We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, lots of rules no one seems to follow”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Not bad, lots of rules no one seems to follow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just got back from a weeks camping here, it was ok but I wasn't blown away. Before we went we had looked at their website and read the site rules which seemed very strict so we were looking forwards to a quiet week on a well behaved camp site, however despite all the rules it wasn't much different to most camp sites. Our neighbours were very noisy but hardly the kind of people you could reason with, thankfully they were out most of the day but they sure made their presence made each morning and evening. I didn't feel I should have to complain about them but rather the site staff should have had a word with them, however perhaps I am being unreasonable to expect them to make sure people are sticking to the riles rather than relying on people to make complaints?

The website said that large groups were not aloud however there was lots of large groups that were clearly all together and caused more noise than everyone else put together. It also promised total silence from 11pm till 8am and as much as it went quiet at 11pm it was mostly 6-7am when it started being too noisy to sleep, most mornings this was cause by the cleaning staff (albeit cleaning up the mess left by inconsiderate campers at the washing up sinks) but I don't think they needed to be cleaning at 6am?

Its quite a large site and unless you have booked a electric pitch (which we had) you can pick where you want to be and there are quiet fields but these are much further from the amenities. Although there are 2 toilet blocks they are right next to each other and I think a good improvement would be a small block up the top end.

we were closer to the older toilet block and had no issues with either, I preferred the showers in the newer block but there was nothing wrong with either and there was lots of hot water in both blocks. The site is generally quite sheltered and some parts have good sea views although it is further from the sea than we thought it would be. The pitches with electric are marked and I would say worth booking due to the guaranteed size of the pitch and your not going to get someone come and pitch too close to you.

The pool was heated, I specifically found the heating in let to try and keep warm as the pool was cold, we only managed to stay in for 20 minuets before it was too cold and we had to get out. The pool was another area no one seemed to stick to the rules, no bombing or diving but there was loads of kids doing both, one day someone came and blew a whistle and told all the kids to stop and get out if they didn't have an adult with them but this was the only time I saw this happen. Other than being cold busy and a bit unruly the pool area was good with showers toilets and sheltered areas, could just do with being manned and warmer!

The shop had most things you could need for a camping holiday and the bar although being quite expensive wasn't bad, again it was aimed at campers for all weather situations, don't expect the ritz or harrods. The shop isnt bad value but the bar is much more expensive, an example if 65p in the shop for a double decker 90p in the bar, yes I know they have staff and bills to pay but that is some mark up!

I used the site wifi a few days as there was virtually no phone signal on our pitch, the wifi its self was not bad, £1 for an hour or £3 for 24 hours and I was getting about 1mb/sec enough to use catch up tv or sky go without too much problems.

Over all a good base for exploring the local area, some of the site is sloped so best to make sure you pick your pitch wisely and like we noticed some people doing move if you can, especially if your neighbours are Neanderthals.

Room Tip: if your on a electric pitch they are allocated but I guess you could ask to move if they have the sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil-and-suz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thanks for your comments. We apologize if other customers made your stay less enjoyable than you would have liked. The park is patrolled regularly at night and anyone considered to be making too much noise is reminded verbally that they may be disturbing other customers. If they continue being noisy they will be given a written reminder of our customers' expectations. If that fails, they will be required to leave. West Fleet is a family park and young children and babies can sometimes cry at night. Most of our customers expect and accept that. The cleaning team work very hard to ensure that all the facilities are gleaming and ready for use at peak times, such as last thing at night and first thing in the morning. Inevitably this means working before customers are up and using the facilities. The "clean team" do this every day and we have received no other complaint that they are noisy. The main toilet and shower facilities are centrally located (there is a third set near the shop and bar) so that no pitch is more than a short walk from the toilets and showers. The vast majority of our customers say how much they have enjoyed their stay. Inevitably there is a balance to be struck between having too many rules in the eyes of some and too few in the eyes of others. At the moment, we feel we have the balance about right, with less than 1 per cent of our customers requiring any reminder about noise at night and an even smaller percentage making any complaint about noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    53
    19
    8
    19
See reviews for
116
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We've just got back from a long weekend and to be honest there's nothing majorly wrong with this site but there's also nothing too great about it either.

Good points were the size of the pitches which were well sheltered and level, along with a decent size play area.

The bad points were the old shower blocks, which struggle to provide a hot shower, limited hair drying (my wife's issue not mine), a poor site shop and a bar/entertainment area that all seemed a bit tacky.

We usually camp in Cornwall but wanted to try somewhere different, I have to say we'll be going back to our old haunts again as this really was even close to the quality and standards we have been used to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Caq73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrish, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We visited WestFleet with friends and had a great time. The pitches are large and flat and the shower and toilet blocks are very clean even in the height of the season. We used the old shower block to avoid the crowds and this was also exceptionally clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ_Florida2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We took our 3 children here for a week, the pitches were big, plenty of room for the kids to play, has nice park & field for kite flying & football, everywhere was really clean, toilets & showers were busy in the mornings but always warm & spotless. Whole site had a really good vibe, We will be going back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beck678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just returned from a week at this site and I would not recommend it! We only chose this site for the HEATED swimming pool - well it is cold so don't bother. I raised this with staff and was told that 27 degrees is the highest temp the chemicals work at and they have never had a complaint before! I talked to some others and they agreed it was cold, my complaint was not well received by staff onsite - there was no apology and I was immediately offered a refund - this is not how you handle disgruntled customers! There was no welcome to our site speel when we booked in, not even a 'how was your journey?' and when my partner went to report that a sink was blocked he was not even thanked. This is not a cheap site either at £31 a night for 4 and a dog when I pointed this out to the lady on reception, she said 'Go down the road and you will pay £45 per night' - nice! Also the showers were luke warm and on a button - you get 15 -27 seconds so have to learn to shower onehanded whilst you hold the button in! On the positive the pitches were large and level and the site has some pretty dry stone walls. This site has been over sold by other reveiwers and I know there are much better ones in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jill l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
The swimming pool at West Fleet is heated in two ways, by a gas boiler and an eco-friendly heat exchanger. At the time of this visit the pool was operating at 27.5 degrees Centigrade. The recommended safe MAXIMUM temperature for a pool of this type is 29 degrees Centigrade. The sea temperature at this time is about 16 degrees Centigrade (some 11 degrees colder than the West Fleet pool) and we note that this is well-frequented by children of all ages and adults. As our qualified pool technician explained, quite correctly, the chemicals used to keep pools and their filters free from harmful bacteria have an optimum safe operating temperature range. British Swimming state in their guidance on safe operating temperatures for pools that there is a ceiling on “pool water temperature to prevent the proliferation of bacteria, as micro-organisms multiply faster (up to twice as fast for a rise of 10°C) which means that the filters are increasingly likely to be colonised. Additionally the warmer the pool water the less effective the chlorine based disinfectants are. For these reasons the industry has attempted to self-regulate and the Pool Water Technical Advisory Group (PWTAG) supported by its member organisations including the Amateur Swimming Association publish a guideline of recommended maximum pool water temperatures for specific swimming activities.” The pool at West Fleet is a popular attraction with our visitors and has been busy throughout the summer. For the safety and comfort of all our customers we keep the pool within the safe operating temperature range. To date this summer, we have received one complaint about the pool temperature. The park and its staff do their best to accommodate any reasonable request, but, having provided a true and factual explanation, should not expect to be harangued, threatened with “negative reviews” or otherwise coerced into providing discounts or free goods or services. We are also pleased to confirm that the park and all its facilities (including shower blocks) were inspected again this year by an independent third party inspector for the AA and found to be fully compliant with the AA’s three pennant rating at an increased confidence level of 90 per cent. The new facilities block is of an even higher standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We returned home from West Fleet Campsite today, in all there were 18 members in our group (10 adults and 8 kids aged from 2-12). For some of the party this was a first time camp, for others this was the 24th year on the site.
We all love this site, yes, there is a bond to pay for groups and there are rules but they are clearly for the benefit of everyone.
I don't think the rules are too difficult to follow or excessive, 11pm is a reasonable time to be quiet and honestly, non of our group saw past 10pm on most nights.

The toilet and shower facilities are super clean, there are queues at busy times but usually no more than 20/30 minutes.
The pool is clean and secure so little people can't break in.

The bar in the barn was rebuilt in 2010/2011 and it is so much better, the burgers are the best I've ever tasted.

All 18 of us will be there again next year, and we cannot wait.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank winnall83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

West Fleet Farm is situated in the middle of nowhere about four miles from Weymouth. There are no signs for the campsite except a little brown tent sign on the roundabout to the private road.
The campsite was clean and tidy on arrival.
There is a nice open air swimming pool, make sure you book when there is sun as the pool gets chilly. There is a nice sized bar with a stage.
The main toilet block is big, but there needs to be more shower cubicles and toilets. The bonus is that there are a number of family bathrooms available - which is nice.
The downside - The staff make swimming in the pool feel like a Nazi concentration camp there are more rules than an average day at The Hague, and you're being watched on CCTV by the Obersturmführer who hate you having any fun with balls or any inflatables even if they are to hold little children in to float, if its that much of a problem employ a lifeguard.
The bar food was also terrible and very overpriced - I asked for fish and chips and I got a plate of chips with a piddly little bit of fish which looked like it came from Iceland. The kids meal was a small plate of chips and one sausage.
The shop was stocked with everything but fresh food and when asked if there was any chicken was promptly told that 'Why would you want something healthy on holiday?'. Unfortunately this says it all, when one person complained about something they were indifferent to the point that threats to complain on twitter was met with laughter - I was in the shop at the time.
Its a shame because this goes to show the mentality and the fact they don't care about customer service.
If the holiday farm monitors this site please leave a reply and I will forward you my email address.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thousands of visitors each year easily find and enjoy staying at West Fleet Farm. Use of the pool is subject to the rules stated on entry and provided to all customers on arrival. The rules are fairly standard and there to protect the safety of all users. They include a ban on large inflatables and ball games and the prohibition of diving, bombing and running on the poolside. Normal swimming aids are permitted. These are common sense rules which apply to most public pools. As with any such facility, where people are unable to use the pool safely and with due consideration for other users, they will be required to leave the pool. Interestingly, we receive more complaints from customers about other pool users than we get about us asking people to stick to the conditions of use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
2.2 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in West Bexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
2.2 mi away
Higher Moor Farm
Higher Moor Farm
#1 of 22 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.7 mi away
Swallows Rest
Swallows Rest
#22 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite

Property: West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite
Address: Fleet, Weymouth DT3 4EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Weymouth
Also Known As:
West Fleet Holiday Farm Campsite Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing