We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A glorious weekend away, relaxing in the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Redcliff B&B Guest House
Ranked #9 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Watford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A glorious weekend away, relaxing in the sun”
Reviewed 1 June 2009

The Redcliff is a beautiful Georgian building right on the sea front. It has its own carpark, which accomodated all the guests staying that weekend - and it was fully booked. We stayed up in room 7, which does involve a steep staircase, but the views from the top of the building were spectacular, you could see right over the bay all the way to Portland. The ensuite bathroom was spotless and boosted a power shower. The room was clean and had a flat screen tv with freeview channels. Linda and Rob go to every effort to make every guest feel welcome. Would defintiely go back :-)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freegirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    99
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
75
223
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

I stayed there for two night with one friend, in a family room. It was great because the room was en-suite. Furniture and style in the room are old but not tired, it was refurbished well, and more importantly, it was clean. We were facing the road at teh back but it didn't prevent us from good night sleep. May have been different in hot day. Breakfast was great as you could have cooked breakfast. Staff was very friendly. Generally very pleased with location and service for the price. Parking was very helpful as there is nowhere to park in this touristic town.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakr0le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We booked a double room for 2 nights and were advised that we were on the 2nd floor at the time of booking. On arrival we round that were in actual fact on the 3rd floor right up in the roof. You had to literally bend in half to get to the room. Would be almost near impossible to carry a large suitcase up there withour damaging your self in some way. Once in the room it was pleasantly decorated - however I dont think we paid extra for the cowebs.

Breakfast was ok, all pre cooked and kept warm as in any bog standard b and b so a little dry but ok all the same. Fantastic location though and hosts were pretty friendly. Website states parking for 10 cars..unfortunately this is not so.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsfigaro, Owner at The Redcliff B&B Guest House, responded to this review, 27 May 2009
Thank you for posting a review of The Redcliff.

We were sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay, we do try very hard to make all our guests welcome and have an enjoyable stay with us, and as we have many repeat visitors, we are achieving that to some degree.

However one unhappy guest is one too many as far as we are concerned.

To respond to your criticisms, we would say that we always make sure people are aware of the amount of stairs and the low ceiling on the final flight of stairs, when booking, and as you can see from a previous reviewer, angelcakesontour, some people are very happy with the particular room you stayed in. Howver, if for some reason we failed to do this in your case we apologise. We never, ever, move people from room to room or floor to floor without first asking them, because of issues such as stairs.

We would have been happy to carry your case up the stairs for you.

With regard to car parking, our car park does, as stated in our website take 10 cars, but as we also state, carefully parked average size cars. We have written about the restrictions of parking on our website and we will post a photograph shortly so that everyone can see the limitations of it. As parking is at such a premium in Weymouth we consider ourselves lucky to have the facility for our guests, but if anyone is unhappy we are happy to point them in the direction of pay and display areas or free on street parking.

Cobwebs! There is no excuse and I apologise profusely, your room should never have had cobwebs.

I hope you accept our apology in the good faith that it is offered.

Kind regards
The Redcliff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton On trent
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2008

We choose Weymouth because it will be the venue for the windsurfing events in the 2012 Olympics.
Choose the Redcliff because there rates were reasonable it was adjacent to the beach with unrestricted access to the sea (absolutely ideal for windsurfing) and what a great choice.
Linda & Rob were the perfect hosts and made my Son & myself very welcome. We were there four nights and had a fantastic time - The food was very good and the rooms clean & comfortable with a great sea view. We also had a parking space, some what of a luxury in Weymouth.
Not only was the hospitality second to none, but Linda, an ICT whiz (check out their website) guided our windsurfing activities to different sites dependent on the forecast from wind guru - Portland Bay being one of the consistent locations for Windsurfing & Kite surfing activities.
Would we return again? Yes please
Phil & Ashley – Burton On Trent

  • Liked — Great Sea Views
  • Disliked — Compact
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Flinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2007

I stayed at the Redcliff for 3 nights. We were welcomed by Linda and Rob who are very friendly and approachable.
The room was up a lot of stairs but this was compensated by it being cosy, clean and the magnificent sea view.
The only faults I could list would be nit picking - the kettle was a bit worse for wear, the double bed was a bit lumpy (room 7) and the cooked breakfast was a bit cold (although Rob was so sweet as he tried to make us an Italian tart as we were veggie). Overall though, the service, room and breakfast were great.
The location is perfect if you want to be by the sea but not near the busier part of Weymouth. If you like to be more in the hustle and bustle then stay in the harbour, but we found this location good as it meant we had to walk every day. Which is useful when trying to burn off Dorset cream teas and cooked breakfasts!
Local eateries: the all you can eat Chinese by the hotel was bad, Enzo's was fab and Vaughans Bistro (harbour) was lovely too.
Linda and Rob were so welcoming, polite and friendly and it really did feel like a home from home.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone it is definitely good value and the proprieters pay such attention to detail and to their customers.

  • Liked — The owners and sea views
  • Disliked — The stairs to the room
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelcakesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2007

From the moment we arrived Rob and Linda went out of their way to make us feel at home, so much so that, by the time we left, the Redcliff really did seem like a home from home! The location is excellent for access to the beach, town centre and local facilities such as putting and tennis.
Rob cooks a first class breakfast whilst Linda has made the rooms simple yet stylish and well equipped (including biscuits, chocolates and mints for those with a sweet tooth!).
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be returning (hopefully the weather will be as good next time as well!).
Steve and Katie

  • Liked — Location and friendliness of the owners.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oasis157-1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2007

I would definitely recommend The Redcliff to anyone staying in Weymouth - it has been the best we have stayed in yet - 10/10!

My husband and I (we are in our 20’s) visited for a week in July 2007. I’d say it would be ideal for any type of holiday - a romantic weekend or a family break. The location is perfect, with the beach just a few feet away. It’s located within easy walking distance of Weymouth town centre/the Harbour/Station and also the Sealife centre/Preston to the left. Staying in room 4 we had an excellent panoramic view of the sea & surrounding Weymouth. They also have parking which is a bonus.

The hotel couldn’t be faulted - everything was clean and nicely presented. The room was ample size & nicely decorated with a huge bay window (with seating) and king size bed. Everything, bedding/carpet etc was all fresh & clean. The bathroom was also a good size with a nice shower & toiletries.

They also have a lovely lounge and have a seating area outside. Unfortunately we didn’t make it down for breakfast but the eating area looked very nice ;-)

It really was a home from home. Linda & Rob are very welcoming, obliging and friendly; making our stay a very pleasant and comfortable one.

All in all, we will certainly be going back to this guesthouse - the prices are average for Weymouth but The Redcliff has definitely been our favourite.

Sarah & Steve xx

  • Liked — cleanliness, location, friendly hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SparklyStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
4.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#4 of 22 in Weymouth
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#4 of 165 in Weymouth
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#25 of 165 in Weymouth
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#3 of 165 in Weymouth
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redcliff B&B Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redcliff B&B Guest House

Property: The Redcliff B&B Guest House
Address: 18 - 19 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Redcliff B&B Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Redcliff is a Georgian House situated across a quiet cul de sac a few paces from the beach. We have 12 bedrooms, from singles, twin, doubles and family rooms, most being en suite. Seven have fantastic sea views from Lulworth Cove to Portland Bill. The cosy dining room and lounge also have wonderful sea views across the bay. We serve a hearty traditional English Breakfast, cereal juices and fresh fruit. We have special breaks running throughout the year, and always offer a warm, friendly and helpful welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Redcliff B&B Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redcliff B&B Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing