We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware, this is not a Best Western Hotel - it is tired and sad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Prince Regent
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2010

All of the guests we spoke to were disappointed with the standard of this hotel. It was not until we paid our invoice on leaving that reception informed us that it was no longer a Best Western.
Water was provided with the evening meal but during the day there was no way of getting drinking water other than to buy bottles from them - on arrival all water coolers were empty and gradually they began being taken out. Water was not provided with breakfast. This was the hotest weekend of the year.
The evening meal is best avoided - lots of nice places to eat in Weymouth and for about the same price. The only redeeming points were the breakfast and the restaurant staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dee1822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
737747, Owner at Hotel Prince Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

I guess you leave us nothing to say. As you spoke to all the guests then you must be right!! Although we can report that after our review by The AA in April we were given the top mark for any 3star hotel in the town. And as there are no higher stars in Weymouth we are quite shocked by your review on the property. It is a Victorian building dating back to 1855. We do not offer or pretend to be a new build Hilton Hotel. The hotel is on the seafront close to the town and has the highest ratio of car parking in Weymouth. I caan add that Visit Britain also give the hotel very high marks. I assume that your real complaint is that we did not give free water 24 hours a day. You could have had water for breakfast if you had asked. We would be delighted to serve water to you as it is so much cheaper than juice!!! Quite why you expected not to pay for water we do not know. Maybe when you booked you should have asked if bottled water was free. Tap water is, served with ice and lemon should you desire, 24 hours a day.!!! As for your throw away comments on evening meal, I can confirm that around 80% of our guests have evening meals with us. Not therefore avoiding it as you suggest !!! Should you ever wish to stay with us again please tell us on booking that you require free water for every minute of your entire stay and we will be more than happy to oblige.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

832 - 838 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2010

I booked this hotel for a family trip with my wife and four year old daughter. Once we were in the room, I had to dash straight back to reception and ask to see the manager. The floor was filthy (used plasters, chunks of food etc), the curtain were ripped, there was mould above the bath, the toilet roll holder was falling off the wall - that was just what I could see after 30 seconds. The manager was rude and unhelpful. The best he offered was to take £20 off the bill and get the cleaners in.........the NEXT DAY. Needless to say, we left. It took the best part of the day to find another hotel with a spare room (bank holiday) so thanks to this dive a day of our weekend was wasted.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UkBillybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Unfortunately, I would rather agree with the negative entries for this hotel - the place is very neglected and very old fashioned, in line with the overall downtrodden and cheap look along the Esplanade - the multitude of guest houses in here speak volumes of the location. One has to imagine the past glory of the place, some time in Victorian ages.

Ineffectual management of the place shows throughout - from unkept outside to a desperately boring and soulless bar, claustrophobic and wobbly lift, shabby decor to pathetic buffet dinner at its regimented "restaurant". What should be a premier establishment in Weymouth, together with the splendid looking (on the outside only) Royal Hotel, is sleepily stumbling towards oblivion.

It is also pity the local council cannot see the decline of this part of town. We were very disappointed and just depressed wandering along the Esplanade until we got to the Old Harbour. Now, it there was ever a greater contrast between two halves of the same town - Weymouth provides a prime example of it. Old Harbour is teeming with night life, beautifully restored old houses, plenty of great walks and views over the attractive old port, great watering holes and classy restaurants - you could be in any European chic seaside resort. Needless to say, we cancelled our dinner reservation at the hotel and booked ourselves, just, into Vaughan's (absolutely packed and vibrant in stark contrast to the hotel's canteen). The only thing the Old Harbour misses is a good class hotel along its waterfront although I think this is only a matter of time.

Poor parking facilities are a real blight for the town. The communal car park although close by is expensive and poorly facilitated - make sure you have more than £9.50 in coins (notes were not accepted and machines have high rejection rate) or you'll be left scrambling about the distant shops for change.

If you are planning to stay in Weymouth for a cultural/sight-seeing/coupley break give the hotels a wide berth - they are not worth the premium, facilities are basic, bars uneventful, if at all opened, breakfast rudimentary. Book yourself into a good guest house/B&B (there are a few in the Old Harbour too) and just head for the Old Harbour. And - don't forget to reserve the restaurant in advance, especially if you are visiting in the peak season.

When in town, visit the Portland Island - the views over the Chesil Beach are breath-taking, there are plenty of lovely walks whilst the drive to Portland Bill offers some great scenery.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Came here through work - would not have chosen it but needs must. Anyway, well located hotel on the seafront in Weymouth with friendly staff. I had a great sea view from my room. But this hotel is so dated & old fashioned, it's amazing it's survived. It's the kind of place that has those stick-on letters announcing something or other on a noticeboard at the front, but the letters have half fallen off and no-one knows what's being announced. Hotel lift is tiny, so if you're at all claustrophobic you will hate it, and it does mean you have to wait ages for it at busy times as it only fits one or two people. My room was small, with a tiny old fashioned TV and bathroom with bath but no shower (not even a shower attachment). Breakfast was unimaginative, and not at all contemporary (so no fruit salad for example). When I asked for Earl Grey tea the waiter was a bit taken aback but did manage to find some.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BettyBlueCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed at the Prince Regent over the recent bank holiday weekend.

We booked an executive room with sea view, and it lived up to expectations, exactly as the room was pictured on the hotel's web site. The room was modern and stylish, and the bathroom (I should say shower room really) was clean, modern and pleasant to use.

Sea view rooms obviously overlook the main road, so if it's a warm night you either have to put up with the temperature or the noise from traffic and people walking by if you open the window. We did the former, however there wasn't excessive noise outside that we noticed.

The staff in the hotel are very helpful and accommodating, and from what we saw, hard working and concientuous. They took time help, and were thoughful enough to follow up on how we got on later in the day.

Accessibility wise, the hotel shows it's age a bit with steps up to the front entrance and quite a small, old fashioned lift. We had our baby buggy with us so was initially a bit of a pain, but we got used to it.

Breakfast was good, with a buffet style full English, and toast, tea and coffee on request.

We had a baby with us and the hotel provided a cot with nice, comfy, clean bedding. We requested it advance and just had to pay a £10 refundable deposit. There were highchairs available in the dining room too.

The biggest issue is the parking situation (for those of us who've travelled there by car). I was realistic about it, it's a busy seaside town and the hotel is in a great, central location, right on the sea front. Therefore, yes, there are parking restrictions on the surrounding streets and yes, the hotels onsite parking is very limited and cramped. When we arrived all the onsite parking was occupied and had to drive around looking for somewhere close by to park and unload. Most of the surrounding streets are permit parking, but do allow you to park for 1 hour. I enquired at reception on our options and they were as follows: 1) onsite parking if any available (1st come, 1st serve). 2) there are a limited number of permits available from reception for streets behind and beside the hotel (1st come, 1st serve, £10 refundable deposit). This doesn't guarantee a space, but did work out for us. 3) immediately outside the hotel and across the road there are spaces which are unrestricted out of season (1st Oct till 1st June I beleive, but check the signs). 4) Failing all of the above there's a large long stay car park near the station (about 10 mins walk away). This charges £9.50 for 24 hours. Overall therefore, if you go with a realistic expectation and are prepared to compromise a bit, and keep checking at reception about onsite and/or permit availability then you'll be ok..

Overall we had a great weekend and will definitely return!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zcacgje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
737747, Owner at Hotel Prince Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

We thank you for your review and noted that the car parking was an issue. I will try to put this into perspective for you. This hotel was built in 1855 as a holiday and beach getaway by the Victorians. Unfortunately car parking was not top of the agenda at the time. In fact, in keeping with just about all seaside resorts in UK the only place available was for resting and overnighting the horses! As the years passed in this and many other beachfront towns parking has become a nightmare. We in fact are very lucky to have 14 spaces in the hotel and access to a further 52 spaces in our ajoining properties. We therefore have 66 places for our hotels in Weymouth. We also have a number of parking permits for use on the local streets. We do charge a deposit of £10 to use each of these but do so only to insure their return. Any money taken is refunded on safe return. Within the area and certainly within 10 minutes walk there are two major parking lots. Payable at £7.50 for overnight and £9.50 for 24 hours.
We know that Weymouth is not alone in having restricted numbers of parking spaces. And indeed most hotels in the town have none. We would dearly love to have more parking but as a ratio of rooms to spaces we are second in the town. Our apologies if you did not realise that this problem can occur. We wish we could do something about it !!! I hope this goes some way to explain and again thank you for your good review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Great position and best for Weymoth. Friendly staff. Above average for an EDnglish seaside hotel. Lovely and nice staff but nothing really special. I wish you could have more help and more frills in a hotel like flowers and wine at least. I thought I heard kitchen staff arguing at 5.30am on sunday morning..

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobetteOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

I have just got back from a two night stay at the Prince Regent Hotel, I was a bit worried about what the hotel would be like reading the reviews but booked it anyway as I prefere to stay in larger hotels and the majority of hotels in weymouth are the smaller b and bs on the seafront
we had a lovelly stay and didnt encounter any problems, we took the train so I cant comment on the parking facilites, I didnt see the car park so cant comment on the size of it
We had a double bedroomroom which was very large and had a four poster bed as well as a sofa and two chairs. All of the furniture seemed in good condition, the room was located at the front of the hotel with lovely sea views, you could hear the traffic a bit but nothing that stopped us sleeping.
The bathroom was a good size and clean and plenty of towels had been supplied.
We didnt hear any noises from either below or above us so that was good
The only down point was the room did seem to be quite warm even though the heater was never on but with big windows it was fine when the window was open but i could see it being a problem in the summer months but there was a fan in the room as there was no air con so that would probably help
breakfast was included in our rate and found there to be a good selection on offer and managed to get a seat easily, only down point was that the breakfast was only served from 7.30-9.30 weekdays and 8.00-10.00 weekends where as most hotels usually have longer breakfast times
Another plus was that the hotel offered free wi fi which we had no problems connecting to.
If i was visiting Weymouth again I would stay here as good location, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to
also in a earlier post not sure where the reviewer entered the hotel as we did not see any metal stairs anywhere to enter the hotel we walked in straight into the bright reception area

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank startrax25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
462 reviews
4.0 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
677 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prince Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prince Regent

Address: 139 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: £54 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prince Regent 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Prince Regent is an attractive seafront property on Weymouth's historic esplanade with views across Weymouth Bay and the craggy Dorset Jurassic coastline beyond. The Hotel Prince Regent is regarded by many as the leading Weymouth seaside hotel. It's perfect for singles, couples and family holidays alike. It was purpose-built in classic Georgian style, but inside you'll see we've moved with the times and offer comfortable accommodation with free Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. And with nightly performances in our beautiful Georgian ballroom - fully restored at a cost of nearly £100,000 - you'll always be entertained. Families are well catered for, with guest accommodation that can sleep up to five people. We are handily located close to the town centre, which is a 10 minute stroll along the seafront. With a sandy beach on the doorstep, this is the perfect spot for a traditional seaside break. Guests return time after time because of our high standards, seafront location, proximity to Weymouth town centre and great facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Prince Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Prince
Regent Weymouth
Best Western Weymouth
Weymouth Best Western
Weymouth Regent
Hotel Prince Regent Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing