We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Marden Guest House
Ranked #78 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Our welcome was very warm and we were offered a pot of tea when we arrived. We stayed two nights in a very comfortable quiet room where the origami towels impressed us. The breakfast were perfect, both the full English and the more healthy option we chose on the second morning. This Guest House is within easy walking distance of the town centre and beach. We heartily recommend this location and will genuinely be revisiting.
Mick&Betty

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed at the Marden March 2013 for a weekend retreat,Jan and Gary are a super couple who can't be faultered with their welcoming company and great hospitality. Their breakfasts are delicious and the room was lovely and cosy.The hotel is only a ten minute walk away the town centre with its abundant shops and pubs.We took advantage of the lovely walks in the nearby Dorchester.We would heartily recommend this guest house for its quiet location and would genuinely visit again given the chance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amethyst65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I am a contractor, all my guys use the Marden and don't want to go anywhere else, the food is outstanding, The rooms are comfortable and warm, we are a London based company but anytime we are in the south we will always use the Marden

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoadyStill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I stayed at the Marden in Sept 2012 with my Partner we wanted to stay somewhere while visiting family, we could not have choosen better.
Gary and Jan are a lovely couple and make you feel very welcome nothing is to much trouble, you are greeted with a smile and a cuppa on your arrival which was very welcome after a long journey.
The breakfast was well cooked and plentiful, full English, cereal, toast you wont be hungry when you leave.
Rooms are clean and welcoming all with en-suite facilities. The Marden has a good central location for the Town and the Marina and is only a short stroll away from the sea.
Next time we visit Weymouth we will definately stay at the Marden Guest House again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaybear9029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at Marden House for the Olympic Sailing as part of London 2012 and were glad to find such a fantastic guest house. Its location is perfect for both the town, beach and quay. Gary and Jan were very accomodating with our parking requirements and being offered fresh beverages on arrival was a welcome and hospitable gesture. Our room was clean, had everything you needed and our hosts were keen to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was of a very high standard with a full and varied choice of quality continental items and a superior and generously sized cooked breakfast. We have stayed at Weymouth many times, but find the Marden House excels all others by the friendly attitude and welcome given by the owners. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here next time and highly recommend this top quality establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripRaterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan D, Owner at The Marden Guest House, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Have just returned from a short break in Weymouth for the Olympics sailing, the marden proved to be an ideal base. The rooms were clean and provided all you would need. Jan and Gary are very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was plentiful and nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dottyp1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#71 of 165 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Florian Guest House
Florian Guest House
#90 of 165 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Court
Palm Court
#63 of 165 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Preecelands
#119 of 165 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greenwood Guest House
Greenwood Guest House
#31 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barnes's Rest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marden Guest House

Property: The Marden Guest House
Address: 8 Abbotsbury Road, Weymouth DT4 0AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Marden Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing