We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our relaxing stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory Weymouth
Ranked #50 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the old rectory for 2 nights while our children were at an adventure holiday, when we arrived we found Graeme and Barbara very warm and welcoming, we stayed in the Chesil room it was beautiful and had a sea view, Graeme bought us a pot of tea which was very welcome, I would recommend to anyone a stay at the old rectory, we enjoyed the breakfast each morning, there was lots of choice. It is a 15 min walk into Weymouth along the beach/esplanade. All in all a lovely bed and breakfast we would definitely stay there again. Thank you Graeme and Barbara.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Barbara and Graeme are very welcoming and provide excellent accommodation. We stayed for three nights in "The Chesil" room which has a triple aspect and is beautifully decorated. Everything is spotless. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order. There is also a choice of cereals, yoghurts, fruits and jams excellently presented. Graeme very kindly picked us up from the station and then we were offered freshly made coffee and biscuits. The Old Rectory is situated in a quiet area and ideally located for walkers like ourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just returned from a lovely four day break at The Old Rectory B&B.Perfect in every way, Graeme and Barbara were perfect hosts.Have not stayed in Weymouth for at least 30 years. Now that we have found The Old Rectory
we will be returning again in the future.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank BristolLili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme S, Owner at The Old Rectory Weymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Hi Alan and Jenny,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a most appreciated review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope perhaps to see you again some time in the future.
Best Regards
Graeme and Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had 2 rooms -twin and double (especially nice!). Owners are really friendly and helpful and very welcoming. The place is spotless and have everything you need. Breakfast had many choices and all were really tasty and fresh. They went out of their way to help with any request.
Really close to the beach and the esplanade and easy to get out of town and into this great county!
highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yaniv_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme S, Owner at The Old Rectory Weymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi Yaniv, Rob and Tali,

I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us recently, and thank you very much for taking the trouble to leave Barbs and I a super review.
We hope Tali enjoyed the rest of her stay in the Uk, and had a good trip back to Israel.

Kind Regards
Graeme and Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay, as a couple, at The Old Rectory ! The house was previously owned by the local vicar and is very comfortable. Barbara and Greame, who own the B&B, are very kind and helpful. We would definitely recommend this B&B !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DavidClerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme S, Owner at The Old Rectory Weymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hi David and Stephanie
Many thanks for leaving us a review, it was much appreciated.
Regards
Graeme and Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This delightful B & B was a lovely experience at the start our our UK trip. Welcoming hosts, attention to detail and every comfort make it an excellent choice. Exceeded our expectations and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Binnie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme S, Owner at The Old Rectory Weymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hi Robyn,

II was pleased to read your review and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Weymoutth.
We hope you enjoy the remainder of your trip and have a good journey back to Australia.
Best Regards
Graeme and Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Old Rectory, booked by my husband as a surprise birthday treat. It was fabulous! We were warmly welcomed by the hosts, given a map of the local area with recommended restaurants highlighted, and offered fresh tea and coffee which was brought up to our room for us right away. We were particularly impressed that Graeme and Barbara remembered our names throughout our stay.

We enjoyed some of the nicest breakfast food we've ever tasted here at The Old Rectory - it really was delicious. If you want a B&B that goes the extra mile then this is the place, we had some flowers with us when we arrived and the hosts happily provided us with a beautiful Portmeirion vase to keep them in during our stay - service indeed!

A great B&B with attention to detail in every area, we cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_and_Andy_Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.7 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
148 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#83 of 166 in Weymouth
68 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pump Cottage
Pump Cottage
#1 of 3 in Upwey
42 reviews
1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Weymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Weymouth

Address: 42 Melcombe Avenue, Weymouth DT4 7TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Weymouth 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory in Weymouth is a lovely Art Deco property built in 1920. Situated under 2 minutes walk from the beach and promenade, in the quiet area of Greenhill, but just 10 minutes walk from the main town centre and lovely golden sands of Weymouth. Free off road parking is available on our private drive. All 3 rooms have been refurbished and decorated in 2012. (2 have seaviews, and our Dorchester Room has a sun terrace facing the sea). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Rectory Weymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Weymouth Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing