We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic B&B”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Basic B&B”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This was a friendly little B&B with all the essentials. Décor dated, double room small but comfortable. Breakfast average. If all you want is somewhere comfortable and clean to stay with the basic breakfast then this is the place to go. Facing the sea front, end terrace. Minimal parking, may have to park a few streets away. Friendly landlord. The place could do with a simple tidy up and face lift to make it an even better place to stay and encourage you to go back.
Some of the towels smelt as if they had been rinsed rather than had a proper wash....what a shame!

Room Tip: perhaps a sea view room was better, but we had a room at the back as this was all that was left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HEATHER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    22
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
56
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Myself & a friend stayed in the Windsor Hotel in July for her birthday.
Plus points:
- The location is great; on the sea front in a quiet area, walking distance to station & main street
- The owner is friendly & accommodating
- Breakfast is fresh & plentiful
- Loved the cute puppy!
Downside:
-The room was very dated & overlooked a wall
- The close proximity to the other rooms meant we were woken up when our neighbours came in
- The shower was tiny
-It's a B&B not a hotel
All that said we had a lovely weekend but as there are a lot of B&Bs in Weymouth some money needs to be spend to bring the Windsor Hotel up to a good standard to match it's competitors.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiffybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have just spent a lovely break at the Windsor, what a treat to be right on the beach, not even a road to cross! The room was very clean and comfortable, bottles of water, biscuits etc replaced every day and towels changed mid stay as well. We booked at the last minute and no sea view room available but very quiet for a good night's sleep. The owners were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfasts very good, bacon delicious! We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to take a break away to the seaside,the ever growing Milton Keynes, can sometimes get on your nerves. Also we had never had a weekend away without family. The Windsor is in a perfect location, a stone throw away from the sea front. Very welcoming, and friendly during the whole visit. Fantastic fry up in the morning. My girlfriend likes her fried eggs over easy, when asked if they could be cooked this way, her request was granted with no problems. The rooms are basic but all you need for a weekend away, and very clean. Would defiantly visit again. Enjoy your stay, Pumpkin + Muffin

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyvictoriawitcomb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greywell
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Been meaning to leave review for a year. My wife and I stayed here during the Olympic Sailing. My family are from Sutton Poyntz nearby and ive stayed in many many hotels in Weymouth. This beats most. Firstly the location can't be trumped its on the beach. We had the top room with panoramic views of the bay. The breakfast was perfect and exactly as we asked. The owner if not rather eccentric was certainly lots of fun and new more about Weymouth then most historians. Shared shower but was kept very clean and tidy. In my honest opinion we preffered it to The Rex

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skibumweymouth, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that it has remained in your memory so well. As for "...eccentric..." well I resemble that remark.. :) :) !!
Hope to see you both again some time soon. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed at the Windsor in their single room although double bed very clean bed was comfortable, seaview was amazing

Overall very happy and would stay again the breakfast was very good quality and owners friendly

Best bit defiantly location right on seafront about a 10 min stroll to the centre

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KelKel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skibumweymouth, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Tony from the Windsor greeted us promptly upon our late arrival and helped us out with free parking in the area. Very friendly and helpful guy.

We played extra for seaview room which was well worth it. A lovely bay window with seating area and a view to die for. Nice size room and huge en-suite. Only issue was the shower head fired water out at all angles and the shower tray would fill up with water before we were finished, but a minor issue in otherwise perfect stay.

Full English breakfast was incredible

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skibumweymouth, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We note your comment about the shower head and have already replaced it. We look forward to you returning to see us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
1.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,071 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
445 reviews
4.0 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
646 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: 22 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Hotel is the closest hotel to the beach in the whole of the resort without having to cross a road. Ideally located for all local amenities just 5 minutes stroll along the promenade to town, train and bus terminus. Ideal for families, the young and the young at heart. All we ask is that our guests RELAX and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing