We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic break - didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Regency House Hotel
Ranked #80 of 163 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Burnley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic break - didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have recently been on a short break to Weymouth and I was a bit sceptical about the place as you think of it as being for "old folk" but I had nothing to worry what so ever it is a great place to go and so much to do and see.

I came across Regency House on Late Rooms but rang them about parking first and Glyn (the owner) took my booking over the phone rather than me messing about. He explained about parking and that there wasn't any in front of the hotel from 10am to 6pm but after that you can park if there is a space. There is parking 5 min's walk away which wasn't a problem for us.

The hotel itself is cute and is in a most fabulous position towards the end of the Esplanade right on the beach. We had room 9 which was the attic room with a sea view. Fair enough it was at the top of the building and a few stairs to climb but it was very comfortable, very clean and very quiet. It had a double and a single, 2 bedside cabinets, TV, Sink, chest of drawers and a wardrobe so not a small room. Plenty of space for me, hubby and my 2 year old. It wasn't En Suite which Glyn explained but we had the bathroom to ourselves anyway so didn't really matter. Fresh towels everyday and room tidied. A drinks tray also with tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits. Breakfast was very very good, could basically have what ever you wanted and Glyn being front of house could not do enough for you.

He even organised a little treat at breakfast one morning for us as it was our wedding anniversary.

We were out for the day everyday with lots of local places to see that are gorgeous. Lulworth Cove is a must visit as is Lyme Regis, Portland Bill and Poole if you want to travel a little.

A big thank you to Glyn and Carol for making our stay fabulous. We will defo be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, its worth listening to sea while you fall asleep..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwiggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here bank holiday weekend with our three year old daughter and my partners parents. We were looking for a nice, clean base for a short family break with-in a short walk of Weymouth. I can honestly say that that the Regency House Hotel exceeded our expectations of what we wanted. The parking really is not a problem. After unloading with no issues Glyn the owner printed us of a map and showed us where we could park at no charge with-in a 5-10 minute walk. We managed to find a safe a secure car parking space for both cars within minutes (and on a bank holiday). Glyn and his wife were excellent hosts and were very helpful in providing us with recommendations on where to eat and even storing our daughters milk for us. We had the family room at the top of the hotel which had the most fantasic sea view. The sound of the waves was very relaxing and made for a very good nights sleep. The room was clean and smelled fresh as did the bathroom which was located on the floor below (I think we had exclusive use of this) My in laws had a very nice en-suite room on the floor below also.
The breakfast was excellent made with good quality ingredients and there was plenty of it, the owners were also obliging to any special requests. The hotel is located about 10 minutes away from town in a nice quiet area away from the husstle and busstle. Nothing negitive to say really and we will definately be back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauldbarnett75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 night in July with our 2 year old son. And would defiantly recommend it, great hosts providing all we needed for our stay with our little one. Good clean room with an amazing sea view. Could not fault breakfast, plenty of it. We will be going back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and were very pleased we chose this hotel as its right on the seafront and was great value for money. I was initially worried about the lack of parking but needn't have worried as you can park on the road outside for free from 6pm until 10am. The breakfast was great and the room was clean, we had fresh towels and the bed made daily. Also free wifi!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We came here on 19/7/13 till the 22/7/13. We were greeted by the owner who was a lovely, welcoming man. He showed us to our room and informed us when breakfast was. The breakfast was amazing! Lovely mushrooms, 2 bits of bacon, sausage, beans, hash browns, grilled tomato and fried egg! Great way to start the day not to mention the lovely view looking out to the sea whilst you eat! The bed was comfy and the room was cleaned daily. Maybe for future improvements to upgrade the TV so it can play DVD's etc. Myself and my boyfriend had to leave early on the 22/7/13 so we asked the owner of the hotel if they would cook us breakfast 15 minutes earlier so we could have enough time to eat and get to our coach on time. They agreed to this which just shows that they will go that extra mile to make your stay more enjoyable. Well worth the money! We come to weymouth yearly and will definitely look at staying here again next year! Thank you Regency House!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weinfelden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Super location. You feel and hear the brezze of the water. Only little blind alley for the cars. Very nice host with friendly service. Breakfast on demand. Room was small, but clean and nice. Walking distance to town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Werner F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just spent a lovely long weekend here with friends. Although the room was not that big it was adequate and clean for what we needed. An added bonus was you could smell the freshness in the bed linen which I find a lot of places you can`t. Glyn was a great host and although we didn`t see his wife Carol much she cooked a lovely breakfast. Ideal for walking to the shops and harbour and straight opposite the beach. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#26 of 163 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.6 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
4.1 mi away
Pump Cottage
Pump Cottage
#1 of 3 in Upwey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency House Hotel

Property: Regency House Hotel
Address: Hotel 13 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Regency House Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing