We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully Quirky!”
Review of Brewers Quay

Brewers Quay
Ranked #3 of 19 Shopping in Weymouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Under new management since April 2015! Back in February 2013 two local dealers decided to take a chance and look to re - open the then derelict Brewers Quay building. The building had over 100 leaks, rotten floors and needed a lot of re-wiring. Working alongside the owners, Brewers Quay Investments, Brewers Quay Emporium was open to the public by Easter 2013. Other traders followed including an Italian restaurant, a bar and a D-Day Museum. By September 2013 the Arts and Crafts Bazaar had been opened, a furniture village and a contemporary art gallery. With these all now open it meant that the Weymouth and Portland museum was reborn in January 2014. Today Brewers Quay offers a unique setting for over 120 traders dealing in antiques, collectables and gifts. The site also offers a cafe offering a range of sandwiches, cream teas, coffee and other drinks. Recently new plans have been put forward for this site to be redeveloped, however Brewers Quay Emporium has had its lease extended until September 2017. Any visitors not been for a while will find it has changed significantly, it is a retail outlet of antiques, collectables, retro and arts craft and gift ware. Gone are the time walk, deli shops etc. But we would hope any visitors who have a interest in reused and re-loved goods will enjoy this unique setting. If anyone wanting to view inside the building can go to Google Maps and view our tour.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Quirky!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Oh my goodness!! What a fantastic place!! I could have spent all day in this Aladdin's Cave! I was concerned my teenage sons would get bored but, no, they loved it too!! My youngest son was immediately drawn to a large collection of LPs (his music is his passion) and my purse was called upon quite soon after he'd found them! But at only £1 per album, I really didn't mind!

We visited whilst on holiday so I had to be aware there wasn't much boot space in the car, otherwise I would have bought a lot more than I did!!

When we return to Weymouth, we will definitely be returning to Brewers Quay!

Helpful?
1 Thank FifiWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    16
    17
    35
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great its open again :) ”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Loved going here when i was a kid, lovely to see it back open and busy again like it used to be. Weymouth wasn't the same when this place shut for a few years.

Helpful?
1 Thank Luke428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We Went when it was open before and we loved it and now we love it since it has re opened keep up the good work please don't shut again

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shandy133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Have been to the revitalised Brewers Quay twice now and can't wait to go again. Love all the antiques, retro, crafts and art for sale and plenty of good eating places. Such a shame it was closed during the Olympics and very glad that this important, historical part of Weymouth is up and buzzing again. Good luck to the people behind this.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank scrumpymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great day spent shopping !”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We visited Brewers Quay as we always do when visiting Dorset. We loved all the different items for sale. Very helpful young man on the till who was very polite. We spent 4 hours looking around and we will be back. We loved the new look of the cafe inside but unfortunately couldn't get a table at the time as all tables were full , and car park time was running low !

Spent a fortune , but loved it all. Well done !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brewers Quay also viewed

 

Been to Brewers Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing