We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Team of staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have just come back from a three night stay with our 4 and 6 year old. We went two years ago so knew we could expect true relaxation and quality family time. We were not disappointed. We recognised many of the staff from the previous visit - which tells me there is investment in the team and it must be a nice place to work! (Well done to the managers who make this so). The main hotel is beautiful and inviting. The pool and garden are just perfect for families (including the adults!) and the setting quite unmatched for serenity and a taste of the sea.
The food was all wonderful - but I was slightly disappointed that the chocie for children was a little typical (burger/fishfingers/bolognese/sausage) and unvaried which was problematic over three nights. Similarly, the adult dining was delicious and wonderfully presented...but I would have liked the menu to change over three nights.
The room we were in this time was very tired (unlike our last visit) and the intention to have fashionably shabby furtniture was lost as much of it was broken, the carpets were dirty and the lovely kingsize bed devoid of a headboard, which meant we couldn't sit in bed and read or watch the sun go down over the sea. Thus, the amazing, happy and child-interested team, fantastic food and facilities which make the pricing resonable, were slightly over-shadowed by the lack of attention to detail and luxury extras one should expect in the bedrooms.
we would love to return though given that we have not experienced such a family-friendly slice of (almost) luxury where everyone makes you feel as if nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Lisa S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. It is always great to hear our guests feedback and even more so from returning guests, as there are direct comparisons to be made from the previous visit.

I am delighted that our team took great care of you once again and I will take onboard your other comments. We are expecting to be able to refurbish certain rooms, this year so please do keep an eye on our facebook page for updates.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet again in the near future.

Kind regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have stayed here twice recently. So remotely and peacefully located by the sea, yet just a quarter of an hour from the bustling town of Weymouth. We found the place to be clean and comfortable with lots of charm. The newer room we had came with a little balcony from which we could see the sea. The room was a bit small, and we did not like the porthole in the bathroom door. That said, the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. On our second visit we stayed in a room on the top floor of the old house. This was very generous in size and had antique furniture and a very large bathroom. Again, a blissfully comfortable bed with the best quality cotton bed linen.

The restaurant is spacious and both breakfast and dinner were of a very high standard. In fact, the breakfast in both quality and choice is one of the best we have ever come across. Service at dinner is a bit slow, but the presentation and standard of cooking are excellent. As much as possible ingredients are locally sourced and are notably fresh. Our main complaint is that the portions were so generous it was a struggle to get through three courses!

This place markets itself as child-friendly, which it certainly is. The exterior of the old house is a bit shabby and in need of redecorating, and the gardens have only minimal maintenance. Dead plants from previous years did nothing for the flower pots. Despite having plenty of land, nothing appears to be grown for use in the kitchen. There is room to keep some chickens, which I am sure visiting children would love to see. That said, what was probably an old coach house has been very impressively restored recently. The inside of the hotel has plenty of interesting furniture etc. to look at, and the old cinema and railway posters in the corridors were fascinating. The lounge areas are delightful and hark back to old colonial times. And then there is Snoopy, who is very friendly and behaves as though he is the proprietor.

All in all a very pleasant, comfortable and interesting place to stay and unwind. Delightfully different from the bland, over-modernised hotels which are the norm these days.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old house are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quixwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Quixwood,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our food so much! Thank you for the compliments, our Kitchen brigade will be delighted to hear it.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet in the very future.

Kind regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have stayed here twice and really love the atmosphere and attitude towards kids. Lots to do for little ones, including a great indoor playroom and games room - it's vast! The kids love the freedom and gardens. Kids club is ok - our kids seemed happy enough there and did nice little craft activities. Restaurant produced good food. Half board not really worth it though, will do b&b next time and order from bistro menu. Breakfast is wonderful.

One thing I wish for is direct access to chesil beach. It is so near yet so far. It is a pity they can't lay on a boat to take you over every hour or so...would avoid having to get in the car to get to a beach.

Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Austin great for families. In adjacent coach house, with seclusion and a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Gillbod,

Thank you for taking time to post a review on Tripadvisor and for trusting us with a return visit! I am so pleased that you had such a great stay with us again.

Keep an eye on our facebook page this Autumn for refurbishment updates and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet in the very near future.

Kind regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just back from a first time visit to Moonfleet. We'd had it recommended to us through word of mouth as a great place to visit for a young family. We weren't disappointed. From the time we arrived Friday evening through to departure on Sunday afternoon we all felt as if we'd escaped to a holiday idyll. If you wanted solitude this could be found in any number of places within the hotel while activites for the children were plentiful and varied. The service is both friendly and first class. We didn't want for anything. Our daugher, 6, had a great time and was spoilt for choice for activities. Swimming, play areas, the Verandah, the early evening film club, her days were full, fun and tiring! That's even before you start to explore the quite stunning scenery and backdrop to Moonfleet. For the Dad's a room was set aside away from the main hotel for the late evening World Cup games where they could share the collective disappointment of England's defeat to Italy. Handily, the bar staff ran a drink's delivery service that was much appreciated given the outcome! And this captured the essence of the weekend. The service delivered by the Hotel's staff was quite simply superb, from Reception, Housekeeping and the Dining Room staff. As an example. upon our first visit to the Restaurant on Friday evening Manuel, the sommelier, ably assisted some weary travellers with explanations of the local ales and extensive wine list options, and the food was fantastic too. One final little touch of note. The hotel staff produce a daily newsletter "The Moonfleet Times". It's full of relevant information for your stay and handy hints on activities within the hotel and outside in the local area. You just have to find the time to read it as there's so much to do.

Room Tip: The Mahune has great views over the fleet and the playing areas. It's a very large, high ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank si4p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear si4p,

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are so pleased that you had such a great time and my team will be so pleased to hear that their efforts are so warmly appreciated.

Do come back soon!!

Kind regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent 3 nights at Moonfleet Manor and had a great time. Despite it raining off and on everyday, there was still loads to do with our 2 year old. The indoor pools are small but perfect for splashing and playing with the floats. The indoor playroom or Verandah was brilliant for really running about and burning energy and the crèche (4 Bears Den) was there for when we needed it. Plus the big garden, the children's mealtimes, rooms were all just right.

However the biggest thing going for it was the staff. Moonfleet have obviously really invested in their staff; there were lots of them and all really helpful and very welcoming to the kids. I cant speak highly enough about them.

We went during term time which meant all the other families had under 5's, so they could all play together and it also meant that all the kids were in bed by 7:30pm. We also got a 3 for 2 type deal which made it very reasonable considering.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JensHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear JensHoliday,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and my team will be so pleased to hear that their considerable efforts are so warmly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet in the very near future.

Kind regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed 1 night at Moonfleet Manor & wished that I had booked for longer. I loved the quirky, theatrical decor - full of eccentric objet d'art - best described as comfy faded glamour! My room had a huge bed & a view to die for over Fleet lagoon - even more magical at night when the moon was over the water! The staff are very friendly and helpful. I have eaten at some of the finest restaurants and I have to compliment the chef as the food really was fabulous - first class. The sommelier was very knowledgeable & helpful. The terrace is a great place to sit & enjoy a drink or a cream tea. It's clear that one of the great strengths of the hotel is that it's so geared up for families with children but that didn't affect my enjoyment of the place even though I was travelling on my own, probably because it was term time and there were only very young children there, all clearly having a wonderful time, and my room was very quiet at night. The coastal walks from the end of the hotel garden are really wonderful and the air was the best I have ever experienced. The Spa is excellent although the building it's housed in is not the most attractive, but inside it's lovely. I had the "Dream Escape" which was 90mins of sheer indulgence. I understand the hotel is planning a bit of a makeover in the autumn/winter and that's great, as long as they don't take away the character, and don't change the chef!! I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulietS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear JulietS123,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor and letting us know of your recent experience at Moonfleet. We are all totally thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, even though it was so brief.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Moonfleet (for a longer stay!) in the not to distant future.

Kind regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed in the old part of the manor in a wonderful family type room/suite. There was a double bedroom, adjoining large bathroom ans second bedroom/lounge. The reception said it was the best room and I thought they might tell everyone that but then maybe not! Lots of dark old furniture that was suitably full of character. I heard no old sea dogs in the corridor that night but really should have! Can't rate this place high enough. Lovely food in the restaurant too but this did lack the atmosphere of the older part of the building. Please note my stay was some time ago but I doubt much has changed.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the old house for character and size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandgirl1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C, General Manager at Moonfleet Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear islandgirl1958,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. It is so important for the team to hear that their considerable efforts are so well appreciated that comments such as yours are worth their weight in gold!

We hope to welcome you back to Moonfleet in the very near future.

Kind regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
3.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
3.9 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
283 reviews
5.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
19 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
490 reviews
15.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonfleet Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonfleet Manor Hotel

Address: Fleet Road, Weymouth DT3 4ED, England (Formerly Moonfleet Manor & Sports Resort)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: £113 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonfleet Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moonfleet Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonfleet Manor And Sports Resort
Moonfleet Manor & Sports Hotel Weymouth
Hotel Moonfleet Manor Sports
Moonfleet Manor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing