We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Prince Regent
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“what a disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We went here on Late Rooms for the purpose of meeting up with some friends for the weekend. When we arrived the room seemed nice and large and bright with a lovely sea view. What a shock when you got into the nitty gritty. Here is a list. Shower door hanging of, one sink blocked, the other sink the tap was loose, remote for tv didn't work, lipstick on a cup, no phone in room, broken umbrella, light bulbs not working, flex on iron was bare. a large pane of secondary double glazing stored in bay window ( didn't fit room window). Only did house wine/vinegar by the glass from a 2 ltr bottle. The toast for breakfast was only shown the toaster, the eggs had been in the bam-marie for a long time and the bacon looked as if it had been microwaved. But we had a lovely time in an Italian restaurant with our friends.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maggie19011948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    316
    131
    64
    34
See reviews for
107
397
41
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

i had always wanted to stay at the prince regent as we had passed it a lot on our way out of weymouth and as we returned from jersey late at night i thought this was our opportunity to stay there we arrived at 2010 and asked if the resteraunt was still open only to be told it had just closed so it was not the best of starts our room was comfortable but a bit tired and a lot of stains on the carpet but it was a really comfortable nights sleep and a hearty breakfast to set us on our way home the staff were really nice so after a dodgy start it all ended well

Room Tip: we had a room at the front of the hotel and expected it to be noisy but it was really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boothstownbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby Lonsdale, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed at Prince Regent for 5 days Food really good Staff couldn't do enough for you excellent service. We had a large family room as 3 sharing. We had everything we needed. Also can recommend Taxi firm" Fleetline" as we had a brilliant unexpected day visiting Portland Bill with guided very informative tour of surrounding area by our lovely driver. Taxi can be booked at reception desk. Hope all goes well for you all at Prince Regent I would love to come back in the future

Room Tip: Room 114 very good for a family or 3 or even 4 sharing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripAdviser610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We have stayed here before and because our friend is Coeliac we wanted to be sure she could be catered for so we suggested The Prince Regent and I can safely say that she was catered for completely, professionally and in a very friendly way. We all enjoyed the food tremendously, great value for money. The rooms were very large and pleasantly decorated. I must congratulate all the staff as they had been told that the Martyn's group who owns the hotel is in Administration but despite this they are all carrying on with a smile on their faces. They hope that the hotel will be brought and perhaps a little TLC spent on it. We also hope this is the case because staying here was excellent value for money with really pleasant staff and excellent food. Good luck to finding a decent buyer.

Room Tip: It is a far end of promenade but this means it is not too noisy and lets face it what is wrong with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilianswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Somerset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend in October.
The room I was given was tired, dark and the tv had a mind of it's own. I reported it as not working at all and after being out all day, on my return the reception staff had no record of me ever having reported it. I was then told that it would be the on/off button which is located on the rear and switches off if the tv is pushed against the wall, which proved to be the case. It wasn't at all obvious as there was only one dim roof light in the room. Later, the problem re-occurred but this time it was a dodgy remote control and I couldn't be bothered with it again....
The Wi Fi signal was ok up on the fourth floor.
The breakfast and evening meals were good with a choice of menu available. Staff in the restaurant areas were friendly and hard working.
My gripe was with the girl on reception who started off by talking down to me in front of my passengers and who appeared to have the full backing of the hotel management who I also had dealings with.
The outcome was that this hotel is not likely to be featured in the companies brochure for next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Rooms at the rear will have problems with noise from the function room. This hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carpetcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Prince Regent in Weymouth on the 5/6/7th October 2013 in room 219 and can honestly say we really enjoyed our stay, the staff were outstanding, the food was excellent and the room was a good size and the bed very comfortable.

This hotel probably is in need of some refurbishment but not to the degree that it would worry me too much, it's the staff and comfort that count and that's all that matters to me.

The Prince Regent is ideally located being just a few yards from the sea-front and just a short walk into the Weymouth town and then on to the old harbour.

We hope to be able to go to the Prince Regent again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steevie91050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Just spent a few days there on dinner bed and break deal.Excellent price so feel I had very good value.Hotel looks tired both in bedrooms and function rooms.Staff very helpful and friendly.Food excellent for money paid. 15 min walk from town in one direction and gardens plus other attractions in other

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prince Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prince Regent

Property: Hotel Prince Regent
Address: 139 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prince Regent 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Prince Regent is an attractive seafront property on Weymouth's historic esplanade with views across Weymouth Bay and the craggy Dorset Jurassic coastline beyond. The Hotel Prince Regent is regarded by many as the leading Weymouth seaside hotel. It's perfect for singles, couples and family holidays alike. It was purpose-built in classic Georgian style, but inside you'll see we've moved with the times and offer comfortable accommodation with free Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. And with nightly performances in our beautiful Georgian ballroom - fully restored at a cost of nearly £100,000 - you'll always be entertained. Families are well catered for, with guest accommodation that can sleep up to five people. We are handily located close to the town centre, which is a 10 minute stroll along the seafront. With a sandy beach on the doorstep, this is the perfect spot for a traditional seaside break. Guests return time after time because of our high standards, seafront location, proximity to Weymouth town centre and great facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Prince Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Prince
Regent Weymouth
Best Western Weymouth
Weymouth Best Western
Weymouth Regent
Hotel Prince Regent Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing