We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Initially lacking atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonfleet Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Witney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Initially lacking atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We arrived for a pre Christmas break and it didn't start well, it felt like the hotel was closed and we were the only guests there. Admittedly we arrived at 3.30pm so they may not have gotten up to speed, no welcoming fire, only lit at 6pm but we did ask for it to be lit earlier. Bright harsh lights until we found the dimmer in the lounge, (the receptionist came in and commented on how dark it was....)no background music until we asked for a small stereo also in the lounge. Interestingly everyone who arrived after us commented on the welcoming aspect of the room and flocked to our fire lit side. Our bedroom was unheated when we arrived which again was unwelcoming. The food and service were excellent though and the interior design of the hotel is exceptional, the playbarn was a huge hit with our slightly older kids aged 10 and 11. The other slight negative is that the hotel should tell guests if there is a wedding on prior to booking, either the wedding party should book the entire hotel or be accommodated so that their experience does not interfere/overwhelm the other paying parties who feel like uninvited guests to someone else's wedding. Wouldn't affect me going back, I'd just check whether there was a wedding on first.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamaracuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear tamaracuth,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will see you again in the not too distant future.

All feedback is welcome and you can rest assured that we are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. Thanks for the good ideas!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    193
    64
    39
    16
See reviews for
360
133
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We went to Moonfleet as we needed as place that was child and dog friendly, it didn't disappoint. 2 children under 2 years old.
Staff were amazing, especially Emma on reception who couldn't have made our stay any more homely. Everything was on hand or was provided if we needed it, ie: from sterilising our baby bottles or providing night lights which we had forgotten. These were needed as this time of year it was quiet, and incredibly peaceful. The night sky was amazing and we had stunning views from every window. For those budding stargazers I haven't seen a sky like it since I was in the Australian outback!
We settled straight away and our greyhound was welcomed by the in house celebrity, snoopy! (The in house loveable dog). Loads of places to walk our dog and at no point felt he was unwelcome.
The main star of this holiday was how child friendly it was. We had the pool (kitted out with toys and buoyancy aid for the youngsters), soft play area, specific child menu's and early dinner times, a babysitter (who was wonderful and obviously very experienced) , and the den. The ladies running the den clearly knew children and the facility was packed with games and toys for all ages. Being a teacher I am wary of putting my children anywhere but felt completely comfortable dropping them off. There are policies and safety measures in place which also confirm the child care here is a safe, friendly and completely professional.
The food was great. The waitresses very sweet and attentive. The restaurant and hotel was quiet during our stay but at no point did the staff make us feel like we were a burden. Every staff member seemed very proud of their work and the establishment.
It isn't the most refined hotel in the world but that's where it's charm lies, it is everything you need in the most comfortable homely setting, where you can properly relax without feeling like you have to be a 5 star guest, just lord of the manor ;) Many hotels in this price bracket would sometimes seem pompous and pretentious ( and the guests also ) whereas at moonfleet there is only a friendly face ready to help. We would definitely go back and probably will. Hopefully with some friends to enjoy all the games and sports facilities on offer.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sampson and Pollock. Two adjoining rooms, adequate for 4 adults but perfect for a famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie_Cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Ellie_Cake,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us recently and that you managed that really difficult balancing trick of spending quality family time together and relaxing at the same time.

I am so pleased to hear that our laid back approach played a part in achieving this!

Do come back soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

If you are looking for something very special and yet very different, you must visit Moonfleet Manor. Elegance, a taste of bygone days, a taste of history and atmospheric. Whether its for coffee,lunch,dinner, or an overnight stay or longer, this place is magnificent.
Service is superb, staff are considerate ,obliging and helpful.
Situated by the Fleet, some quite extensive gardens to walk through, and magnificent views for free. It's a place to escape too - peaceful, quiet... tranquil.... Do look at their website, see the vst array of rooms available. This place is ideal for meetings and conferences too. It isnt cheap but its real class with a capital C !

Room Tip: So much variety, check their website please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Tony E,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had such a relaxing time with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the very near future!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We planned this break as a treat after a busy christmas and New Year for our family. We have never stayed in a hotel which has that relaxed family feel achieved in an all inclusive resort overseas when you know your children are safe and happy without having to entertain them all the time. Even though we stayed during wet and windy weather our children werent bored and they wanted to stay longer. There was the Creache which our younger son was booked into but the craft activities weere so good our elder boy stayed there too, and we had fun in the indoor pool. The covered veranda with its two trampolines , table tenis and table football plus loads more entertained our boys for hours then in the evening there was the cinema showing of children's film to watch whist we ate dinner. The food was amazing, bread homemade and main courses carefully contructed and balanced, we struggled to chose each night. Yes we agree with other comments the restaurant is a little bland but so are many Spanish and Italian restaurants we have visited. For us it was the small things like the waiter who took our son crisps and coke to the cimema room whilst we dined so we could relax which made our stay very very enjoyable. We will be returning

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 292SallyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear 292SallyF,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

We are so pleased that you had such a great, relaxing break with us and only sorry that the kids couldn't convince you to stay longer!

Be sure to visit again soon!

Kind regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

When we arrived at Moonfleet, in the middle of the storms, the hotel was packed, everyone was arriving on the same Thursday (oddly enough) and our room was 2 hours late for our check in. But, as we could sit in the lounge and drink tea and our children could go to the creche and soft play, that was a bit of a Waitrose problem and easily overlookable.

Let's get the gripes out of the way first. I seriously don't get what all the raving about food is about. Frankly, it was rubbish. My chard timbale of lentils, feta and tomato was a messy lump wrapped in Savoy cabbage. Did they think I couldn't tell the difference? The 'crispy new potato' was three - count 'em - slices of a sautéed new potato. Weird. My advice is to stick to the 'lighter bites' menu which is nicer (lovely linguini) and cheaper and generally less pretentious. If you aren't going to have the 'a la carte' then don't book the 'and dinner' option, as it will probably be less than the £60 extra. On the plus side, I had a delicious mocktail mojito.

Yes, its a bit 'unrefurbished boarding school chic' in places. But at least that means you don't need to worry about your kids marking the perfect walls. And I think they'd put body lotion in the conditioner bottle by accident, at least, I hope they had, as it went on as a gloopy mass and did no conditioning whatsoever. Avoid and use the Elemis stuff in the swimming pool, much nicer. And a word of warning - check your bill - my friend's was out by £100...

And finally, the lounges could really have been more comfortable. The blue lounge seating was either in direct line with the front door (freezing), by the old windows (breezy) or warm but lumpy and uncomfortable. In fact, Moonfleet, if you read this, please can you get new foam for the sofas by the fire? Because I really want to come back and would love to be nice and comfortable by the fire. Despite all the above, I had a great time.

Because there are some really really great things about Moonfleet. The indoor play is amazing, with soft play, air hockey, netball nets, tennis, table tennis, little buggy cars and a skittle alley. The swimming pools are small and maybe could be cleaner but have plenty of toys and there's a sauna for adults (and nice products, as mentioned above). The creche has different planned activities every day, there's trips and tours of the area (by a smuggler!) and the rooms are just brilliant, with every single one having a separate room or area for children. The staff, although busy, are lovely. The buffet high tea for children (in a rather strange ex-Thai restaurant style room) is fun for them and the staff will bring fortifying drinks for parents. There's a spa, but I didnt have time to use it because we were having so much fun. My daughter didn't want to leave and wants to come back again next year. Which we will. Because if you've got kids, Moonfleet is just magic.

Room Tip: We had Halvera in the main house, which had two interconnecting rooms, a big double bed and a bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear JWLovesToTravel,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

Although your comments are a bit of a mixed bag, I am delighted that your last comment is "Moonfleet is just magic", as this must mean that we get a great deal right.

I am sorry that you did not find some of our food to your liking. As you can see, there are a lot of people with a different opinion. The key thing for us is that everything is freshly prepared with great ingredients, with an emphasis on great flavours.

We will certainly take on board your feedback and really do look forward to seeing you again in 2014.

Kind regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two night new year break with kids. It's a two day package which is not cheap but ends up good value with the great food and lavish child care. Great visit despite ghastly weather. Staff very attentive throughout stay. Food really excellent at all times with particularly fab New Year's Eve dinner. An excellent wine tasting for grown ups in the afternoon. Kids loved the assault course. A little money has been spent on the property this year and it has been wisely spent. The play barn kit is smarter than it was with a sensible fenced off area for under 5s and another cordoned off area for sponge ball football. Both great. The swimming pool is still slightly grotty with a leaky roof but the changing rooms have been tidied up and there were plenty of inflatables to play with in the pool. For kids to have a good pool play it's great. All round it is a great place to visit with kids and having escaped the clutches of the expansionist and up market aspiring von Essen group it is now in the safe hands of the original founders of the luxury family hotel group who understand what is important - friendly staff, good food and drink and great facilities for kids. A bit grotty here and there is fine if the basics are solid. And they are. We will be back very soon.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ADL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear ADL79,

Thank you very much for contributing a review to Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your New Year break.

The feedback for what we have been trying to do this year has been great, but we know that there are always areas for improvement, but I totally agree that if the basics of hospitality are rooted in the Hotels culture, then good things are the usual outcome!

We look forward to seeing you again in 2014!

Kind regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely two night break recently with our children. We stayed in interconnecting rooms which were great; comfortable beds and pillows, decent shower in one room and a good sized bath in the other, TVs and DVD players in each room. Shabby chic is the look but some of the couches in the public lounges really could be more comfortable; one needs mending! However it's great sitting round the fire enjoying drinks. The evening meals were absolutely delicious (breakfast not so good) and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. A highlight for the children were the two indoor pools and the soft play centre. The other highlight for them was Snoopy the hotel dog, and there are nice touches like the 'cinema' for the kids at 6pm and 8pm. The hotel offers a Sunday morning creche and collect your kids from the room at 8am. We thought this was a good idea but the children were not impressed by the staff, the breakfast - just a bowl of cereal - or being sat in front of the tv until collection time. If we'd known we could have sent them in their PJs but we were told to dress them so it rather defeated the object of a lie in! The staff could have been a little more imaginative with the kids so we wouldn't recommend it. Some of the other reviews have complained about the hotel being pricey. It is expensive, and the fact that the children's breakfast is an extra cost seems a bit penny-pinching considering the overall cost of the weekend. Overall, we had a good, relaxing time.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheRelaxationClinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear TheRelaxationClinic,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had such a lovely stay.

The Sunday Morning Breakfast Club is a great idea, that has been very warmly recieved by our guests. We do offer a full continental selection, including toast & preserves, juices, yoghurts, muffins, pastries and fruit salad as well as cereals. We also have a selection of activities for all children to take part in, across a wide age spectrum, so we are genuinely at a loss about the TV comment. That said, we are always happy to review what we do.

Children's breakfast is included in the rate in 2014.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet soon!

Kind regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
3.9 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
5.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
21.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonfleet Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonfleet Manor Hotel

Property: Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Address: Fleet Road, Weymouth DT3 4ED, England (Formerly Moonfleet Manor & Sports Resort)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonfleet Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Moonfleet Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonfleet Manor And Sports Resort
Moonfleet Manor & Sports Hotel Weymouth
Hotel Moonfleet Manor Sports
Moonfleet Manor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing