We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good service”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at Monnfleet with my husband and 7 month baby. As new parents we really loved the idea of a good hotel that is also geared towards people with children. We chose Moonfleet as it is on the coast and the location is superb - out the front of the hotel, through the garden and you are on the path that runs along the coast, lovely for an evening walk before bedtime for the small one.

From a child friendly point of view, the hotel is great. The staff couldn't be more helpful, and services like sterilising bottles and the listening service during dinner were wonderful. My husband and I hadn't managed to go out for dinner since the arrival of the baby so having a grown up dinner in a lovely restaurant without watching a baby monitor felt like a real treat! The crèche staff were also brilliant and I felt very comfortable leaving my baby with them for the 2hr complimentary crèche time we were allocated per day, despite not having left her with anyone not family before.

From an adult point of view, the hotel is good rather than great. I understand they are in the middle of a refurb programme and I hope that includes the beds as I have to say I don't think I have slept (or attempted to!) on a more uncomfortable bed. Our room was also above the kitchen and although there were no noise problems which I was worried about on seeing the location, the rooms were very warm and when we had the windows open the smell from the kitchens wasn't great. Didn't bother me too much but did bother my husband.

The restaurant was very nice, and the staff were good. Drinks were served in the drawing rooms before dinner and sometimes it took a while to get served and we had to go and find someone but we just tried to slow down and get on holiday time!

If you have children I would definitely recommend this hotel, but either ensure you have rooms in the main house or check they have replaced the beds before going!

Room Tip: Check if beds are replaced if opting for a room in the extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSA_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear NSA_78,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. It is really great to hear that you had such a good time with us and that you were able to fully relax whilst with us - not always easy for a very young family.

Our Den team will be delighted to hear that their work is so warmly appreciated and we really do look to live up to the trust that our guests put in us where childcare is concerned.

Please be assured that we will do a bed test and where any replacements are needed, they will be made.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet very soon!

Kind regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    211
    70
    40
    16
See reviews for
378
147
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Ive just stayed at Moonfleet Manor and this will be the first time ive had to write a review, as so far ive been very lucky in the places ive stayed.Its advertised as part of a bespoke"luxury hotel chain",it truly isn't.Its more like Fawlty Towers.The rooms are shabby the Leisure facilities (pool especially)were disgraceful.All the flooring on the pool was coming up and some of the windows had no glass in them just some nailed plywood!The whole hotel needs a complete refurbishment.If you are spending these sort of prices you want good accommodation good food.Unfortubately this Hotel doesn't get there on this.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the sea not the derelict outbuildings and cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear jerry h,

I am greatly disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us, particularly because it is so very rare for us to recieve negative feedback, as you can see from our reviews going back for two years.

A further shame is that your disappointment was not communicated to us verbally or through our Guest Questionnaires, which would have enabled us to do something for you during your stay, rather than after your departure.

Whilst respecting your opinion, it is clear that it is not shared by the vast majority of our guests. We are always looking for ways to improve, so please do contact me personally at the Hotel and I would be very interested to hear more of your experience.

Kind regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just come home from a wonderful stay at Moonfleet Manor. Staff were lovely on check in and really helpful. Our room (maximillion) was lovely. Very spacious. They had supplied a proper wooden cot with all bedding for our 20 month old. Our bed was soooo comfy too!! There is so much to do for kids. The veranda play area is huge and packed with stuff to do. We used the creche once and our lad had a great time with Julie and Flik. For adults there is the spa...I went for the scalp massage which was heavenly. Above all the food was AMAZING!!!! On a serious diet now! Only slight downide to our stay was the opening time for the pool (8am to 7pm). Would have liked a pre breakfast and pre dinner (post baby bed time) dip!

Room Tip: We stayed in Maximillion which has a large king bedroom, good sized lounge and big bathroom. It is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snugglebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Snugglebean,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a great time with us - particularly Tony and his brigade of chefs!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet very soon!

Kind regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We booked 3 nights at Moonfleet on the back on a friend's recommendation, and were not disappointed. Our 4yr & 2yr old daughters enjoyed the swimming pools, arts & craft activities in the creche, running around the garden, playing in the park and huge indoor play area. The bedrooms were cosy, but comfortable and clean, and the listening in service is genius! It meant we had priceless child-free time in the evenings, sat in front of a log fire, sipping on G&T while deciding what to order from the wonderful evening dinner menu. It felt like we were eating out at a Michelin starred restaurant every night, pure indulgence. The staff were friendly and welcoming. It's pricey but you get what you pay for, and we felt the children's food didn't quite match the adults in terms of quality, but we are singing Moonfleet's praises from the rooftop - friends have already booked, and so have we. Looking forward to going back in June for our wedding anniversary! Well done Moonfleet, why hadn't we heard about you before now?

Room Tip: We stayed in Narrabeen which had a lovely sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaGWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear AmandaGWard,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to post it here on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had such a good time with us and that you got some very important "me time" in.

Fantastic to hear that you are booked in to return soon, so we look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet in June!!

Kind regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The hotel itself is on the dated side of things but any issue with the age of the building is made up for by the brilliant staff and great facilities.

It's not the easiest thing in the world to find somewhere that caters for children and yet still gives a chance for the adults to relax. Moonfleet works on both counts with highlights being the play barn and the listening service that allows parents to have a great meal with the little ones being listened out for by the receptionist.

The staff were great, with nothing being too much trouble. I'm certain we will be back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Jabie,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a good stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet in the near future.

Kind regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotswolds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Oh yes its as good as the newspaper reviews say it is! Food great staff great location great. Prices based on notting hill budgets .but hey you only have two childhoods and just bounce the school fees cheque next term.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vonessenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear vonessenfan,

Thank you so much for coming to see us and for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are all so pleased to hear that you had such a good time with us and really look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet in the very near future.

Kind regards

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We went to Moonfleet Manor to celebrate two big birthdays for a weekend in February. We had a fantastic time. The food was amazing and the service was great. Everything was set up to have a great time with kids and then some quality child free time too. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiematthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear susiematthews,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor and for choosing to come to Moonfleet.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly when there are multiple celebrations! We were particularly priviledged to be given the responsibility and opportunity to live up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet in the near future - who's birthday is it next??!!

Kind regards

Neil

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
3.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
3.9 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
267 reviews
5.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
467 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
437 reviews
15.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonfleet Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonfleet Manor Hotel

Property: Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Address: Fleet Road, Weymouth DT3 4ED, England (Formerly Moonfleet Manor & Sports Resort)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonfleet Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moonfleet Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonfleet Manor And Sports Resort
Moonfleet Manor & Sports Hotel Weymouth
Hotel Moonfleet Manor Sports
Moonfleet Manor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing