We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
bham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Crown, the hotel is very clean, staff friendly and helpful. The pub inside the hotel serve good quality, reasonably priced food.
Harbour, Shops, restaurants, and pubs all around the hotel you can walk or cycle to Chesil beach along the coastal path with places of interest all around.
The only drawback is that the outside streets can be very noisy after the pubs turn out,and go on into the early hours as the hotel has no double glazing.

Room Tip: Away from the noise of the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natalieBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    201
    68
    26
    11
See reviews for
60
178
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Only Spent one night but found the room Lovely and clean. Staff friendly and lovely breakfast. Room was at front ensuit with lovely view of harbour. They have a restaurant with good value for money we will definitely come back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel in November, with my elderly parents the hotel staff could not do enough for us. They were friendly and pleasant to be around from the hotels cleaners to the reception staff.
The rooms are slightly dated but are clean and have what you need in an hotels room - Unless you are spending your whole break in the room and not venturing out at all? The hotel is right in the centre and is accessible to shops, seafront , resturants and bars.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freddy015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Pleasant staff very clean,
Disappointed at facilities in Room as considering a premier in is £30 you get a bigger room with modern bathroom bigger bed, flat screen tv with multi channels plus internet!
For £50 we stayed in a noisy small double bedded room, the bathroom was old but clean, the tv was tiny and was old ... Not a flat screen, glad we only stayed one night or we would have checked out.
Staff very friendly, breakfast was ok we wouldn't suggest the coffee or scrambled eggs, not a very big breakfast considering it was served on a saucer, although it came from the kitchen in under 5 minutes.

We won't be staying again, strongly advise they modernise the rooms and put double glazing in, tv would be nice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kitty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just got back from a great weekend in Weymouth.There was 12 of us staying at the Crown,had an absolute blast-the staff are all amazing but special mentions to Martin,Natasha,and Jan at the bar,Gary and Emma on reception,and the lovely lady at breakfast,also the great Chef Linda-we will be copying her "eggy pastry" which we had on our great beef/ale and mushroom pie!
This hotel is in a fantastic location,has secure parking,clean rooms,great value home made food,and did i mention the happy smiling staff.
i would recommend this place to anyone and will 100% be coming back-Sorry Martin will be bringing the missus back so best get the advocat and cherries on order,onions in the tuna and absolutely no peas!!! lol

Room Tip: front rooms noisier than at the back,bring some string-it's a long way to the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThrobbinGristle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Met by really friendly, helpful receptionist. My son's staying there while he does voluntary work in Weymouth, so they let him have breakfast earlier than advertised time.
I stayed one night, found the hotel to be in a great location for most attractions. The hotel does evening meals at a reasonable price, but didn't sample them, just breakfast, which was very good.
Room very warm but managed to turn it down!

Room Tip: Recommended for price and location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I like this hotel very much. I was welcomed by a helpful staff member who assisted me with where to park my car and helped with my luggage. There is a lift for guests to use. All my queries were answered in a very helpul manner and I was directed to the shops in the town where I needed to go. The room was very nice, clean and well appointed. Nice bathroom. The breakfast was good and staff again were polite and friendly. Very well priced. Would stay there again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I'm sure any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
1,007 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
261 reviews
4.0 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 51-53 St. Thomas Street, Weymouth DT4 8EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and character of the Crown Hotel lies in the warm and friendly atmosphere which always prevails. The management takes a special interest in making sure your stay is a total success, whether it be for business or pleasure.The hotel is located in an extremely favourable position at the top of Weymouth’s town centre, next to the Town Bridge overlooking the historic fishing harbour, and just a few minutes' walk from the picturesque Brewer’s Quay. Weymouth’s beautiful sandy beach and the ferry service to the Channel Islands are less than 5 minutes' walk from the hotel.Hotel facilities include a first floor residents’ lounge, The Vaults Bar and Restaurant and a residents' bar. There is also a passenger lift which serves all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing