We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campsite, everything has been thought of”
Review of Higher Moor Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Higher Moor Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great campsite, everything has been thought of”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have just had a week camping here (2 adults). The site is well maintained and the facilities were always clean. Everything had been thought of to make the stay more enjoyable for campers. The lockers for charging phones were such a great idea and well used. Daniel was very welcoming and very informative of the local area and offered advice on where to dine.
A great campsite.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54Daniel, Manager at Higher Moor Farm, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased you had a great stay with us at the farm. We are glad the places we recommended for eating were nice,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    40
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
188
116
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This campsite is one of the best I’ve been to. The facilities were of a high standard (especially toilets and showers), and the owners really friendly. The campsite is quite family orientated, with football goals, table tennis etc. The owners were trusting enough to allow us to stay here as part of a stag do in Weymouth, and I hope we managed to keep the noise down! Its about a 10 minute taxi journey into Weymouth, were there were some great restaurants and pubs (I recommend ‘The Handmade Pie & Ale House’). I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54Daniel, Manager at Higher Moor Farm, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It was lovely to meet you all and you were indeed very quiet, in fact we had lovely comments from everyone around you how quite and nice you were. It was also lovely to see you all in your fancy dress on the Saturday night. Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

daniel makes our stay pleasant, THANYOU ! PLUS the campsite was fabulous and stunning, facilities were clean and tidy ...definitely wil be back soon...very soon....highly recommended for our friends!..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald_Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54Daniel, Manager at Higher Moor Farm, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback Gerald. it was so nice to meet you and your partner and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have just returned from a week's camping at Higher Moor Farm and it has been a perfect stay!

On arrival, we were greeted by Daniel, who made us feel truly welcome. He immediately gave us some local literature so we could make the best of our holiday, including a mini site guide with useful info e.g takeaways that will deliver, taxi numbers, local footpaths etc.

The pitches are spacious, with beautiful views and the site is quiet. Guests appear to adhere to the quiet after 10pm request which ensures a good night's sleep for all. At night the site is thoughtfully lit - bright enough to feel safe walking to the toilets without a torch, but not so bright that it disturbs your sleep.

The site is spotless, I did not see one piece of litter during our stay and the toilet facilities are immaculate. I was aware that these facilities are newly built, so checked out some of the older blocks - these too were sparkling and well looked after.

They really have thought of everything. The laundry room has charging lockers to charge mobiles etc, there are microwaves for guests to use, a well stocked shop with local produce, a freezer for ice packs and all of this included in the very reasonable price.

The only drawback for us personally (and this may be a positive for some) was that unless you are a very keen walker, a car is needed to get to a pub/supermarket/town etc. There is free taxi phone by the shop and it's only £7 one-way to Weymouth town centre.

In the car, there are lots of lovely pubs within a 5 mins drive. We would highly recommend www.theilchester.co.uk, a ten minute drive to the picturesque town of Abbotsbury, but well worth it for the food and service. The Elm Tree Inn, also serves great local food.

Overall, a faultless camping experience, the service and helpfulness of Daniel and his team make for a very enjoyable stay. Nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely return on our next visit to the Jurassic Coast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54Daniel, Manager at Higher Moor Farm, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased you had a great stay with us at the farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We arrived a bit early for check-in, but this was not a problem! Daniel welcomed us like we were family, and you certainly felt like family on the day you left! The staff on this site do an outstanding job of keeping things in tip top condition! The site is a real credit to the owners and the people who keep it running.
The toilet/shower blocks are spotless, and the washing up facilities even have a bowl and washing up liquid supplied!
The only downside was the selfish lady who decided to wash her dog blankets in the washing machines (provided on site), and so making them disgusting and not fit for clothes. But Daniel soon put this right by having them cleaned and disinfected that afternoon! In with these washing machines are tumble dryers and an iron, microwaves and phone charging points in lockers!
Each caravan pitch has it's own drinking water tap, and no-one is too far from any of the facilities.
My all round favourite campsite by far!
As we left, I had a big hug from Daniel, and went home with tears in my eyes.
It's near on impossible to find fault with this site. If you do, maybe it's time to give up and stay at home!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallySpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54Daniel, Manager at Higher Moor Farm, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you very much for your amazing feedback. We are so sorry one of our customers decided to use the domestic laundry facilities to clean the doggy stuff and we have now put a sign up to say this is not allowed. It was a pleasure to meet you both and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

As soon as we pulled onto this site, ...Daniel`s greeting was unique and very effective, you will never forget his attitude and ability to make you feel he is truly pleased to see you.........We just knew, we would have
no checking to see what the toilets were like!! See if the showers were clean and see if the hot showers run hot etc ,!! Everything just felt right........ At last a campsite that ticks ALL the boxes and delivers what it promises....a must for all newbie campers , spoil yourselves, you will not be disappointed I promise.........well done" Higher moor farm".

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54Daniel, Manager at Higher Moor Farm, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for this lovely review and your kind comments which are very appreciated. I am delighted you were happy with your stay and found your first camping trip a great success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This site was recommended to us by our daughter. From booking to departure was a very pleasant experience. Upon arrival we were met by the very lovely and pleasant Daniel who showed us to our pitch and gave us a very handy miniture guide of the area. Despite the previous poor weather the site was well maintained, they even apologise for the noise when cutting the grass! The new toilet block is excellent and well maintained, although you are unable to adjust the temperature of the showers. The site is quiet and well positioned and the family that run it are exceedingly pleasant and want to and do maintain high standards. The shop is well stocked with local produce and if it isn't stocked Daniel will do his best to help you.

The only slight drawbacks to the site are access (speed humps through Nottington are not conjusive to caravans), dog exercise area is small and not fully enclosed and close to play area, electricity pylons spoil the view in one direction and can be a little noisy. The hot water for washing up needs to be hotter to get rid of fat deposits. However these are minor points on what is an excellent site.

TV reception is not brilliant, ok for BBC but I used my satellite. Mobile phone reception is excellent. Free Wifi ok. Hard standing pitches generally level but some needed levellers.

The Elm Tree Pub in a village not far away is good and I can recommend a trip to Atherhampton House and Gardens where the food is also excellent. All in all a good site with excellent customer service and staff who care and look at attention to detail.

Room Tip: Try to avoid pitches close to pylons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54Daniel, Manager at Higher Moor Farm, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for this lovely review on the camp site. We are so pleased you had a great stay. We will look into the points you raise about the dog area and see if we can improve this for next year. With regard to the hot water at the washing up points, at quiet times you do need to wait a few minutes for the hot water to come through. I would not want potential new customers to think we don't offer hot water at the washing up points as we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
2.7 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.3 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
633 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
873 reviews
18.2 mi away
Newlands Holidays
Newlands Holidays
#4 of 5 in Charmouth
451 reviews
13.0 mi away
Highlands End Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Moor Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Moor Farm

Property: Higher Moor Farm
Address: Nottington Lane | Nottington, Weymouth DT3 4BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Higher Moor Farm 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family orientated farm campsite catering for tents, caravans and motorhomes offering pitches on one our 8 acre level fields with views over the beautiful rolling Dorset countryside. We are only a short drive from the town of Weymouth with its famous Golden sands. The isle of Portland, Dorchester and the famous jurassic coast are close by, so there is always lots to explore and do.If you do not want to bring your tent with you we are offering new for 2013 bell tent hire offering a great glamping experience on the farm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your Higher Moor Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Higher Moor Farm Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing