We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory Weymouth
Ranked #56 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Took my daughters (15 & 13) for a 3 day break and they loved it. Thank young Graham & Barbara for making our stay so enjoyable.

The two rooms we had were 1st class & I couldn't fault this lovely B&B.

Will return one day with my wife.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Asdf1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had never had a holiday in Weymouth so we had to look for somewhere that appeared
to be a place that felt like home.
The Old Rectory certainly lived up to our expectations.The suite namely the Dorchester
is elegantly furnished with a bathroom beautifully equipped spacious a
nd practical.
The lovely balcony / sun terrace was lovely to return to after the days activities
with a view of the local Bowling Green and superb sea view beyond.
This beautifull house is close to Lod moor park nature reserve including Sealife
and is well located for Greenhill park and Town and the award winning beaches.
Barbara and Graeme were excellent hosts , very friendly and welcoming
The breakfast was very varied and and nicely presented.
We hope that we may return in 2015 to our highly recommended home from home
and meet up with Barbara and Graeme once again.

Room Tip: all rooms are equally acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were incredibly lucky to get a weekend booking in high summer in this lovely place. Graeme and Barbara couldn't have been friendlier or more welcoming and efficient. The room was elegantly furnished without being overpowering and the bathroom was luxurious and practical. And we had the balcony with sea view! Plenty of choice at breakfast and nicely presented. Excellent location for the beach and the town - it really couldn't have been better. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I would recommend the room with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay. My partner and I recently booked in for a three night stay for a wedding. Our hosts were extremely welcoming and upon arrival we had tea and cake in the garden, which is very pretty with flowers and stone statues. The bedroom was sparkling and clean. We had the beach room with a sea view. The room had plenty of tea and biscuits and an ensuite shower, which was clean and equipt with shampoo and shower gel. The bed was clean and extremely comfortable. The towels were changed and room cleaned daily. Breakfast was taking in the dining room overlooking the garden, nice and sunny in the morning. We were asked to choose breakfast from a large selection the night before. There was plenty of cereals and tea. The old rectory is located about a 15 minute walk into weymouth town,which suited us fine as we wanted somewhere welcoming,quiet and peaceful. If you are feeling tired you can also catch the bus that runs staight to the end of the promenade and cost about 2.50 return. When we left our hosts also kindly dropped us back to the train station as we don't drive. A Top b n b definitely recommend if you are in need of some R n R.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluefire100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

What an excellent B & B. Stunning house , good location for town, breakfast superb( what a choice!) rooms immaculate comfortable and tastefully decorated. Graeme & Barbara could not have been more welcoming. We would definitely return the sooner the better. Ian & Jackie

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I'm going to keep this short....YOU WILL NOT FIND A BETTER HOTEL IN WEYMOUTH!!
It's that simple, the location, service, price, breakfast, everything is perfect! I will definitely be going again.
The fact that this place does not have 10/10 is an actual insult to the hard work they put have clearly put into this place. I have to give you my honest opinion but I should really say it's bad so it leaves more dates for me to stay in ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We returned to the Old Rectory having enjoyed stopping there last year.This is a stunning house in a lovely quiet location and is just a fifteen minute stroll in to Weymouth on the promenade.The quality of the bedrooms and the breakfast are matched by the hosts Barbara and Graeme who make you really welcome from the moment you arrive until your departure. This really is a five star bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilbert12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme S, Owner at The Old Rectory Weymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi David and June,

Thank you very much for taking the trouble to leave us a kind review, it was much appreciated.
Hope to see you next year,

Best Regards
Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
7.3 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
47 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Weymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Weymouth

Address: 42 Melcombe Avenue, Weymouth DT4 7TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Weymouth 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory in Weymouth is a lovely Art Deco property built in 1920. Situated under 2 minutes walk from the beach and promenade, in the quiet area of Greenhill, but just 10 minutes walk from the main town centre and lovely golden sands of Weymouth. Free off road parking is available on our private drive. All 3 rooms have been refurbished and decorated in 2012. (2 have seaviews, and our Dorchester Room has a sun terrace facing the sea). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Rectory Weymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Weymouth Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing