We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Cosy, an Excellent Location and a Lovely Couple”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cavendish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cavendish House
Ranked #73 of 163 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Cosy, an Excellent Location and a Lovely Couple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

A really cosy traditional B&B in an excellent location run by a lovely couple (Mike & Teresa) who couldn't help you enough. We have stayed 4 times now over the past 5 years and will definitely be returning on our next visit to the coast.

Room Tip: Most rooms have good views across the bay, but we really liked the ones at the back looking at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant_C2256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed for two nights over August bank holiday weekend. Picked Cavendish House because of location and was not disappointed, we overlooked the beach which was just across the road. If you are looking for a modern 'swanky' hotel this is not for you. It is a traditional seaside guest house that is clean and comfortable. Teresa was very friendly and welcoming and loaned us a car parking permit which was much appreciated. Lovely breakfast to start the day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wnehpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We had a great time at the Cavendish for the last weekend of the Olympics. Ideally situated for both beach and harbour. Friendly owner and a good breakfast. Teresa was very friendly and knowledgable. We will be returning very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryRaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Cavendish on several occasions. Theresa and Mike are great hosts in every respect. The rooms are very clean with the best views in England, over Weymouth bay all have private en suite. We fell that we can almost touch the beach from your room its that close right on the ESPLANADE. Mikes breakfast is 5 star really sets you up for the day.The stress of parking is taken away as the hotel loan you a free parking permit for duration of your stay. We parked in the slip road outside the front door under our room. Having use a number of guest houses and hotels in Weymouth over the years Cavendish House scores ten out of ten the best in Weymouth.

Room Tip: Go for Room 1 best in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We had 2 very nights stay last week - helped by being lucky with the weather

Our room (2) had great views over the beach, it was comfortable and clean

Mike and Teressa were very nice and friendly

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racing34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This B&B has got to be one of the best in country. A warm welcome and the accommodation was great for the money. The value was of course the view that came with the room, it was to die for, we were in room 1. So get room 1 or 2 as they are the biggest rooms that over look the promenade (or Esplanade as its called in Weymouth). The landlords Mike and Theresa were great. Please see attached pictures for the view.

The B&B is located in a very fortunate part as everything , including the Harbour, is close walking distance and if you get tired simply retire to your room for a bit and relax whilst taking in the view from your window.

However one problem, for those of you coming by car, is parking. The B&B issue you with a parking permit, but most of the spaces within the vicinity of the B&B, (its known as parking zone 'F'), tend to be permanently parked up mainly either by residents who have full time permits displayed in their windows or visitors with the visitors permit displayed on the dash board.

Initially we had to park in the pay and display some 100m down the road along what’s called the pleasure pier, which was quite pricey (see photo of parking charges attached). Later on we were lucky enough to come across a chap who just happened to be leaving and he kindly agreed to wait until we brought the car around for us to drive into his space just as he drove away from it. After that we could relax and enjoy our stay as the car was then parked for the duration without the heart ache of having to remember to go back and feed the meter. Therefore be aware it is likely you'll run into difficulties parking the car and its down to sheer luck and time until you spot a space nearby - but don’t be disheartened as you will hopefully get parked within a few hours after arrival.

To conclude its a great place and we will be going back there, but probably by coach next time. All the best.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milesfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Fantastic place to stay, building is in a really great location, best one of where I have stayed in the whole of Weymouth. Lovely clean rooms, excellent breakfast. Very friendly owners. Could not ask for a better home from home.
Would highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: You get a choice of beach or harbour view, all rooms are en suite. Go for room 1 or 2 if not already...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cavendale
The Cavendale
#101 of 163 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach View Guesthouse
Beach View Guesthouse
#36 of 163 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#25 of 163 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aaran Guesthouse
Aaran Guesthouse
#58 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weymouth Sands Guest House
Weymouth Sands Guest House
#84 of 163 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seacrest Guest House
Seacrest Guest House
#71 of 163 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish House

Property: Cavendish House
Address: 6 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Bed and breakfast establishment with single ,double and family rooms available ,all ensuite with either sea views or views over the harbour . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cavendish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing