We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected top value for money - Recommended”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Blackpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unexpected top value for money - Recommended”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

In planning my visit to Monkey World in May I was looking for reasonable local accommodation for two nights, but the hotels closest to Monkey World were either fully booked or very expensive. I decided to go for the 2 star Crown in Weymouth - only 14 miles away - which I thought would be "cheap and cheerful" at the price. I did not expect to find such a smartly decorated dining room with first class waiter service to a breakfast menu - no tacky self service breakfast buffet we find in many cheaper hotels these days. The room was comfortable if a little over heated. The hotel was perfectly situated for all the amenities of Weymouth - close to excellent shops, bars and restaurants. Parking was off site - the only downside of this hotel - but the walk along the harbour to the Pavilion car park with a parking pass provided by the hotel for £3 per night was very pleasant. The staff - every single one - was so polite, friendly and helpful. I have already booked for another visit in July.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caballuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    201
    69
    26
    11
See reviews for
60
179
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Ours was a relatively late booking for a Bank Holiday weekend, and we got what we thought was a very good price. £50 a night for an en suite twin room including breakfast.
The hotel including the service and the breakfast was much better value than the price paid.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent with a reasonable choice available. The location of the hotel is good within walking distance of the town centre, the beach and the harbour,
We enjoyed our stay so much we are already planning to return and would have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaviraBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Hotel located in ideal location, near the quay. Decore in our room was fine, flat screen TV, no problem with outside noise but our room was at the rear of hotel, only a few sqeaky floor boards in the room above. Very good breakfast in the morning, nice bar area to meet up with friends. The staff are a credit to the hotel, very helpful. Will certainly be returning.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just spent the Bank Holiday Weekend at the Crown Hotel in Weymouth.
To sum up my stay 'Fantastic'
Had a double room with breakfast included for £50 per night, we were able to park outside to drop off the luggage and had a warm friendly welcome from the reception staff.
I booked parking at £3 per night (bargain in Weymouth) and was handed a ticket to put in the car window and directed to the Pavilion car park, about 10 mins walk away.
My wife took the luggage on up to the room.
When arriving at the room I was surprised how big it was, one double and one single bed, the bathroom was large with a shower over the bath and good wardrobe space provide in the room.
Flat screen TV with digital channels and tea making facilities.
The hotel had a large bar and restaurant with a good selection of drinks and a reasonably priced menu.
The location is excellent, right in the town centre and a stones throw away from the harbour.
Breakfast was very good with a choice of fry up, smoked kippers, porridge, cereals, etc and as much toast, tea/coffee as you wanted.
Try the Babylon bar up the road for great music and good atmosphere.
Will defiantly return.

Room Tip: Ensure you pre book parking as spaces are limited and parking in the centre can be difficult/expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollycat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break at The Crown Hotel Weymouth. When we arrived we were offered help with our luggage by very friendly staff as my husband is in a wheelchair. We had a large room overlooking the Harbour Bridge which was exceptionaly clean, Yes we had some late night noise from party/clubbers but nothing that bothered us, in my opinion if you want a seafront hotel or like then you must expect to have late night noise, Seaside towns are where people go to celebrate there occasions, Its not fair to moan about the noise when its no fault of the hotels. We had lovely meals in the Restuarant both evenings, and the breakfast was plentiful with " second to none service " All in all I think it is a great hotel in a great spot , very reasonable rates and we will be going back for future visits. " AA " You need to look again at this ( only 2 star Hotel ) surely it's worth more.!!!!!!!!!1

Room Tip: Always ask for room with a ....sea view....quiet corner or whatever suits you, Most hotels will acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetUkChrisnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This hotel is located yards away from the bridge in Weymouth, right in the centre of town.
All the restaurants are a short walk away. Staff were very helpful, especially with the parking, which can be difficult in Weymouth. Room was OK, not too big but very clean, not noisy (given central location this could have been a problem). Breakfast was OK, not too generous, but staff asked if we would like more. Bar staff were friendly, and the bar was not to busy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveH588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

A bit outdated interior in our room and some paper thin walls that may keep you a bit awake. It is in a good location and staff is friendly. Ordered a parking voucher for our car and parked it in a carpark next to the sea (about 8-10 min walk from the hotel).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera_Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,009 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 51-53 St. Thomas Street, Weymouth DT4 8EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and character of the Crown Hotel lies in the warm and friendly atmosphere which always prevails. The management takes a special interest in making sure your stay is a total success, whether it be for business or pleasure.The hotel is located in an extremely favourable position at the top of Weymouth’s town centre, next to the Town Bridge overlooking the historic fishing harbour, and just a few minutes' walk from the picturesque Brewer’s Quay. Weymouth’s beautiful sandy beach and the ferry service to the Channel Islands are less than 5 minutes' walk from the hotel.Hotel facilities include a first floor residents’ lounge, The Vaults Bar and Restaurant and a residents' bar. There is also a passenger lift which serves all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing