We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent 10km route” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weymouth Portland Railway Walk

Weymouth Portland Railway Walk
Ranked #19 of 71 things to do in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent 10km route”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

From the Pavillion to the end of the walk and back again is exactly 10km's. Its all tarmac now and easy to find.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jsigsworth39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    35
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rodwell trail to Ferrybridge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

An excellent walk along a rural corridor ultimately with superb views of the sea and Portland. Return can be varied by following the SW Coast path to Nothe Fort.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank panasonicgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
561 reviews
269 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Rodwell Trail - Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We only did the "Rodwell Trail" part of this walk. I love walking along old railway lines so this was great for me! The house we were staying in whilst on holiday backed onto this trail so we didn't have to walk far to use it! We walked from the Chesil bank end of the trail right into Weymouth. Along the way there are information boards to tell you what was there originally. There are also old station signs. At the Chesil bank end of the trail there used to be a torpedo factory and there are information boards telling you about that. Very interesting. From Chesil Bank to Weymouth is about a 35 minute walk I think.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank acs1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood UK
Level Contributor
190 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Really well worth the effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Having watched BBC TV’s Railway Walks programme about this route some time ago I was always keen to complete this walk when the opportunity arose.

It comprises three sections:

1 The Rodwell Trail and along the shores of Portland Harbour
2 The Merchants railway from Castletown to Yeates Incline
3 Joining the disused railway line along the east coast

It really does offer something for everyone whether their interests be flora and fauna, wildlife, geography, geology, history, transport or just want to enjoy a challenging walk in beautiful surroundings.

The website links to a leaflet which gives an overview of the walk.

Section 1 is a very easy walk which is well signposted. However, it would be very difficult to complete sections 2 & 3 from the rather limited information provided in the leaflet. In particular Yeates Incline is not that easy to find. Before my visit I contacted Portland Community Partnership

http://www.portlandcommunitypartnership.co.uk/#

and used the Link provided to find out more information. I received very quick and comprehensive responses from Andy Matthews and Andy Straw and without their input we would have unable to complete the walk successfully.

We were staying on the Island so took advantage of the very regular bus service number 1 into Weymouth and then walked back to Portland

Would certainly encourage anyone of reasonable fitness to undertake the complete walk, it was certainly the highlight of our visit to the Isle of Portland.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank WhitlocksEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful railway walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Beautiful railway walk with great scenery and beautiful views or the coast and harbour. Good signage and historical markers along the way to give the story of the line. Nice little cafe with restrooms about half way at Sandfoot Castle.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jkentw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Weymouth Portland Railway Walk also viewed

 

Been to Weymouth Portland Railway Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing