We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Had a weekend break at the Rex, and were made welcome by all of the staff. It was worth paying a little extra for a sea view. The hotel is very clean. We used the £7 parking permit which is five minutes walk from the hotel, it was worthwhile because even in November there were rarely spaces outside the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaguemms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    163
    68
    16
    10
See reviews for
63
203
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the hotel.We arrived before the room was ready but we had paid for the lock up garage £8 for 24 hrs which was worth doing so at least we could get rid of the luggage and the car.The room was very clean and there were plenty of tea and coffee and toileteries provided.We used the bar which was fine.We didnt make breakfast so I can't say what it was like.This hotel is good value and great for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillLeicesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Just come back from this hotel.
I stay in weymouth alot. This is by far the nicest hotel I have stayed in.

It was warm. Inviting. Lovely views of the bay and was generally quiet.( u have to expect a little noise as located on the sea front with amusements and town at a stones throw)

The room looked like it had just been done and the lift to all floors was a welcome extra.

We will be back

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katykate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at Hotel Rex (13th - 19th Oct). Handy location, few minutes walk to beach/ferry terminal/harbour/shops/bars/restaurants. We had a balcony room overlooking beach; our room was clean, fully equipped and comfortable. Staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient; we celebrated a birthday and anniversary during our stay and the Staff decorated our meal table with balloons, banners and table decorations which was a lovely surprise. Food was very tasty with plenty of choice. will recommend the Rex to family and freinds

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Apparently the Rex was built in 1795 and has a brilliant position close to the ferry terminal with brilliant views across the bay.
Luckily I had looked at the previous reviews before I arrived and booked garage parking as even though it was the beginning of October all the parking bays outside or even close to the hotel were full. The garage cost an extra £8 per night and you need a map from reception to find it. There is room for 4 cars in the garage and is good secure parking.
We had booked room 4, it has a great view of the bay with lovely high windows and even the ability to sit on a small balcony if you wanted. The room also has a four poster bed and much to our surprise a fantastic Jacuzzi bath.
Checking in had been easy with a nice welcome. The room was very clean so all was fine in the world.
We decided to eat in the hotel rather than go out. The dining area is in the basement and used to be the wine cellars. There were three other couples when we went down but for a while no sign of staff. After a few minutes a member of staff appeared from the kitchen and sat us in one of the bays, giving us only the menu for 2 or 3 courses rather than the additional table d'hote. We were asked if we wanted to see the wine list and initially not offered the free glass of wine that came with the menu offered. When we asked for it we received a very ordinary glass of red wine.
I ordered the mixed grill and my wife the sirloin steak. The steak was cooked to her requirement as was mine amongst the grill. However there was no taste to the food and was bland, lacked seasoning. The sausage in the mixed grill looked as though it came from the value range rather than anything of interest. I had to taste it and can confirm it was horrid.
Overnight the bed was comfortable and a reasonable sleep was had.
In the morning we went for breakfast. I had kippers and my wife the full English without the sausage based on the experience the night before. The kipper was fine and the breakfast ok.
I would say that this is a nice hotel to stay in, the room we had was probably a lot more expensive than most but worth it. The food though is bland and needs seasoning or at least something to give it taste.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b11lrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend at Hotel Rex. All of the staff were friendly. The food was the best we had had out for a long time. We had a beach view which was very nice. Room was very clean. It looked as though it had recently been refurbished. I would reccommend using their parking facilities for a little more as parking spaces in the area is very limited and relatively expensive. Will certainly go back.

Room Tip: Don't let the small amusement park put you off as there is very little noise from it. Go for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cadder1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few times. It's not the Ritz Carlton and neither does it try to be. Staff are trained and curteas. The rooms are clean and the food I'd good. Will stay here again soon. The best thing us its location. Fifty yards from the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bombomCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: 29 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing