2005,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Naturally, I am really disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

No hotel wants unhappy guests, so it is always worth having a friendly chat with the manager to see if anything can be done to help (we could have provided a fridge for example). Even if we disagree (lino is actually Amtico Tiles) our aim will always be to do the best for our guests that we can.

You guys were a lovely family and we really enjoyed having you stay with us. I am genuinely sorry that it didn't work for you, but please do contact me at the Hotel for a chat and maybe we can discuss a return visit when we are a bit further along our refurbishment programme.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Stayed at half term and paid around £1000 for 3 nights for a family room. It was a last minute booking and we took one of the 'best' rooms. Had read reviews on TripAdvisor and was fully aware of the reviews and went with some trepidation but needed the break.

As has been stated previously it is not possible to fault the staff who are incredibly friendly & welcoming. A few Fawlty tower moments with some members of staff who struggled a little with English 'An order for a spritzer was presented with an Espresso' , an order for a Hamburger arrived 'vegetarian' ie. no actual meat in the hamburger and an afternoon tea was served in a 'tea bowl'. All amusing in a cheap B&B, not in an a hotel stating luxury IMHO.

The location is fantastic & the atmosphere relaxing, but it is seriously over marketed. It is not what you would expect with the word 'luxury'. More shabby than shabby chic. Having stayed in similar hotels the actual maintenance of the building is way below standard, it requires a serious ov erhaul. The pool is OK inside but looks ready for demolishment from the outside. A large indoor play area is more of a desperate attempt to use a large space up with some childrens play blocks, a pool table, an air hockey & some trampolines. It doesnt work (but of course the kids love it). The bar is unmanned & has seen better days, it lacks cohesion.

On the plus side, the location is nice & to be honest the childrens meals for the kids in the evening was great value & healthy.

For us, the negatives outweigh the positives. Can't fault the staff. It markets itself better than it delivers & & so is seriously overpriced. Maybe it's designed to keep the riff raff out ;-).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marillionfan186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Marillionfan 186338,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Naturally, I would have preferred a more positive one, but there are lots of positives to take out of your comments and I am delighted that your kids had a great time and that the grown ups were well looked after, and well fed. This does suggest that we are getting quite a lot right.

I am happy to say that the great feedback that you have given highlights three issues that we are working on as we speak. Room refurbishment is ongoing and we will see an acceleration of this in the New Year. Also in January, we will be completely revamping the Pool changing rooms and the Verandah Bar area, so I really do expect that huge changes will be seen in the not too distant future.

We will be building 2 new pools in 2014 - one outdoor and a replacement indoor, so please be assured that we want to do it as much as you would like us to!

Please do keep up to date through our facebook page for news of progress and we do hope that we see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Really good staff, good food and drink. This was our second visit to the hotel (six years apart) and the lack of investment or even routine maintenance was apparent - shabby chic is being kind. We were fortunate in that we booked two reasonable rooms but they were "tired" (even the pedal bin in the bathroom was faulty).

Staff were helpful and friendly. on checking out, we were told that the new owners had agreed a refurbishment plan for winter, so hopefully the quality of accomodation is raised without spoiling the character.

Room Tip: Tell them what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear John W,

Thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Our refurbishment programme is on-going, so please do keep up to date through our facebook page for updates and pictures.

We look forward to seeing you again soon - don't leave it 6 years until the next visit!!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Had booked for a 1 night B&B but had always intended to have dinner at the hotel, the web site made the method for booking this on line unclear. On arrival we indicated that we wanted dinner that evening and were immediately offered DB&B at the discounted rate.
The hotel is full of old world charm, large comfortable lounges with armchairs and settees of assorted style, very quirky and pleasing. Freshly laid log fires were in all of the fireplaces and there was an abundance of books and magazines, very homely and inviting. Tea was ordered and delivered so quickly that we thought it was not for us, all lovely.
We had a walk down to the lake behind Chesil beach before being shown our room, it was large and comfortable with the same quirky style as the lounges, a large bathroom with plenty of toiletries and fluffy towels.
Dinner was a delight taken in a large airy dining room, a good menu, cheerful and attentive staff and a good wine list. The food arrived quickly and was excellent, perfectly presented and delicious. We took our time over dinner and were the last to leave the dining room, we retired to the lounge for coffee and liquers in front of blazing log fires where we spent the rest of the evening before retiring to our warm and comfortable bed.
Following an early morning swim breakfast taken in the dining room was excellent a large and well stocked hot and cold buffet with optional freshly cooked choices - the kipper was delicious.
One of the best assets of this hotel is the attentive, friendly and efficient staff.
I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Hemingway room was well sited and comfortable with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Christopher C,

Thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and the team will be thrilled that their efforts are so appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Just returned from Moonfleet Manor. I should start with the two redeeming features of this 'luxury' - the staff are lovely and dinner was very good - but that is where it ends. While technically this hotel has the facilities you want for a family break, they are beyond tired and it is frankly depressing. There is peeling paint, cracked tiles, a fusty smell. Interior decor is a bizarre mix of tastes and feels cobbled together from a random second hand furniture shop. The swimming pools are ok, but again the whole building just feels so in need of an overhaul, not just maintenance.
Next up, the playbarn is a great idea, but it is bizarre. There is no member of staff present, you can't even get a glass of water without calling the restaurant in the main building. There is the remnants of what was once a bar, which now has nothing in it. We found a glass and a tap, but who knows if it was drinking water. Someone's child walked round there and the mother was shocked by the state of the place. On top of that you couldn't get the balls out of the pool table, the piano has some notes not working.....get the drift?!

Would we go again? No way. I would go as far as to say that 'Luxury' Family Hotels should be ashamed of themselves. So as someone else has said, BE AWARE of what you are getting. If I hadn't been with a friend and our children we would have foregone the deposit and driven back home.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Charlotte B,

Thank you for posting a review. Naturally, it is disappointing to hear that you didn't like Moonfleet despite having a nice time.

We are working tirelessly to improve our property, following an extended period of neglect from a previous ownership. Our swimming pool changing rooms and the indoor play area bar will be undergoing refurbishment from January and all of bedrooms are on an ongoing rolling refurbishment programme.

It was great to have met and talked to you and I do hope that we can convince you to come and see us again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

i paid a visit yesterday 7th November to moon-fleet manor with my sisters and a friend i have to say what a disappointment. firstly we had a job finding any staff to speak to and just wandered around looking for some one. we went into the restaurant found a member of staff and ask if we could sit there for a cup of tea. it was very quiet and not much atmosphere, we had 2 cups of tea and 2 hot chocolates this was £14 i thought this was very much over the top. nice location but too expensive to just visit for a cup of tea ?????

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billydog777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Billydog777,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Naturally, I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit.

It sounds like you came in "under the radar" and I am sorry that there was nobody to help you immediately. We do pride ourself on our hospitality, evidenced by most of the reviews on this site, so please accept our apologies in this instance.

We do charge £3.50 for a pot of tea with a biscuit. We use loose leaf tea from H.R Higgins of Mayfair, which is of the quality you expect of a Royal Warrent holder. We believe that our lounges are comfortable and relaxing evoking a sense of times gone by, so perhaps you might have had a different experience if you had taken a seat in one of these.

We do hope that you will try us again as our location surely deserves a great Pot of Tea!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
3.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
3.9 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
5.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonfleet Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonfleet Manor Hotel

Property: Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Address: Fleet Road, Weymouth DT3 4ED, England (Formerly Moonfleet Manor & Sports Resort)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonfleet Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moonfleet Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonfleet Manor And Sports Resort
Moonfleet Manor & Sports Hotel Weymouth
Hotel Moonfleet Manor Sports
Moonfleet Manor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing