We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful place & Awful food”
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kings Arms
Ranked #150 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Do not visit this pub, the food is awful, truly crap! They either don't know how to cook or simply can't be bothered to try properly. We were not made at all welcome when we walked in. It was obvious to the drinkers at the bar that we were trying to order food & drink but they would not move for us to talk to the barmaid. Their language was crude & subject of their conversation quite disgusting when you remember that we were trying to eat a meal. We will never visit this place again & would NEVER recommend this place to anyone. It is truly awful.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Helen-of-Troy-gang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sami D, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2015

Hello There!
We are a new management team in the Kings Arms Pub and Restaurant Weymouth, where we are mad about fresh ingredients and fresh cooked to order menu, so much so that the whole menu is fresh cook to order.
We hope that if you are in Weymouth again you would pop in for lunch or evening menu in our new restaurant at the front of the building.

We apologise for any bad doings you may have encountered here in the past.

Kind regards

Sami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

My Husband and I were in Weymouth for 4 days and had seen some reviews on The Kings Arms and decided to book a table for Sunday lunch. We were expecting a traditional pub and it was, full of old charm, we were greeted by friendly bar staff who escorted us to our table, we didn't have long to wait before our lunch appeared, we had both ordered the roast beef and it was delicious,just like a proper home made meal. The beef ( and there was lots of it) was perfectly cooked, we had roast potatoes,cauliflower cheese, leeks,carrots and cabbage, a big yorkshire pudding and gravy. we saw lots of meals come out of the kitchen and they all looked great and well presented.The prices and reasonable and would recommend The Kings Arms to anyone and will go back when we visit Weymouth again.

Room Tip: Book for Sunday lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn060861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Good beer, reasonable food, next to the harbour but there are many similar establishments in Weymouth and this one does not stand out as anything special.Nothing else to say really just waffling now to use up the 200 characters insisted upon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandaleous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We have been to this pub many times and overall have been pleased. Last Sunday, 18 August we popped in for lunch. At £4.95 (small) or £8.95 (large) we didn't think the prices were bad. However, on this occasion, the pork was thin, tough, fatty and dry. The veg were watery and tasteless. To cap it all there was no apple sauce to be had. This is not the only time we have been dissatisfied, but we thought to give it another chance in case the previous poor food had been a blip in the system. We will not be returning.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank catrose2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This pub is situated beside the harbour, there is plenty of seating inside for drinks or eating. There is a good choice of food on the menu (highly recommend the garlic and mushroom chicken) very generous portions served. The pub has live music most evenings, on one of our visits there was a trio called The Legomen, they were excellent, on another visit there was a lady called Sheryl Lee, she sang but also acted as dj for what I can only describe as party night, it was as if we had walked in on a family party, everyone joined in with some karaoke, dancing and just generally had a really good time. This pub has a fantastic atmosphere and very welcoming feel. I would highly recommend a visit when visiting Weymouth.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Went with the family for a Sunday afternoon. What an awesome place !

We were presented with a great atmosphere, great selection of drinks and fantastic live music. We all ordered food, everyone enjoyed what they had, I had a Beef Sunday roast with all the trimmings and it was divine.

To the landlord: I thank you !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abe030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The Kings is a lovely pub superbly located on the harbour. I enjoyed several superb pints of Tribute over the course of the bank holiday weekend and beyond. The staff were efficeint and frinedly even during the busy time of the music festival. I didn't have any food but what I saw looked very good. I highly recommend a visit here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourist-MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.7 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
148 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#83 of 166 in Weymouth
68 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pump Cottage
Pump Cottage
#1 of 3 in Upwey
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 15 Trinity Road, Weymouth DT4 8TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing