We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"well worth a visit"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Marden Guest House
Ranked #92 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First visit to the Marden, a very warm welcome when we arrived , Jan & Gary couldn't have been more helpful.. We was a group of 8 staying down Weymouth for a 2 days fishing on one of the charter boats, When we was asked what time we wanted breakfast, we asked if 6am would be possible "certainly not a problem" was the answer straight away... A very clean ,friendly and homely place to stay with a good breakfast ... Look forward to returning in October hopefully ...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Myself and seven other keen anglers who were down in Weymouth stayed in this fantastic guest house for three nights whilst we had a couple of day trips out wreck fishing with the Katie Anne.
The couple who run the guest house are incredibly welcoming and the whole stay was excellent.
We had tea, coffee or beer offered on arrival and return to the B&B each day!
The rooms are a lovely size, exceptionally clean and tidy and everything cleaned and attended to each day.
I can highly recommend this to anyone but especially anglers who need a VERY early breakfast before a busy day's boat or beach fishing.
I own a fishing tackle shop and will certainly be recommending this to all my customers who travel down to this very popular venue for fishing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HookedTackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Back to the Marden for our first visit of 2014 & if anything, it was even better than the 2013 version. Gary has spent the winter months refurbishing room 4, which we normally have, not that it really needed it. However, the bathroom in particular is much improved with new shower, sink unit & WC. Somehow it now feels bigger. The rest of the room has now been redecorated too. First class breakfast as always, another splendid packed lunch for our day afloat & cheery hosts - what more can you ask for. The best place we have ever stayed at in Weymouth; and that includes a couple of the 'proper' hotels. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed with Jan & Gary whilst working in Weymouth. What a wonderful couple who made me feel so very welcome and provided a fresh pot of tea everytime I came through the door!! Jan even got up especially early when I had an early start to the day to make sure I had a good breakfast before I left. Nothing was too much trouble. A fabulous couple who have paid such attention to detail in this charming B&B. The room was spotless and had a beautiful ensuite with everything you needed in the room to be comfy cosy. B&B's don't come any better than this!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilliediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

A very pleasant stay warm welcome jan and Gary made us feel very welcome clean room very comfortable bed parking was ok
Breakfast plentiful and delicious no early get up for breakfast so a lie in was great.
Will recommend to all my friends if going to Weymouth will defently stay again

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Another excellent visit to the Marden. As with my previous visit, all was absolutely spot-on. A comfortable night's kip followed by an excellent breakfast to set me up for a day's fishing. Jan again provided a good packed lunch to my requirements & as usual, she & Gary proved to be charming hosts.I shall be returning for several more visits in 2014.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

just returned from my second stay at the marden.
use this guest house when down with a group of fellow anglers.
on both occassions jan and garry treat you like friends not paying guests.
nothing is to much trouble for them.
breakfasts are youre chioce freshly cooked and hot. early starts are ok with them not like some in weymouth where they dont bother before it suits them.
packed lunches brillient value and again youre choice.
rooms spotless and well equipped.
well done to both jan and garry.
see you both again very soon.
philip

Room Tip: no need all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.3 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
148 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#83 of 166 in Weymouth
68 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pump Cottage
Pump Cottage
#1 of 3 in Upwey
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marden Guest House

Address: 8 Abbotsbury Road, Weymouth DT4 0AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: £73 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Marden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marden Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing