We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional sea side hotel”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rex
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Safe to say the Rex is a traditional sea side hotel- full of friendly English speaking staff. The first 'sea view' double room was tiny and was really unacceptable- though we were quickly changed to a 'family room'. Breakfast in the basement ok. Good tea and coffee, and toiletries in the room- above expectations. Rooms/bathrooms tired. Enjoyed the traditional sea side hotel experience- may not return but pleased we went. Honest and endearing.

Room Tip: Not a small sea view double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

This is a hotel very close to the beach and it has probably seen better days, but having experienced several B&Bs in Weymouth over the past 18 months this is quite reasonable accommodation. Reception staff were very helpful and from colleagues comments they always seem to remember previous customers and there is always a friendly welome. Good facilities with the usual tea and coffee. Good free wifi. I parked directly outside and was provided with a free parking pass (remember to return it otherwise it will cost you a £20 deposit). Breakfast was very good and served efficiently. There is a lift and if you need a reasonably easy accessible room make sure that the hotel is aware before you arrive as some rooms are accessed via a variety of stairs and doors which may be difficult for some people.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Great location, and if you park on the street, can get a pass from reception, so do not pay any charges.

Birthday treat for my husband and so booked room at front with sea view and balcony (room 1)
Loved the view, huge window, which you could step out onto the balcony. However at night the outside has lights which light up the hotel. This makes the room very light, need black out curtains. If you had children trying to go to sleep, it would be a bit of a nightmare. Would book a room higher up.

The room looked newly decorated, and the bed was very comfortable. Staff on reception very friendly and helpful, as were the restaurant staff at breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxAbergavenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We did not stay in this Hotel but stopped by to visit the restaurant and we were so pleased we did. We were staying in Weymouth for the Easter weekend and wanted a meal that was not fish and chips or traditional pub food. As we walked along the Esplanade we came upon Hotel Rex, located by the funfair. It displayed a very good fixed price menu, cateriing for our vegetarian daughter too. Upon arrival we were served drinks in the bar/lounge area of the hotel where a waiter took our order and we were taken downstairs to the restaurant a short while later. Although the restaurant was in the basement it was pleasantly decorated and airy. The food was wonderful and service second to none. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We would highly recommend this restaurant and would definately visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KLMWestSussexU_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

very comfortable room with terrific sea viea ( room 5 ) homely cooked food clean very friendly staff would stay again if in weymouth.

Room Tip: had dinner in floods resturant which was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bags52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Weymouth has obviously seen better times and looking at the seafront hotels in general the Rex must be one of the better ones. Had a balcony room facing the seafront and overlooking the carousel - which gives quite a nice light in the evening. The room was adequate, as was the bath, all very clean, some redecoration had obviously done with attention to detail, yet the overall impression seemed "faded", but the price was fair. Nearby garage parking was available for 7 pounds per night, at least the car was safe, although the garage gave the impression of being a sort of padlocked agricultural shed at first sight. Had a great evening meal at the Prezzo, good Italian cuisine, and looked forward to the sumptious breakfast, which according to many reviews was supposed to be one the highlights of the Rex. Probably wasn't our day. The breakfast room was a dark, dungeon-like affair (at least when you are seated away from the windows), and the ordered eggs, sausages and bacon and toast turned out to be exactly 1 of each, no more, no less. The coffee was lukewarm as the coffee machine had broken down, but this was rectified within minutes. If you insist on visiting Weymouth, the Rex is probably as good as you will get.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleBill34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

No big chain hotels on the seafront so really nothing better. Traditional old hotel in fab location right opposite wonderful sandy beach, and very near restaurants, shops and bars. Paid extra £7 for 1 night parking in secured garage within easy walking distance (even let us leave the car in while we looked around some more on Sunday). Our bedroom was at back of hotel (no view) small but clean (bed top cover broken (fit for bin), but all other bedding very clean. My side of bed bit lumpy but got a good night sleep. En suite bathroom clean/towels nice+thick. Seaview rooms another £30 per night quite nice but lacked style and our friends said walls are thin, and need black out curtains! Breakfast very impressive nice choices available as an alternative to traditional full english. All in all very nice (not cheap but nothing is in Weymouth).

Room Tip: See review - not sure if sea view rooms are worth another 50%??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequent_flyerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
469 reviews
4.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
21 reviews
2.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,122 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: 29 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: £69 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing