We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My friend and I have just had a long weekend in Weymouth November 22nd to 24th we stayed at the Rex Hotel. Where we had a warm and friendly welcome. Our room was comfortable, clean with the most amazing sea view of Weymouth Bay. The beds were very comfortable the room was lovely and warm..... it was a very cold weekend. All the staff were friendly, thoughtful and very helpful. We particularly appreciated their help and advice about hiring a mobility scooter for my pal which was delivered to our hotel, which made exploring Weymouth so much more easier for her. Breakfast is great with a good choice we enjoyed perfectly boiled eggs and scrambled egg with smoked salmon and smoked haddock.
We plan to visit again and would highly recommend to anyone who wants a relaxing environment

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have just got back from Weymouth after spending an extremely pleasant weekend at the Rex enjoying one of their 3 day Turkey &Tinsel events. I took a coach and 30 passengers with me and without exception they were all very impressed with every aspect of the Hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful staff who were always very friendly and accommodating Food was excellent and the rooms clean and welcoming. The Hotel felt like 'home from home' Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siddulpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Had a weekend break at the Rex, and were made welcome by all of the staff. It was worth paying a little extra for a sea view. The hotel is very clean. We used the £7 parking permit which is five minutes walk from the hotel, it was worthwhile because even in November there were rarely spaces outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaguemms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the hotel.We arrived before the room was ready but we had paid for the lock up garage £8 for 24 hrs which was worth doing so at least we could get rid of the luggage and the car.The room was very clean and there were plenty of tea and coffee and toileteries provided.We used the bar which was fine.We didnt make breakfast so I can't say what it was like.This hotel is good value and great for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillLeicesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Just come back from this hotel.
I stay in weymouth alot. This is by far the nicest hotel I have stayed in.

It was warm. Inviting. Lovely views of the bay and was generally quiet.( u have to expect a little noise as located on the sea front with amusements and town at a stones throw)

The room looked like it had just been done and the lift to all floors was a welcome extra.

We will be back

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Katykate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at Hotel Rex (13th - 19th Oct). Handy location, few minutes walk to beach/ferry terminal/harbour/shops/bars/restaurants. We had a balcony room overlooking beach; our room was clean, fully equipped and comfortable. Staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient; we celebrated a birthday and anniversary during our stay and the Staff decorated our meal table with balloons, banners and table decorations which was a lovely surprise. Food was very tasty with plenty of choice. will recommend the Rex to family and freinds

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Apparently the Rex was built in 1795 and has a brilliant position close to the ferry terminal with brilliant views across the bay.
Luckily I had looked at the previous reviews before I arrived and booked garage parking as even though it was the beginning of October all the parking bays outside or even close to the hotel were full. The garage cost an extra £8 per night and you need a map from reception to find it. There is room for 4 cars in the garage and is good secure parking.
We had booked room 4, it has a great view of the bay with lovely high windows and even the ability to sit on a small balcony if you wanted. The room also has a four poster bed and much to our surprise a fantastic Jacuzzi bath.
Checking in had been easy with a nice welcome. The room was very clean so all was fine in the world.
We decided to eat in the hotel rather than go out. The dining area is in the basement and used to be the wine cellars. There were three other couples when we went down but for a while no sign of staff. After a few minutes a member of staff appeared from the kitchen and sat us in one of the bays, giving us only the menu for 2 or 3 courses rather than the additional table d'hote. We were asked if we wanted to see the wine list and initially not offered the free glass of wine that came with the menu offered. When we asked for it we received a very ordinary glass of red wine.
I ordered the mixed grill and my wife the sirloin steak. The steak was cooked to her requirement as was mine amongst the grill. However there was no taste to the food and was bland, lacked seasoning. The sausage in the mixed grill looked as though it came from the value range rather than anything of interest. I had to taste it and can confirm it was horrid.
Overnight the bed was comfortable and a reasonable sleep was had.
In the morning we went for breakfast. I had kippers and my wife the full English without the sausage based on the experience the night before. The kipper was fine and the breakfast ok.
I would say that this is a nice hotel to stay in, the room we had was probably a lot more expensive than most but worth it. The food though is bland and needs seasoning or at least something to give it taste.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b11lrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
469 reviews
4.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
292 reviews
2.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,123 reviews
0 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: 29 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: £69 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing