We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but in need of an update” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyndale Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyndale Guest House
Ranked #120 of 170 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great location but in need of an update”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

Overall could not fault the service breakfast or location right on the seafront. The owners were welcoming but the hotel is in need of updating carpets and general decor is tired. The room was adequate bed comfortable but the bathroom although en-suite was extremely cramped. For an overnight stay it was fine as I had just finished walking the coastal path but for a longer stay i would look for something a little more upmarket

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r1chard311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We booked this and wee very pleased. The welcome was good. We booked two rooms! A twin at the back and a double at the front. We were pleased with both. Our double overlooked the lovely beach on the quiet side of Weymouth bay. If you want peace and quiet with the sound of the seq, book here. It was great value. The room was as described. Clean and comfortable. Big sash windows for plenty of fresh air. The only down side was you need to run the shower for ages before hot water comes, but be persistent. It wasn't a problem.
If I was returning to Weymouth, I would definitely book here again, and that says it all to me.

Room Tip: Book the double or family room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shropshirelass66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed one night in a double room with fantastic sea view. Could hear the sound of the wave and smelled the sea. Very close to the beach, but not the best part of whole beach. The more west part (if face to the guest house) was much better, as there were soft sands and more facilities. The room was nice, clean and stylish, the bed was very comfortable, just the bathroom was quite small. The breakfast was a bit too early for us which was 8.00-8.30 so unfortunately we missed it. The owner was friendly and kind but just seemed not smiling too much.

Room Tip: Of course you would want a room with the fabulous sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyHNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

stayed here for 1 night in June with husband, rooms very basic, need updating, the rooms were clean, bathroom very small. Went down for breakfast around 8.40AM breakfast was ordered and came out pretty quick, started to eat breakfast to find several hairs in the egg and beans, so didnt eat it,the toast was brought out around 10 minutes later which was cold then around 5 minutes later the butter came out for the toast.

Would of been an alright stay as the rooms were clean if only the breakfast was good and hairless!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank char4204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at the Lyndale for one night and we really enjoyed our stay. The Lyndale is situated in a little side street right next to the beach of Lyndale and we loved the fact that we could sleep with our window open listening to the sound of the waves. From the hotel it is about 5 minutes to the center of the harbour and to the restaurants, so we could do a nice walk in the evening as well as before the very good breakfast. We really loved staying at the Lyndale Guest House.
Finding a parking space is a bit difficult, but that is the only drawback

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanonHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed at the Lyndale Guest House in the summer for one night prior to an early ferry crossing to Jersey. The hosts were very considerate of our early start and provided my young son with some cereal and milk in our room so that he could have something to eat before we headed to the port at 5am! We had our two dogs with us which posed no problem at all, in fact we felt very welcome indeed. Our room was glorious, on the top floor with two sash windows directly overlooking the shingle beach, it was a warm evening so lying on the bed with the windows opened listening to the sea ...... We could have been on the beach! The one down side was that the dogs weren't allowed on the beach directly in front of the guest house, however our helpful hosts were able to advise us of a suitable alternative. The guest house is situated on a no through road where parking is permitted overnight. We were lucky and managed to get a space almost right outside, but I think this might be an issue during peak season, although there was other parking further up the road only a short walk away. We would most certainly recommend this guest house and will definitely book another night prior tour next trip to The Channel Islands!

Room Tip: Family room over looking the beach and sea was peaceful with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BristolLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My partner and myself and our uncle stayed here for just the night,It is in a perfect location and very quiet,they have rooms with sea views, we had a very warm welcome,we were showed to our rooms,we had a double and it was very comfortable,we went for a lovely stroll in the evening along the beach, We had breakfast a full english which was served at 8-30 and was lovely,we are in the process of planning our next break away and will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Not suitable for disabled as no ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debyju9410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
A Maiden Rest
A Maiden Rest
#55 of 170 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Horizon Guest House
Horizon Guest House
#13 of 21 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redcliff B&B Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House
Sunnyside Guest House
#118 of 170 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#4 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seasons Guest House
Seasons Guest House
#94 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndale Guest House

Property: Lyndale Guest House
Address: 17 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lyndale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyndale Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing