We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot, but needs investment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
wirral
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, but needs investment”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

LIke the previous reviewer we booked 4 nights (2nd-6th Sept) at the last minute followed by 4 nights at sister hotel in Fowey , Cornwall.
The hotel is 5 miles west of Weymouth on the Fleet but facing Chesil Bank. The access road is pot hole ridden and has to carefully negotiated (though this is probably not the hotels fault)
Nice welcome and plenty of hotel and local information given. My wife and I got a second storey room of good size, but with some sloping ceilings (banged head twice), and only a smallish window at the front side (not sea view) . It was generally adequate, but some furniture needs updating, as does quite a bit of the lounge/dining room furniture . Lots of provision for children of all ages. The lighting in the room was not good, and the beside lamps insufficient to read by.
Dinner got off to a bad start with a quite substantial crack in my water glass, the the wrong wine was brought ! But the food on the two nights we ate 'in' was good We had an issue on paying th bill as no deposit had been received from 'central booking' so I was made to pay the whole bill - I expected the 20% I paid for the two hotels to be split 'pro rata'. I am still awaiting my credit card bill to see if the deposit was taken , as was in th case of Fowey Hall Hotel
Despite these criticisms, we did enjoy our stay, but I cannot rate it higher than 3 stars until some improvements are made

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsharpminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear fsharpminor,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. I am delighted that on the whole you enjoyed your stay.

Naturally, there are always things to learn and our aim is to continue to deliver better and better experiences for our guests.

Please accept my apologies for any failure of service in the Restaurant, although I am really pleased that you enjoyed your food.

Please do keep your eye on our refurbishment progress through our facebook page, as we will be accelerating this in 2014 and I am sure that we can turn your 3 stars into more stars!

Kind regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    207
    67
    40
    16
See reviews for
374
144
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife, myself and our two little ones (6 and 3) visited Moonfleet Manor in late August for a last minute 4 night break. The location is fantastic and the welcome was very good and overall the staff were excellent. very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Because we were late booking we had to move rooms after two days. The first room was brilliant, it was right on the top floor and had loads of character. Two joining rooms so great for the kids. The second room was fine but not as big and didn't have the character of the first one. Again adjoining rooms. The food was excellent all the time. The Mojito I had wasn't really a Mojito - more of a rum flavoured sparkling water with a bit of mint!! I sent it back. There are a few comments on here about the place being run down and not luxury. I can sympathize with that view, but I think it's a little harsh. Some of the facilities are dated or a bit run down - for example the spa has clearly had some cheap superficial work done rather than a proper overhaul, the indoor childrens play centre is a bit smelly and shabby around the edges, the lift is ancient and shabby and some of the toilets (gents near the restaurant) could definitely be upgraded. But I think you need to consider the whole package - the location, staff, some of the rooms, kids facilities, food are all excellent. So I would return. The only shame is that this place could be absolutely fantastic if a bit of money was spent on it. If there isnt any investment in the next few years, then I think I probably would look elsewhere. One last thing - we've been to 6 of the Luxury Family Hotels now and spent quite a bit of money. I would have thought that we would get some kind of special treatment to keep us coming back....but nothing, not even an e-mail or acknowledgement. I think the company is missing a trick as we do really love their concept.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy_mr_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Mike H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.There will be some work to upgrade the facilities and bedrooms over the next few months - so watch our Facebook and website for further details.

We will pass on your comments regarding loyalty scheme as a number of repeat guest have mentioned this.

We do hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Love it......if you, like me, have a couple of young kids a husband addicted to his ipad and a crazy job - and long for a little sanctuary without having to be separated, then this is the place for you. Amazing (almost unbelievably good!) kids facilities, great food, friendly service, fabulous rooms and a large stock of chilled white /rose wine!

It helped that the weather was amazing, so the kids could run wild and free in an incredibly safe environment.

We loved this place so much we've treated ourselves to the 3 night Xmas break.....bring it on Santa!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fudgeletgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Fudgeletgirl,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family over the festive season.

Kind Regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just back from three nights at the Moonfleet Manor, I would highly recommend for families with young children. There is lots for them to do and space to run and explore. The crèche staff and facilities are excellent, very friendly and professional staff, some have been working there for years so it feels very established and runs very smoothly. For us the 'luxury' part was having the children (ages 4 and 1 year old twins) taken care of so well and the meals, especially the 5pm tea provided with all the bibs, sippy cups etc and good child friendly food with very understanding staff. Also, the restaurant food was very good, we ate in the restaurant twice, both excellent food and utilised both the free listening service and babysitters, both worked well. The hotel is a bit tired and doesn't really have a luxury feel, more old slipper than party shoe (the dusty, sagging animal skins should probably go) but we felt welcomed and looked after which is what we needed. And we will go back one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Rachel P,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us recently.

There are plans for refurbishment of the bedrooms and other areas within the hotel in the near future, so please do look out for updates on our website and Facebook page.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was our first stay here and once we got over the initial shock of the cost of staying at this hotel we had a fantastic time. There is loads for the little ones to do and lots of little touches that make this hotel stand out as a proper child friendly hotel, such as the den which provides childcare, the films that are put on every night for the kids, the BBQ nights which include games for the kids etc etc. The staff were fantastic, they couldn't do enough to help and were always polite, friendly and great with the kids. I don't think I have ever left a hotel feeling so relaxed! I would definitely recommend this hotel. My only criticism would have to be the price- it is expensive. We stayed for 3 nights and would have loved to stay longer but it would have cost too much!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ancaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Ancaro,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be friendly, helpful & polite - this is one of the many things we pride ourselves on.

We very much hope to welcome you back to Moonfleet again soon.

Kind Regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a short break to celebrate a birthday at Moonfleet some 2 years ago and it was wonderful. So we decided that it would be good to repeat the experience for our 20th wedding anniversary. We were not dissapointed. Wonderful friendly service, fabulous food, fantastic location and glorious eclectic mix of devout and furnishings Definitely not your `corporate designed, homogeneous hotel. Love it

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickB-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear NickB-P,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are thrilled that you chose to spend such a special occasion and that you enjoyed your time with us.

We do hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed 6 nights in early August which was our second visit. Our only gripe the year before was that service could be slow, they seem to have sorted this out now and we enjoyed excellent food and good service. Lovely hotel, the kids love it, can't get a better hotel for kids. The verandah and den are brilliant and our 2 loved the 3 swimming pools and went swimming every day.

Room Tip: Stayed in Ratsey on the ground floor with its own access to the garden, lovely room and handy for th...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Sarah B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. Also we were pleased that you felt there was an improvement on service since your last visit.

We do hope to see you all again in the near future!

Kind Regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
3.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
3.9 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
261 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
1,007 reviews
15.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
873 reviews
3.8 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonfleet Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonfleet Manor Hotel

Property: Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Address: Fleet Road, Weymouth DT3 4ED, England (Formerly Moonfleet Manor & Sports Resort)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonfleet Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moonfleet Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonfleet Manor And Sports Resort
Moonfleet Manor & Sports Hotel Weymouth
Hotel Moonfleet Manor Sports
Moonfleet Manor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing