We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - Overpriced with dreadful rooms”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing - Overpriced with dreadful rooms”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The location and staff are the only good thing about this hotel.
The rooms are tiny, the beds sloped from toe to head, no bath, there is no aircon so open windows let you hear all the local pub noise and drummed street shouting, and not to forget the church bell. You can hear the adjoining rooms extraction fans and every toilet and tap noise including the flushes with amazing clarity. No parking nearby. £120 for a shoebox room with a view of a fire escape. Would I stay here again? Not a chance!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank russellegan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    171
    71
    18
    10
See reviews for
66
212
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Rex. The staff were friendly and courteous, and the hotel was clean. The breakfast was really good. The hotel was in a prime position overlooking the sea and amenities. Parking could be costly as there is no on-site parking. All in all a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOYCE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Booked for my parents to go August Bank Holiday weekend (Sat to Mon) for Dad's 70th birthday. They had an amazing time. Hotel spotless and the staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. Perfect location, just by the harbour across the road from the beach. Would definitely use this hotel again! They stayed half board and for the meal on the Saturday the staff had decorated their table and made a real fuss of them! It was lovely. Mum and Dad had a fabulous weekend and would definitely go again. Congratulations and thanks to the staff for making their stay really memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parslow19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Weymouth on the weekend of the Dorset seafood festival and were looking for a place to have dinner to celebrate a birthday. We stumbled upon this place after being turned down from six other venues, as we had not made any reservations and all the places we wanted to try were completely booked out. We went for the set menu - seafood salad for starters which included prawns, smoked salmon and makarel. For the mains half of us ordered the grilled Brim and the other Duck. This was was served with vegetables, chips and wedges. The servings were large and the quality was good - considering we only paid 13.50 GBP per person for the meals. The meal was accompanied with two bottles of French white wine. The highlight of the evening was when three staff members came out with a small birthday cake and sang happy birthday. Thank you Hotel Rex for the exceptional service!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank CultureStamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Arrived to a warm welcome by some very helpful reception staff, who could not be more helpful if they tried. This was a theme which carried on through the staff without exception. Room was smaller than I was expecting (but it was a single room), and it had a grand view of the Weymouth Bay area, great. Bed very comfortable and room overall was very clean, so overall a great start for my 3 night stay at The Rex, Weymouth. Full English and a wide selection of juicies, ceriel etc. As others have said, parking is a problem but The Rex do give you a parking permit for the town centre area, zone F, which covers most, if not all the local areas. Literally a few steps away is the lovely Weymouth beach and all it has to offer. Room service is prompt and quality. The tea and coffee was plentiful. Shall be using again this year.

Room Tip: Ensure that you reserve an area parking notice beforehand and, even better, reserve one of the 6 hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy-hoare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Parking for this hotel was my main concern as all the local streets are resident parking zones.
Reception provided me with a parking permit (with a returnable deposit) and I actually managed to park at the door, thank you!
If you come by train, the hotel is about 5 minutes brisk walk away, located opposite the main promenade.
My room was clean, and a bit dated, but all the same comfortable and welcoming.
Very friendly staff, in the bar, reception and restaurant.
Dining was a bit odd, going downstairs into the basement, but don't worry, the food is excellent!
If you prefer eating out, there is a good variety of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SD887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The highlight of this hotel is the wonderfully helpful staff who will take care of all of your needs and ensure your stay is comfortable but there is a lot else to like here. The rooms vary in size from a very small single room to large family rooms and the features vary from room to room. Some have walk-in showers while others have bathtubs with shower heads so I would suggest that, if you have specific needs, you check with the hotel before arriving.

The location is great and I had a wonderful view of the esplanade and Weymouth bay from my window. The room was comfortably furnished, very clean, well stocked with tea/coffee supplies and had all amenities you would expect at a three star hotel. The restaurant is very good and the included hot breakfast includes several choices in addition to the traditional full English.breakfast.

The biggest frustration is parking and, if you have limited mobility, I suggest you reserve one of the small number of hotel spaces in advance. The hotel provides a zone parking permit that allows you to park free on the streets nearby but finding an open spot can be very challenging. This, of course, is an issue with Weymouth, not just this particular hotel.

The one poor aspect of the hotel is incredibly slow Internet access. They make a big point about having free WiFi access but the service is only useful for checking e-mail. Web pages with one or two photos often took 3 minutes to display and video simply does not play. Some evenings even a Google search page took a minute to display.

I definitely recommend Hotel Rex but call them ahead of time with any specific needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Born_Old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,072 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
445 reviews
4.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
646 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: 29 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing